Adams County, Mississippi Genealogy
Guide to Adams County, Mississippi ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- This article is about a southwestern Mississippi county. For other uses, see Adams.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
This county was named for John Adams. Adams County is located in the southwest area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Adams County Courthouse
115 S Wall St
PO Box 1008
Natchez, MS 39120
Phone: 601-446-6684
Adams County Website
Clerk Chancery Court has court, land and probate records.
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage and death records.[3]
Adams County, Mississippi Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1 Nov 1912 | 1799 | 1 Nov 1912 | 1781 | 1780 | 1800 | 1810 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1643-1947) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Cities | ||
|
||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1800 | 4,660 | — |
| 1810 | 10,002 | 114.6% |
| 1820 | 12,076 | 20.7% |
| 1830 | 14,937 | 23.7% |
| 1840 | 19,434 | 30.1% |
| 1850 | 18,601 | −4.3% |
| 1860 | 20,165 | 8.4% |
| 1870 | 19,084 | −5.4% |
| 1880 | 22,649 | 18.7% |
| 1890 | 26,031 | 14.9% |
| 1900 | 30,111 | 15.7% |
| 1910 | 25,265 | −16.1% |
| 1920 | 22,183 | −12.2% |
| 1930 | 23,564 | 6.2% |
| 1940 | 27,238 | 15.6% |
| 1950 | 32,256 | 18.4% |
| 1960 | 37,730 | 17.0% |
| 1970 | 37,293 | −1.2% |
| 1980 | 38,035 | 2.0% |
| 1990 | 35,356 | −7.0% |
| 2000 | 34,340 | −2.9% |
| 2010 | 32,297 | −5.9% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
For tips on accessing Adams County census records online, see: Mississippi Census.
Federal Census
- 1660-1820 U.S. Census Reconstructed Records, 1660-1820 at Ancestry $
- 1850 United States Census (Mortality Schedule), 1850 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, some images
- 1850 United States Census (Slave Schedule), 1850 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1860 United States Census (Slave Schedule), 1860 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
State Census
- 1792-1866 Mississippi, State and Territorial Census Collection, 1792-1866 at Ancestry$
- 1805-1890 Mississippi, Compiled Census and Census Substitutes Index, 1805-1890 at Ancestry$
- 1816 Territorial census returns at FamilySearch - Adams County Collection at FamilySearch - images only
- 1818 State Census returns 1818 - Adams County Collection at FamilySearch - images only
- 1830 State Census returns 1830 - Adams County Collection at FamilySearch - images only
- 1841 State Census returns 1841 - Adams County Collection at FamilySearch - images only
- 1845 State Census returns 1845 - Adams County Collection at FamilySearch - images only
- 1853 State Census returns 1853 - Adams County Collection; images only
- 1870 State Census returns 1870 - Adams County Collection; images only
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
- 1910-1919 Mississippi, Church Records, 1910-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- Court Records, Adams County USGenWeb Archives
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African Americans
- 1835-1905 Mississippi, Adams County, Natchez Death Index, 1835-1905; at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection - These records may contain information on slaves and former slaves. If a slave is mentioned, the owner's name was given in the comments column. — index
- 1858-1861 Adams County, Mississippi, Slave Certificates, 1858-1861 at Ancestry ($) - some slave certificates from Adams County Courthouse. Information may include name, gender, color, age and weight.
- 1863-1866 Mississippi, Freedmen's Department (Pre-Bureau Records), 1863-1866; at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
- 1865-1872 Mississippi, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1872at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
- The Freedmen's Bureau Marriage Records at Mississippi Department of Archives and History - index and transcription
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Adams County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- Maps of Mississippi (1643-1947)
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Multiple Wars
- 1775-1951 Military Grave Registations at FamilySearch - images only
- 1838-1844 Register of Military Commissions at FamilySearch
- 1846-1860 Register of Military Commissions at FamilySearch
Mexican-American War
- 1846-1848 United States Mexican War Index and Service Records, 1846-1848 How to Use this Collection; at FamilySearch — index and images
Civil War
Regiments. Men in Adams County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Adams County:
- - 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (New)
- Company B - Natchez Southrons [also listed as Co. C]
- - 1st Regiment, Mississippi Light Artillery
- Company H - Connor Battery
- - 12th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
- Company B - Natchez Fencibles
- 1861-1865 Mississippi, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch] - How to Use this Collection; index and images at partner site
- 1861-1865 Mississippi, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images at partner site
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry free index
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry free index
- 1889-1942 Mississippi, Confederate Records, 1889-1942 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
- 1900-1974 Mississippi, Confederate Veterans and Widows Pension Applications, 1900-1974 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
- 1936-1939 Civil war records, a Memorial list of those that served in the Civil War - Adams County Collection at FamilySearch - images only
- Adams County Civil War Units Adams Co, MS Genealogical and Historical Research
World War I
- World War I Service Men and Women from Adams County, Mississippi Adams Co, MS Genealogical and Historical Research
- 1917-1919 Mississippi, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection — index
- 1917-1918 Mississippi, World War I Army Veterans, Master alphabetical index, 1917-1918 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection — index and images
World War II
- Mississippi Index World War II Enlistees Listed by County USGenWeb Archives
- World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces, Adams County, MS Adams Co, MS Genealogical and Historical Research
Korean War
- Korean War Casualties from Adams County, Mississippi Adams Co, MS Genealogical and Historical Research
Vietnam War
- Viet Nam War Casualties from Adams County, Mississippi Adams Co, MS Genealogical and Historical Research
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
- 1820-1951 Mississippi, State Archives, Various Records, 1820-1951 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images - incomplete - Topics covered: Ex Slave Narratives, list of military veterans, Military grave registrations, Naturalizations and some Land records.
