Albemarle County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Albemarle County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Charlottesville
Organized: December 31, 1744[1]
Parent County(s): Goochland[2]
Variant Spellings: Albermarle[3]
Neighboring Counties
Augusta  • Buckingham  • Charlottesville (Independent City)  • Fluvanna  • Greene  • Louisa  • Nelson  • Orange  • Rockingham
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaAlbemarleCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Albemarle County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Albemarle County is located in the central region of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named in honor of William Ann Keppel, second Earl of Albemarle, who was then governor of the colony.[4]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Albemarle County Courthouse
501 East Jefferson Street
Charlottesville, Virginia 22902
Phone: 434-972-4083
Albemarle County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1870, Land records from 1748, Divorce, Probate and Court Records[5]

Albemarle County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[6]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1853 1780 1853 1744 1748 1744 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[10]

Towns
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Willem Anne van Keppel.JPG

The county is named after Lieutenant-General Willem Anne van Keppel, 2nd Earl of Albemarle (1702-1754), a British diplomat and American colonist.[11]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. By George Barton Cutten. 1952. Richmond, Virginia : The Dietz Press, Incorporated. Online at: Hathitrust; At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Albemarle County, 1746, [Liquor Rates for 1746]. By Mrs. Senner Higginbotham Macfarlane. 1927. The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 7, No. 2 (Apr., 1927), p. 136. Online at: JSTOR.
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Albemarle County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 12,585
1800 16,439 30.6%
1810 18,268 11.1%
1820 19,750 8.1%
1830 22,618 14.5%
1840 22,294 −1.4%
1850 25,800 15.7%
1860 26,625 3.2%
1870 27,544 3.5%
1880 32,618 18.4%
1890 32,379 −0.7%
1900 28,473 −12.1%
1910 29,871 4.9%
1920 26,005 −12.9%
1930 26,981 3.8%
1940 24,652 −8.6%
1950 26,662 8.2%
1960 30,969 16.2%
1970 37,780 22.0%
1980 55,683 47.4%
1990 68,040 22.2%
2000 79,236 16.5%
2010 98,970 24.9%
Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Albemarle_County,_Virginia#Demographics

1785 Enumeration

1810

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Albemarle (1773)[12]
  2. Hephzibah (1802)[12]
  3. Prethis Creek (1784)[12]
  4. Totier (1773)[12]
  5. Whitesides (1788)[12]
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.

Albemarle County fell within the bounds of the Albemarle Association.

Church of England
go to See also Fredericksville Parish
go to See also St. Anne's Parish
go to See also Tillotson Parish Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Albemarle County is online at: Internet Archive[13]

Presbyterian

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Sugar Loaf Mountain Monthly Meeting, Keswick, Va. (1747-1754)[14]
  • 1739-1793 Quaker Records of Cedar Creek Monthly Meeting, Virginia, 1739-1793 by Mary Marshall Brewer. Colonial Roots, Lewes, DE., 2002. FHL Book 975.5462 K2b. Worrall's history of Albemarle County Quakers was published in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 22, No. 3 (Aug. 1984):22-34, which is available online at Ancestry ($).

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

Guardianship

Chancery Court

  • Library of Virginia's Chancery Records Index for original Albemarle County chancery records for the years 1768-1969. Court designations were used in the processing of this locality. CC for Circuit Court, CSC for Circuit Superior Court, and no abbreviation indicates County Court.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. By Peter Wilson Coldham. 2007. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub. Co. At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes wills of residents of Albemarle County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American
From 1790 to 1860, Albemarle County had one of the largest slave populations in the state (5579 in 1790; 13,916 in 1860). Ten years later in 1870, it had one of the largest African American populations in Virginia (14,994) - the town of Charlottesville in particular.[15]

Native American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Heinegg, Paul. Free African Americans of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland and Delaware. 2005-present. - free online book. Ailstock, Arnold, Baine, Banks, Barnett, Battles, Bell, Bowles, Brooks, Brown, Burnett, Chapman, Chavis, Farrar, Farrow, Gibson, Going, Hartless, Hill, Mann, Martin, Mason, Mayo, Moss, Smothers, and Tyre families of pre-1820 Albemarle County, Virginia.
  • Pritchett, John W. Southside Virginia Genealogies. CD-ROM. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. Free online index, courtesy: Virginians - The Family History of John W. Pritchett. [Includes of information about residents of Albemarle County, see discussion of cited sources.] FHL US/CAN CD-ROM no. 3887.
  • Woods, Edgar, Rev. Albemarle County in Virginia: Giving Some Account of What It Was by Nature, of What It Was Made by Man, and of Some of the Men Who Made It. Charlottesville, Virginia: The Michie Company Printers, 1901. Original edition available at FHL US/CAN Film 924674 Item 2; 1964 reprint at FHL US/CAN Fiche 6145978; 1991 reprint at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5482 H2w; digital version of original edition at Ancestry ($). Includes family histories of many residents of the county.[16] Alternative title: History of Albemarle County, Virginia.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records
Deeds
Index to Albemarle County Deeds 1748-1752 Virginia Pioneers

