Alabama, United States Genealogy
|Alabama Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Alabama ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- This article is about the U.S. state. For other uses, see Alabama (disambiguation).
Alabama Information[edit | edit source]
Alabama became the twenty-second state to be admitted to the United States on December 14, 1819. Before it came into the Union it was in the Alabama Territory. Alabama is located in the southeast region of the United States. Alabama is divided into 67 counties. The state capital is Montgomery.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Alabama Research
Links to articles on getting started with Alabama research.
Alabama Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Alabama research.
Alabama Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Many genealogy records are kept on the county level in the United States. Click on a county below to go to the county Wiki article listing more information.
Counties[edit | edit source]
Alabama Migration Routes[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records - databases and record images on FamilySearch
- Family History Center locator map
Additional Resources[edit | edit source]
- Cyndi's List - Alabama genealogy sites on the internet
- Alabama Genealogy Trails - Collection of transcribed data for the state of Alabama
- Access Genealogy – Genealogy guide for Alabama
- Alabama Genealogy History Guide – Genealogy Guide for Alabama
- Alabama State Archives - Major record collections of Alabama
- The Ancestor Hunt - Resources for Alabama genealogy research
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Guide to Ancestry and Family Tree Records for Alabama
- Alabama Research Outline – Original Family History Library research outline; contains many out-of-date links
- Every Name Index
- The USGenWeb Archives Project-Alabama
- Alabama Department of Archives and History
- LaBrenda Garrett-Nelson, Research in Alabama Falls Church, Virginia : National Genealogical Society, 2021 FamilySearch Catalog 976.1 D27ngs
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Alabama" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alabama (accessed 9 March 2016).