Adlington, Lancashire Genealogy
Guide to Adlington, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| Adlington, Lancashire | |
|---|---|
 | |
| Type | Ecclesiastical Parish |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | Leyland |
| County | Lancashire, England Genealogy |
| Poor Law Union | Chorley |
| Registration District | Chorley |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1839 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1839 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Leyland |
| Diocese | Manchester |
| Province | York |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory) |
| Location of Archive | |
| Lancashire Archives | |
Parish History[edit | edit source]
ADLINGTON, a township with a chapelry, in the parish of Standish, in the union of Chorley, hundred of Leyland, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 4 miles (N.) from Wigan. The townships of Adlington, Anderton, Duxbury, and Heath-Charnock, in the parish, form a district chapelry; and a church, a neat structure in the Norman style, has been erected by Her Majesty's Commissioners.[1]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map
- Type the name of the parish in the search bar
- Click on the location pin on the map
- Choose Options from the pop up box
- Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- FreeBMD - an online (free) index to the certificates held at the General Registrar's Office, formerly in London, now in Solihull, Merseyside, UK. The years currently covered in this index include July, 1837 to at least 1940.
- LancashireBMD - an online index (free) to the local superintendant's registrar of births, marriages and deaths for all registration districts throughout Lancashire, for the following range of years and their events: births 1837-1974; marriages 1837-2010; deaths 1837-1975.
- Lancashire-OPC.org.uk provides numerous parish and chapel transcriptions online (free) for the post-1837 to 1910 period, including some marriages which are replicas of those marriage certificates kept by the General Registrar's Office and local Registration District Offices throughout the country.
- British collections holds the quarterly indexes of births, marriages and deaths from July, 1837 to 1983 in FamilySearch Catalog
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.
Church of England[edit | edit source]
Chapelry is a church or churches built in a large ecclesiastical parish to help the members attend worship services closer to their homes.
Online Parish Records Table
Due to the increasing access of online records:
- Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
- Dates in the following table are approximate
Hover over the collection's title for more information
| Adlington Parish Records | ||||||
| FamilySearch Collections-Lancashire | ||||||
| Parish Registers-Lancashire | ||||||
| Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog | ||||||
| FreeREG | ||||||
| Findmypast-Lancashire ($) | ||||||
| Ancestry-Church of England BMD-Lancashire ($) | ||||||
| Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($) | 1500s-1900s |
1500s-1900s |
||||
| Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage | ||||||
| Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free) | ||||||
| National Burial Index-FMP (Free) | ||||||
Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.
- Joiner Marriage Index - Lancashire ($)
- The Genealogist Parish Registers - Lancashire ($)
- UK Websites for Parish Records - Links to online genealogical records
- Online Genealogical Index - Links to online genealogical records
- OnLine Parish Clerks - Lancashire - OnLine Parish Clerks project for Lancashire
- 1538 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Parish Registers 1538-1910 at FamilySearch — index
- 1603 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Cheshire, Yorkshire, Parish Registers, 1603-1910 at FamilySearch — index and images
Non-Conformist Churches (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
The following two web sites provide online data at no cost, which covers Adlington chapelry for 1881 and the 1901 censuses:
1881 - FamilySearch
1901 - 1901CensusOnline
Lancashire census records have been indexed and transcribed countywide, and made available online by the following subscription web sites for the census years, 1841-1911:
Catholic[edit | edit source]
- 1628 FamilySearch Digital Library List of Recusants in Duxburye and Adlington (p. 173)[2]
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at Findmypast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
- 1647-1996 England, Lancashire Non-conformist Church Records, 1647-1996 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Civil Registration of Births, Marriages & Deaths - 1837 to the Present[edit | edit source]
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Hart of Anderton, Ashton-in-Makerfield and Hindley by Swain, Margaret. History and Pedigree chart of James Hart and Ellen Roscoe-Kirkham dating from 1640-1942. Other surnames listed Mortland, Low, Green, Doodson, Glover, Rigby, Kerfoot, Jones, Bridge, Poole, Baxter, Laston, Marton, Swain, Faber, Miller, Cripwell, Sorg. Article to be found in Lancashire Family History & Heraldry Soc. Magazine Vol. 7, no.3. pages 18-29. FHL Ref. 942.72 B2r
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Chorley Poor Law Union, Lancashire
Probate[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. To search indexes and original probate records, go to the Lancashire Probate Records and follow the steps to find possible wills for ancestors in Lancashire.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
- 1628 FamilySearch Digital Library Subsidy of Duxburye and Addlington}} (p. 167)[2]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date accessed: 27 August 2013.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.