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Historic Residences

  • Benjamin Brown, Sr. of Brown's Cove, Albemarle Co., Va: A Brief Survey of Some of His Descendants and Their Buildings. By F.H. Boyd Coons, K. Edward Lay, Eugenia Bibb and University of Virginia. School of Architecture. 1984. Charlottesville, VA : School of Architecture, University of Virginia. Architecture in Virginia, Issue 24. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Castle Hill, Albemarle County, Virginia: Home of Prince and Princess Troubetzkoy and Miss Landon Rives. 1930. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Springdale Farm: Simeon Area, Near Buck Island Creek, Albemarle County, Virginia. By Claudia Craig, K. Edward Lay and University of Virginia School of Architecture. 1981. Charlottesville, VA : School of Architecture, University of Virginia. Studies in Vernacular Architecture, Issue 58. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • The Olde Poorhouse Farm of Keswick, Va: The Second Poorhouse of Albemarle County. By Linda Gail Boggan, K. Edward Lay and University of Virginia. School of Architecture. 1994. Architecture in Virginia, Issue 143. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Ye Greenwood House (On Dinwiddie Estate): Greenwood, Albemarle County, Va. 190?.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Charlottesville (Independent City)Waynesboro (Independent City)Staunton (Independent City)Harrisonburg (Independent City)Rockingham CountyGreene CountyOrange CountyLouisa CountyFluvanna CountyBuckingham CountyNelson CountyAugusta CountyVA ALBEMARLE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
  • A Map of Albemarle County, Virginia. By Moses Green Peyton. 1875. Reprint 1971. Charlottesville, Virginia : Albemarle County Historical Society. FHL US/CAN Map Case 975.5482 E7p.
  • Index to Green Peyton's A Map of Albemarle County, Virginia, 1875. By Mary Catharine Murphy, Moses Green Peyton, Anne Freudenburg, John Thomas Casteen and Albemarle County Historical Society. 1987. Charlottesville, Virginia : Albemarle County Historical Society. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5482 E72m.
  • FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns in this county - How to Use FS Places

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

Revolutionary War

Service men in Albemarle County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Albemarle County supplied soldiers for the:

- 7th Virginia Regiment
- 9th Virginia Regiment
- 14th Virginia Regiment

War of 1812

Civil War

Civil War service men in Albemarle County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 7th Battalion, Virginia Infantry, Local Defense (1st Nitre Battalion) (Confederate). Company I (The Holcombe Guards).[17]
- 10th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (1st Cavalry Regiment, Wise Legion (Confederate). Company F (Albermarle Rangers).[18]
- 19th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (The Monticello Guard), Company B (The Albemarle Rifles), Company C (The Scottsville Guard), Company D (The Howardsville Grays), Company E (The Piedmont Guards), Company F (The Montgomery Guards), and Company K (The Blue Ridge Rifles).[19]
- 46th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company G (Albemarle Jackson Avengers) presumably came from Albemarle County and Company H (Green Mountain Grays).[20]
- 56th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company H (White Hall Guards).[21]
- 57th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company H (Rivanna Guards).[22]
- 59th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company G2 (University Volunteers).[23]

Records and histories are available, including:

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

  • 1820-1869 A Collection of Abstracts of Obituaries from Charlottesville, Va., Newspapers 1820-1869 and Abstracts of Marriages from Charlottesville, Va., Newspapers 1820-1859. By Mary Catherine Murphy and Albemarle County Historical Society. 1994. Charlottesville, Virginia : n.p. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • 1855-1880 Jeffersonian Republican (Charlottesville, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Officials[edit | edit source]

Legislative Petitions

  • A Calendar of Legislative Petitions Arranged by Counties Accomac - Bedford (Virginia State Library). By H.J. Eckenrode. 1908. Richmond, Virginia : Davis Bottom, Superintendent of Public Printing. Online at: Google Books [Albemarle County petitions are described on pp. 23-61].

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1742-1787 Names of Families Living on Priddy's Creek, Fredericksville Parish, Albemarle County, VA., 1742-87, Virginia Settlers (Fall 1989):84. FHL 975.5 D2c.
  • 1764-1792 Personal Property Tax Lists of Buckingham County Virginia , Vol. 1, 1764-1792. By Randy F. McNew Crouse. 2017. Online at: Lulu ($) and FHL. Family History Library Call Number: 975.5623 R4c. At various libraries (WorldCat).

Buckingham county, in 1761, was formed from that part of Albemarle county lying south and east of the James River. Albemarle residents living there then, and following the division of the county, became residents of Buckingham county. Many Albemarle families had relatives in, once resided in or owned property in Buckingham. Crouse's book is a comprehensive transcription of all extant tithe and personal property tax lists (over 12,000 records) for Buckingham County, Virginia from its formation in 1761 through 1792. Includes 1764, 1773-4, 1782-1792. All proprietors are named (male or female) along with many additional white males over the age of 16, number of white tithes, number of slave tithes, names of slaves over the age of 12 (until 1783), carriages, ordinary licences, horses, cattle (1783-1788) and acres of land (1764). Comments and annotations are included, as found in the original lists, that describe familial relationships, marital status (widow), physical characteristics, race, occupation, nationality, religion, place of residence and more.Transcribed records are ordered as they appear in the tax lists and, in addition, are ordered alphabetically in a 160 page index section. Includes an introduction and guide to use, a table and graphs to summarize statistics, extensive bibliography, table of alternate surname spellings, list of abbreviations and appendices.

