Arlington County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Arlington County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Arlington
Organized: March 20, 1847[1]
Parent County(s): Fairfax
Neighboring Counties
Alexandria (Independent City)  • District of Columbia (DC)  • Fairfax  • Falls Church (Independent City)
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaArlingtonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Arlington County, Virginia.PNG
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Arlington County is located in the northern area of the Commonwealth of Virginia and is included in the Washington D.C. Metropolitan area. The name Arlington was chosen because General Robert E. Lee’s home of that name is located in the county, on the grounds of Arlington National Cemetery.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Arlington County Courthouse
1425 North Courthouse Road
Arlington, VA 22201
Phone: 703-228-7900
Arlington County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth, marriage, death, land and court records [3]

Arlington County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1853 1801 1853 1772 1669 1778 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Henry Bennet, 1st Earl of Arlington (1618-1685)

Known as Alexandria County until 1920, when it was renamed Arlington County. The county was named after Henry Bennet, First Earl of Arlington (1618-1685), an English statesman.[6]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Arlington County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1800 5,949
1810 8,552 43.8%
1820 9,703 13.5%
1830 9,573 −1.3%
1840 9,967 4.1%
1850 10,008 0.4%
1860 12,652 26.4%
1870 16,755 32.4%
1880 17,546 4.7%
1890 18,597 6.0%
1900 6,430 −65.4%
1910 10,231 59.1%
1920 16,040 56.8%
1930 26,615 65.9%
1940 57,040 114.3%
1950 135,449 137.5%
1960 163,401 20.6%
1970 174,284 6.7%
1980 152,599 −12.4%
1990 170,936 12.0%
2000 189,453 10.8%
2010 207,627 9.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org". United States Census Bureau.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Church of England

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Arlington

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
Indexed images of Arlington County, Virginia Chancery Records 1790-1842 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.[7]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Heinegg, Paul. Free African Americans of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland and Delaware. 2005-present. - free online book. Cole, Ennis, Fletcher, Handless, Lucas, McIntosh, Nichols, Shorter, Thomas, Valentine, Webster families of pre-1820 Arlington County, Virginia.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Falls Church (Independent City)Fairfax (Independent City)Alexandria (Independent City)Fairfax CountyMontgomery CountyPrince George's CountyVA ARLINGTON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Civil War service men in Arlington County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 17th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Alexandria Riflemen), Company E (Mount Vernon Guards), Company G (Emmett Guards), Company H (Old Dominion Rifles), Company I (O'Connell Guards), and Company K (Warrenton Rifles).[8]

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Miscellaneous Records

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

  • 1858-1878, 1868-1878 Arlington County Index to Wills and Estates, Book 9, 1858-1878, 1868-1878 Virginia Pioneers ($)

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1815 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). By Roger D. Ward. c1997. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co. FHL 975 E4w. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • 1829 A List of Tithables for the Town Part of the County of Alexandria, 1829. Original records, Arlington County Courthouse in Arlington, Virginia; FHL copy: FHL 1902939 Item 4.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Arlington County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

To locate the closest family history center or affiliate library, use the link listed above.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Arlington County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Arlington County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. VA Historical Boundary Changes- list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  2. https://topics.arlingtonva.us/welcome-kit/history-arlington/
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia Contributors, "Arlington County, Virginia," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arlington_County,_Virginia, accessed 13 January 2012.
  7. "Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index Availability," Library of Virginia (accessed 26 January 2010).
  8. Lee A. Wallace, 17th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 67.