How do I share my family names with family and friends by email?

Share

How do I share my family names with family and friends by email?

Sharing your reservations with friends and family through email is easy. You can share even if you already printed the name card or shared the ordinances with the temple. Please be aware you cannot share ordinances reserved through the Ordinances Ready feature. You can reserve and share temple ordinances regardless of the sex of the person.

Before you start

We recommend that you contact the person you are planning to share with.

  • Ask if they are willing to help complete all of the reserved ordinances, including sealing to spouse.
  • Have them make sure that the Shared Temple Ordinances option is turned on in their account settings, under Notifications.
  • Verify their email address.
  • Advise them to watch for the email notification. The email could go to the junk or spam mail folder.

If you plan to share ordinances with a grandchild or a younger family member, consider which sharing method will be easiest for them:

  • Email sharing (website) is often easier for adults who regularly use email on a computer.
  • Mobile sharing (text message or other mobile tools) is often easier for younger members who primarily use their phones.

Important information about unsharing and remaining ordinances

If you want to share an ordinance that you previously shared with the temple, you must first unshare that ordinance with the temple. If the status is Shared Printed, the temple has already printed the name card, and the ordinance cannot be unshared.

Be aware of what happens to the other ordinances for the same person:

  • When you unshare only some ordinances (for example, Baptism and Confirmation) and then share that person with another individual, the remaining ordinances may still be reserved in your name or remain shared with the temple.
  • Those remaining ordinances can stay reserved or shared until they are completed, unshared, or expire.
  • The person receiving the shared ordinances may not realize that additional ordinances for that individual are still reserved or shared under someone else’s name.

To avoid confusion or unintentional delays, make sure you understand where each ordinance is reserved or shared before and after you share a name.

Steps (website)

  1. While signed in to FamilySearch, click Temple.
  2. From the drop-down menu, click My Reservations.
  3. To the left of each name whose card you want to share, click the box. You can select up to 50 names at one time. A counter at the top of the list tracks how many names you have selected.
  4. If the list contains more than one page of names, use the Page options at the bottom of the list. Your selections stay selected as you go from page to page.
  5. (Optional) Use the filter to see the selected names:
    • Click Filter.
    • Click Selected.
  6. Click Share.
  7. Click Share with Individual.
  8. Enter information on the Share with Individual screen:
    • Your name appears as the sender. You can change the name.
    • Type the name of the recipient.
    • Type the email address of the recipient.
  9. Click Send. By clicking Send, you verify that you have permission to use the email address of the recipient.
  10. Review the Reserved Names Are Shared pop-up box.

Note: If you share family names for which you have already printed cards, please destroy the cards to avoid duplication of ordinances.

Steps (mobile)

You can share names by email, text message, and other tools on your mobile device.

  1. In the Family Tree mobile app, open the temple page:
    • Android: In the upper left portion of the screen, tap the three lines, and tap Temple.
    • Apple iOS: Tap Temple.
  2. Tap the circle next to each family name that you want to send to a friend or family member. You can share up to 45 names.
  3. Tap Share.
  4. Tap Share with Individual.
  5. Read the message, and then tap OK.
  6. Choose the method that you want to use to share (such as text message or email), and send the link.

Results

On your temple ordinance list, an envelope icon appears next to the shared family names. Hover your mouse over the Date reserved column to see the recipient’s name, email address, and the expiration date of the share request.

  • The recipient has 2 weeks to accept the ordinances.
  • If the recipient accepts them, the shared family names disappear from your family names list.
  • If the recipient rejects them, the shared family names remain on your list, and the envelope icon disappears. You can then print, share, or unreserve the family name again.

If a recipient receives ordinances they cannot complete, they can unshare those ordinances and share them back with you so the work can continue and ordinances do not remain reserved until they expire.

Using family groups

If you regularly share ordinances with multiple family members (such as children and grandchildren), consider creating a family group.

  • Family groups allow members to share ordinances more flexibly without unintentionally tying up remaining ordinances.
  • This option can help families coordinate who is completing which ordinances while keeping the remaining ordinances available to the group.

You can share family names that you reserved with family or friends by sending them an email, text message, or other mobile link.

Was this helpful?