Adair County, Iowa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Adair County, Iowa ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Greenfield
Organized: May 6, 1854[1]
Parent County(s): Pottawattamie, and non-county area 3[2]
Neighboring Counties
Adams  • Audubon  • Cass  • Dallas  • Guthrie  • Madison  • Union
See County Maps
Courthouse
Iowa, Adair County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Iowa Adair Map.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Adair County was named for John Adair and is located in southwestern Iowa.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Adair County Courthouse
400 Public Square Ste. 5
Greenfield, IA 50849
Phone: 641-743-2546
Adair County Website

Clerk of the District Court has birth and death records from 1880, marriage records from 1870, divorce, probate and clerk records from 1852.[4]

Adair County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1880 1870 1880 1852 1854 1852 1847
* Statewide registration started for births in July 1880 and for deaths January 1891. General compliance by 1924.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • 1889 Courthouse burned and most court records were destroyed.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[9]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
  • North Beach
  • Prussia
  • Rosserdale
  • Zion
Townships
Ghost towns
  • Stanzel


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Listed below are resources for Bible records specific to Adair County. To find more resources, go to the Iowa Bible Records page.


Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Adair County, Iowa online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Iowa recorded not only federal, but state censuses for several in-between years as well. For more information, see the very informative Iowa Census article.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1860 984
1870 3,982 304.7%
1880 11,667 193.0%
1890 14,534 24.6%
1900 16,192 11.4%
1910 14,420 −10.9%
1920 14,259 −1.1%
1930 13,891 −2.6%
1940 13,196 −5.0%
1950 12,292 −6.9%
1960 10,893 −11.4%
1970 9,487 −12.9%
1980 9,509 0.2%
1990 8,409 −11.6%
2000 8,243 −2.0%
2010 7,682 −6.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.

List of Churches and Church Parishes


Lutheran

Court Records[edit | edit source]

For more information about the courts in Iowa see the Iowa Court Records page.

  • 1907-1924 Affidavit index, 1907-1924(*); Clerk of the District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — Affidavits concerning land transactions.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. They include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded and housed at the county courthouse.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Adair County, which may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Iowa Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Guthrie CountyDallas CountyAudubon CountyCass CountyMadison CountyAdams CountyUnion CountyIA ADAIR.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For online maps and collections in libraries and societies, see Iowa Maps. Historical maps may be especially useful.

Migration[edit | edit source]

Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.


Early migration routes to and from Adair County for European settlers included:

  • 1846 Mormon Trail from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, Utah.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

For more information about the military in Adair see the Iowa Military Records page.

Multiple Wars

Civil War

Civil War service men in Adair county served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 4th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company I
- 29th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Please see the Iowa Naturalization and Citizenship page for state-wide information.

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Iowa tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. Iowa's unique Old Age Assistance tax gives names, addresses and birth years. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded by civil officials on registers, certificates, and other documents. Copies or extracts may be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office. See also Iowa Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Adair County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Adair County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.

Adair Public Library
310 Audubon
Adair, IA 50002-0276
641-742-3323
Website

Casey Public Library
PO Box 178
Casey, IA 500048
641-746-2670
Email: caseylib@netins.net
Website

Greenfield Public Library
202 S First St
PO Box 328
Greenfield, IA 50849
641-743-6120
Email: greenpl@iowatelecom.net
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Adair County Historical Museum
2393 S Lakeview Dr
Greenfield, IA 50849
641-743-2232
Facebook

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Adair County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Iowa Societies.

Adair County Anquestors Genealogy Society
c/o Greenfield Public Library
PO Box 328
Greenfield, IA 50849-0328
Website

Adair County Iowa Historical Society
2393 S Lakeview Dr
Greenfield, IA 50849
641-743-2232
Facebook

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • Adair County at Cyndi's List - a comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online
  • Adair County at Genealogy Trails - volunteer transcriptions of genealogical and historical data
  • Adair County at Iowa USGenWeb - free online resources for genealogical research
  • Adair County at Iowa USGenWeb Archives - free online data for genealogical research
  • State Historical Society of Iowa — select from research collection topics
  • State Library of Iowa — electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies
  • The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection — digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions
  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  2. Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Adair, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adair_County,_Iowa." accessed on 11 April 2021
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 244.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "Adair County, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adair_County,_Iowa, accessed 11 April 2021.