Accrington St James, Lancashire Genealogy
Guide to Accrington St James, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| Accrington St James, Lancashire | |
|---|---|
 Acrrington St James | |
| Type | Ecclesiastical Parish |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | Blackburn |
| County | Lancashire, England Genealogy |
| Poor Law Union | Haslingden |
| Registration District | Haslingden |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1766 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1614 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Whalley |
| Diocese | Manchester |
| Province | York |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory) |
| Location of Archive | |
| Lancashire Archives | |
Chapelry History[edit | edit source]
ACCRINGTON (St James) is a chapelry, in the parish of Whalley, 5½ miles (E. by S.) from Blackburn. The chapel was taken down and rebuilt upon a larger scale in 1826, and improved in 1838: it is a plain structure, with a tower in which are six musical bells; is elegant within; and has a handsome organ. An additional church was erected in 1840, in the form of a cross. It is dedicated to Christ. There are places of worship for Baptists, Wesleyans, and Swedenborgians.[1]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map
- Type the name of the parish in the search bar
- Click on the location pin on the map
- Choose Options from the pop up box
- Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration of Births, Marriages Deaths - 1837 to the Present[edit | edit source]
Read about England Civil Registration (vital records) of birth, marriages and deaths on the England main page.
Online Indexes
There are two separate (free) indexes available for Lancashire civil registration of births, marriages and deaths. One index covers all registrations nation-wide, and one index covers the copies of the local registration district office's certificate copies for all registration districts throughout Lancashire, as follows:
- FreeBMD - an online (free) index to the certificates held at the General Registrar's Office, formerly in London, now in Solihull, Merseyside, UK. The years currently covered in this index include July, 1837 to at least 1940.
- LancashireBMD - an online index (free) to the local superintendant's registrar of births, marriages and deaths for all registration districts throughout Lancashire, for the following range of years and their events: births 1837-1974; marriages 1837-2010; deaths 1837-1975.
- Lancashire-OPC.org.uk provides numerous parish and chapel transcriptions online (free) for the post-1837 to 1910 period. Marriages after 1837 provide the same information as the civil registration certificates of marriages provide. However, the marriages in these online offerings are marriage transcriptions only.
Indexes
FamilySearch's Family History Library British collections holds the quarterly indexes of births, marriages and deaths from July, 1837 to 1983 in microform media.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.
Church of England[edit | edit source]
Chapelry is a church or churches built in a large ecclesiastical parish to help the members attend worship services closer to their homes.
Online Parish Records Table
Due to the increasing access of online records:
- Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
- Dates in the following table are approximate
Hover over the collection's title for more information
| Accrington St James Parish Records | ||||||
| FamilySearch Collections-Lancashire | ||||||
| Parish Registers-Lancashire | ||||||
| Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog | ||||||
| FreeREG | ||||||
| Findmypast-Lancashire ($) | ||||||
| Ancestry-Church of England BMD-Lancashire ($) | ||||||
| Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($) | 1500s-1900s |
1500s-1900s |
||||
| Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage | ||||||
| Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free) | ||||||
| National Burial Index-FMP (Free) | ||||||
Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.
- Joiner Marriage Index - Lancashire ($)
- The Genealogist Parish Registers - Lancashire ($)
- UK Websites for Parish Records - Links to online genealogical records
- Online Genealogical Index - Links to online genealogical records
- OnLine Parish Clerks - Lancashire - OnLine Parish Clerks project for Lancashire
Non-Conformist Churches (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- Baptist
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Independent/Congregational
- Particular Baptist
- Swedenborgian/New Jerusalem/New Church
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Accrington has been completely indexed and transcribed by several online web sites. Here is a list of some of these web sites--those which provide significant details about our ancestry at no cost:
1881 - FamilySearch
1901 - 1901CensusOnline
The following web sites--all of which are pay-for-view or subscription sites can help you to more quickly find Accrington ancestors in the census records for all years in which census records were kept (1841-1911):
To view copies of original census records, the Family History Library's British collection has the 1841-1891 census records available on microforms, i.e. microfilm or microfiche. Those available are searchable by locating each film at FamilySearchCenters, as follows:
1841 FHL BRITISH Film no. 306895
1851 Old Accrington p. 301-368 New Accrington p. 369-643 FHL BRITISH Film 87272
1861 FHL BRITISH Film 543072
1871 Old Accrington FHL BRITISH Film 846728
1871 Old Accrington and New Accrington FHL BRITISH Film 846729
1871 New Accrington FHL BRITISH Film 846730
1881 RG 11/4139-4142 FHL BRITISH Film 1341991
1881 RG 11/4143-4145 FHL BRITISH Film 1341992
1891 RG 12/3355 (4 fiches) FHL BRITISH Fiche 6098465
1891 RG 12/3356 (4 fiches) FHL BRITISH Fiche 6098466
1891 RG 12/3357 (4 fiches) FHL BRITISH Fiche 6098467
1891 RG 12/3358 (3 fiches) FHL BRITISH Fiche 6098468
1891 RG 12/3359 (4 fiches) FHL BRITISH Fiche 6098469
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Baker, Suzanne. Our Sutcliffe Family of Accrington - Canadian Pioneers from Lancashire. Family History and Pedigree of William Sutcliffe and Ellin Foxcroft dating from 1795-1948. Other surnames are, Newchurch, Heap, Maxwell, Nuttall, Padiham, Hughes, Hannah, Fenn with pictures. Article in Lancashire Family History & Heraldry Society Magazine Vol. 17 no.3 page 31-34. FHL Ref. 942.72 B2r
Payne, Moira I. Hindle of Darwen. History, census and family tree of Thomas Hindle and betty Briggs with the following surnames: Greenough, Duxbury, Walsh, Smalley, Bentley, Chadwick, Duckworth, with a branch going to Canada, and 1 to Australia, dating 1758-1888, The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc Magazine, vol.9,no.2.pages 32-40, FHL Ref. 942.72 B2r
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- LancashireBMD.org.uk - 15 million entries for Lancashire
- FreeBMD - over 20 million entries for Lancashire
- Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
- FamilySearch
- Accrington on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date accessed: 27 August 2013.