Acadia Parish, Louisiana Genealogy
Guide to Acadia Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Acadia Parish, Louisiana|
Location in the state of Louisiana, United States Genealogy
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
|Founded||June 30, 1886|
|Address||425 North Parkerson Avenue|
Crowley, LA 70526
Parish Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for the former French colony of Acadia in Canada whom migrated to Louisiana. The County has Crowley as its seat and the County was created 1886. The County is located in the south central area of the state.
Acadia Parish, Louisiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Parish Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Acadia Parish Courthouse
PO Box 922
Crowley, LA 70527-0922
Parish Clerk of Court has records of marriages, divorces, wills, land, civil, and criminal law suits from 1886.
Historical Facts[edit | edit source]
Acadia Parish was created 30 June 1886 from St. Landry Parish after an election to determine the parish seat, ending when Crowley beat Rayne and Prairie Hayes.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Louisiana parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Parish Places & Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
Records and Resources[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana African American Griots Project
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
- African American Cemeteries, listing by county
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Turn of the Century Biographical Sketches - index. (LAGenWeb Project)
- Index to Biography Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Acadia Parish Biographies (Genealogy Trails)
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web sites may have additional information on Acadia Parish cemeteries.
Census[edit | edit source]
- 1890 1890 Veterans Schedule Index (Genealogy Trails)
- 1900 1900 Census, Town of Rayne (Genealogy Trails)
- 1930 Index of Acadia Census Records (partial). (USGenWeb Archives)
- Louisiana Census Images (USGenWeb Census Images Project)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Acadia Parish, Louisiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this parish - How to Use FS Places
- Maps of Louisiana (1805-1990)
- Family Maps of Acadia Parish, Louisiana (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- USGW Digital Map Collection (USGenWeb Archives)
Military[edit | edit source]
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
- Some Military Land Grants Acadia In Parish Louisiana For Soldiers Of The War Of 1812 (USGenWeb Archives)
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1898-1950 Louisiana Confederate Pensions, 1898-1950 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917-1918 Louisiana World War I Service Records, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1917-1918 World War I Draft Registration (LAGenWeb Project)
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 Louisiana First Registration Draft Cards, compiled 1940-1945 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Korean War[edit | edit source]
- 1950-1957 Korean War Casualties, Acadia County, Louisiana (Genealogy Trails)
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Acadia Parish Today
- Louisiana Newspaper List, listing by name/parish (USNPL)
- Louisiana Newspaper listing (Newslink)
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Acadia Parish, Louisiana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-2014 Index of Acadia Parish Obituaries (LAGenWeb Project)
- Acadia Parish Obituaries and Death Notices (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Acadia Parish Obituary Records. Includes newspaper links. (USGenWeb Archives)
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Acadia Parish, Louisiana Genealogy clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.
See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.
Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1756-1984 Louisiana Wills and Probate Records 1756-1984 at Ancestry — index and images $
- 1886-1997 Index to Court Records, Acadia Parish, Louisiana (USGenWeb Archives)
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.
Louisiana Records and Statistics Information ~ where and how to order information.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1846-1890 Acadia Parish Birth Records index. (Genealogy Trails)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1837-1957 - Louisiana, Parish Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1886-1999 Acadia Parish Marriages by Groom Name (LAGenWeb Project)
- 1886-1999 Acadia Parish Brides Records (LAGenWeb Project)
- 1887-1893 Acadia Parish Early Marriage Records (LAGenWeb Project)
- List of Acadia Parish Marriage Records (Genealogy Trails)
- Acadia Parish Marriage Announcements (Genealogy Trails)
- Acadia Parish Miscellaneous Marriage Records (LAGenWeb Project)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1875, 1894-1960 Louisiana Deaths, 1850-1875, 1894-1960 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- Acadia Parish Deaths (Genealogy Trails)
- Acadia Parish Death Records (LAGenWeb Project)
Repositories[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Public Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Acadia Parish Library
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Societies[edit | edit source]
- Pointe de l'Eglise: Acadia Genealogical and Historical Society, Inc.
PO Box 497
Crowley, LA 70527
- Pointe de l'Eglise Genealogical & Historical Society
PO Box 160
Church Point, LA 70525
- Rayne Historical Assn
110 W South 1st Street
Rayne, LA 70578-5844
- Louisiana Historical Association
101 LSU Student Union
LSU Box 25435
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Websites[edit | edit source]
Websites - Acadia Parish[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Acadia Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (LAGenWeb)
- Acadia Parish (Linkpendium)
- Acadia Parish (n2.genealogy.com)
- Acadia Parish, LA (Genealogy Forum)
- Acadia Parish (Genealogy Trails])
- Acadia Parish (RootsWeb)
- Acadia Parish Genealogy Queries (CousinConnect)
- Acadia Parish, Louisiana (LAGenWeb)
- Acadia Parish, Louisiana (USGenWeb Archives)
- Acadia Parish LA Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
Websites - Louisiana and US[edit | edit source]
- LAGenWeb Louisiana State Records
- USGenWeb Records, Maps, Archives and Other Projects
- Louisiana Archives (USGenWeb Archives)
- FamilySearch Catalog
Thanks to the Contributors to the Acadia Parish Pages[edit | edit source]
Contributors are people who write and edit the pages for FamilySearch Wiki. Thanks to the following contributors for helping to build this page (in alpha order). Anyone can be a contributor. Add content today!
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Acadia, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acadia_Parish,_Louisiana."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Acadia Parish, Louisiana. Page 289-293 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 267-268.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed.Acadia Parish, Louisiana p 289 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Acadia Parish, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acadia_Parish,_Louisiana#Communities, accessed 29 December 2019.