Voter Registration
- 1871-1967 Mississippi, Voter Registration, 1871-1967 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate records are held by the Adams County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Adams County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Records
- 1780-1982 Mississippi Wills and Probate Records 1780-1982 at Ancestry ($)
- 1781-1930 Mississippi Probate Records 1781-1930 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
School Records[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1892; 1908-1957 Enumeration of Educable Children, 1850-1892; 1908-1957 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.
- 1802-1817 Territorial tax rolls Adams County Collection; images only
- 1818-1897 County tax rolls 1818-1897 Adams County Collection; images only
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1776-1935 Mississippi Marriages, 1776-1935 at Ancestry$
- 1799-1819 Adams County Marriage Book 1 Index 1799-1819. Batch M516691 at FamilySearch
- 1800-1825 Mississippi Marriages to 1825 at Ancestry$
- 1800-1911 Mississippi, Marriages, 1800-1911 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1819-1826 Adams County Marriage Books 2 thru 4 Index 1819-1826. Batch M516692 at FamilySearch
- 1826-1835 Adams County Marriage Book 5 Index 1826-1835. Batch M516693 at FamilySearch
- 1826-1850 Mississippi Marriages, 1826-50 at Ancestry$
- 1826-1900 Mississippi Marriages, 1826-1900 at Ancestry$
- 1835-1851 Adams County Marriage Book 6 Index 1835-1851. Batch M516694 at FamilySearch
- 1851-1860 Adams County Marriage Books 7A and 7B Index 1851-1860. Batch M516695 at FamilySearch
- 1858-1979 - Mississippi, County Marriages, 1858-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection for various counties — index and images
- 1860-1873 Adams County Marriage Books 8 and 9 Index 1860-1873. Batch M516696 at FamilySearch
- 1866-1870 Adams County Marriage Books 18 and 19 Index 1866-1870. Batch M516698 at FamilySearch
- 1870-1874 Adams County Marriage Books 20 and 21 Index 1870-1874. Batch M516699 at FamilySearch
- 1873-1892 Adams County Marriage Books 10 thru 12 Index 1875-1885. Batch M516704 at FamilySearch
- 1874-1880 Adams County Marriage Books 22 and 23 Index 1874-1880. Batch M516701 at FamilySearch
- 1880-1885 Adams County Marriage Books 24 and 25 Index 1880-1885. Batch M516702 at FamilySearch
- 1885 Adams County Marriage Books 26 and 27 Index 1885. Batch M516703 at FamilySearch
- 1886-1890 Adams County Marriage Books 26 and 27 Index 1886-1890. Batch M516706 at FamilySearch
- 1890-1893 Adams County Marriage Books 28 and 29 Index 1890-1893. Batch M516707 at FamilySearch
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1822-1921 Mississippi Deaths and Burials, 1822-1921 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection — index, some images
- 1835-1905 Mississippi, Adams County, Natchez Death Index, 1835-1905 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index - These records may contain information on slaves and former slaves. If a slave is mentioned, the owner's name was given in the comments column.
- 1912-1943 Mississippi, Death Certificate Index, 1912-1943 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection — index
- 1912-1943 Reclaim the Records: Mississippi Death Index at Archive.org - images of index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Adams County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Mississippi Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Adams County. For state-wide library facilities, see Mississippi Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Adams County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Mississippi Societies.
Adams County Mississippi Genealogy & History Network
E-mail: msghn@outlook.com
Website
Natchez Historical Society
P.O. Box 49
Natchez, MS
E-mail: info@natchezhistoricalsociety.org
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Mississippi Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Adams County, USGenWeb Project
- Adams County, USGenWeb Archives
- Adams Co, MS Genealogical and Historical Research
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Adams, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adams_County,_Mississippi."
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Adams County, Mississippi . Page 378-384 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 379-381.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Adams County, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adams_County,_Mississippi, Last accessed 2 September 2019.