  • 1782-1813 Albemarle County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1813 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1782 Personal Property Tax List of Albemarle County, 1782. By Lester J. Cappon. Magazine of Albemarle County History, Vol. 5 (1944):47-73. FHL 975.548 B2m.
  • 1782 1782 Personal Property Tax List online at Genealogy Trails.
  • 1782-1790 1790 Albemarle County, Virginia Census. By James L. Douthat. 1999. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Mountain Press provides online surname index. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • 1783 Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783. Online at: Revolutionary War Service.
  • 1783 Sheriff's Ledger: For Assessment of Taxes in Albemarle County, Va. By N. Hammer. ["Concerns collection of parish and county levies, taxes on land, livestock, heads of household, and slaves. Also includes list of court records saved from destruction."]
  • 1787 The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. By Netti Schreiner-Yantis and Florene Speakman Love. c1987. Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • 1787 Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 19, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1975):190-194. FHL 975.5 B2vg; CD available at: New England Ancestors ($). These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Albemarle County's 1787 Delinquent Lists appear on 19:190-192.
  • 1789 Images of the 1789 Personal Property Tax List of Albemarle County, Virginia - Binns Genealogy.
  • 1800 Albemarle County, Virginia, 1800 Tax List. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 3, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1959):3-8; Vol. 3, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1959):71-76; Vol. 3, No. 3 (Jul-Sep. 1959):113-120; Vol. 3, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1959):162-166. FHL 975.5 B2vg; CD available at: New England Ancestors ($).
  • 1802 Images of the 1802 Personal Property Tax List of Albemarle County, Virginia - Binns Genealogy.
  • 1815 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). By Roger D. Ward. c1997. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co. FHL 975 E4w. At various libraries (WorldCat).

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Albemarle County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Albemarle County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Albemarle Charlottesville Historical Society
200 2nd Street Northeast
Charlottesville, Virginia 22902Website

Alderman Library, University of Virginia
Charlottesville, Virginia 22904Website

Central Virginia Genealogical Association

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Albemarle County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

Compiled genealogies are a good place to start research for this area, see Albemarle County, Virginia Genealogy. If you are researching families who lived in Albemarle County, Virginia between the 1750s and 1790s, the Sparacios' books are a great time saver. They comprehensively index several publications covering that period:

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Virginia: Individual County and Independent City Chronologies; Copyright The Newberry Library 2003; Accessed (September 23, 2021)
  2. Virginia: Individual County and Independent City Chronologies; Copyright The Newberry Library 2003; Accessed (September 23, 2021)
  3. Many compiled genealogies in the Family History Library use this variant spelling.
  4. https://www.enablealbemarle.org/business-resources/workforce-demographics
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 4, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
  8. Virginia: Individual County and Independent City Chronologies; Copyright The Newberry Library 2003; Accessed (September 23, 2021)
  9. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  10. Wikipedia contributors, "Albemarle _ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Albemarle _County,_Virginia accessed 24 October 2019.
  11. Wikipedia Contributors, "Willem van Keppel, 2nd Earl of Albemarle," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Willem_van_Keppel,_2nd_Earl_of_Albemarle, accessed 13 January 2012.
  12. 12.0 12.1 12.2 12.3 12.4 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 221. Digital versions at FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive.
  13. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861), Vol. I and Vol. II.
  14. Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  15. Ninth Census of the United States: Statistics of Population, Tables I to VIII Inclusive (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1872), 70. Digital version at Internet Archive; FHL Book 973 X2pcu.
  16. Albemarle, Virginia Record of Families, 1744-1890, Ancestry, http://search.ancestryinstitution.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=3809.
  17. David F. Riggs, 7th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1982). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 3.
  18. Robert J. Driver, 10th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 87.
  19. Ervin L. Jordan and Herbert A. Thomas, 19th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 33.
  20. Darrell L. Collins, 46th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 85.
  21. William A. Young Jr. and Patricia C. Young, 56th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 63.
  22. Charles W. Sublett, 57th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 21.
  23. G.L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 59th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 107.
  24. Albemarle County, Virginia, Marriage Register of Rev. John Gibson, 1800-1846; part of Revolutionary War Pension File for John Gibson (Pvt, Virginia), rejected pension R3996; database and images, "Revolutionary War Pension Files," Fold3 (https://www.fold3.com/image/21423773 : accessed 31 August 2018); imaged from NARA microfilm M804, roll 1067. Also see Elizabeth Shown Mills' Facebook post about this original Marriage Register discovered in a Revolutionary War Pension File: Elizabeth Shown Mills, personal page, Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/elizabeth.shownmills/posts/1394554140675895 : accessed 31 August 2018), posting "Ah, the things we find in RW pension applications...," 30 August 2018.