New Share Feature in FamilySearch

Ordinance Cards with No Address

I accepted Elder Andersen’s challenge at RootsTech 2015 – to prepare as many names for temple work as ordinances I planned to do. Last week I wanted to take a family file to the temple, but I was all out of cards with uncompleted ordinances. So I spent most of the day hunting around for new names to add to my tree that might need temple work performed

I saw the temple icon with the green arrow on my family tree for a set of third great grandparents, indicating someone needed temple work done and so I poked around.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My third great grandmother, Sally Noyes, finally had enough information to qualify for temple work. There were possible duplicates, so I wanted more information. I discovered several marriage records where Sally was listed as the mother of the bride. I was able to verify six additional children for this family, besides her son, who was my second great grandfather! They all needed temple ordinances!

LDS Temple Tab

At the top of my screen I saw this red circle with a star next to Temple on the horizontal menu, which I clicked on to bring up all the ordinances in various stages of completion.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I just wanted to see an overview.

 

 

 

 

I ended up printing up everything I did that day, but added one more a couple days later, so I have 26 of 28 already printed.

Let’s look at the Share feature.

 

 

 

 

 

Sally Noyes can now be sealed to her parents. When I check the box next to her name, the Print,Share and Unreserve buttons turn blue.

Hovering over the Share button I get three options:

 

 

 

 

 

  • Share with Temple
  • Share with Family of Friends
  • Unshare

I was glad to see the Unshare option so I can experiment with Share.

I chose Share with Family or Friends and this pop-up window appeared:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You can type in the name and email of the person you want to share it with. They do need to have an LDS account with FamilySearch.

You can also write them a message. Note that once they accept, the action cannot be undone.

Click Send when ready,

Now I have one name under Shared, and a little envelope icon appears next to the name.

 

 

 

 

 

This is the email notification my daughter-in-law received from FamilySearch:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Unsharing

Once you have shared with a family member or friend, there is no un-share capability at this time. Once the person has accepted the invitation the listing on your reservation list will disappear from your list and appear on the other person’s list. They have two weeks to accept it. During that time it will appear on your list with a little envelope icon next to it. If they accept, the whole line will disappear along with the envelope icon. If they don’t accept it after two weeks then just the envelope icon disappears and you can once again print or unreserve it.

Share with Temple

If you have more work than you and your family can do on your own, you may want to Share with Temple.

Here is what you will see when you select names and then Share with Temple:

At which point you can click on the Share button.

Here is what I learned about unsharing once you have shared with the temple:

 

 

 

 

 

“Un-sharing reservations shared with the temple can be unshared up until the point where a temple has actually picked them up from inventory and printed a sheet. At that point the ordinance is close to being completed and cannot be unshared. Baptisms usually cannot be unshared within days (female) or weeks (males). Endowments can usually be unshared even a year or more later.”

So you will have to keep an eye on these reserved names to see when they move off your list.

Summary

The new Share feature on FamilySearch is a useful and easy way to get help with the ordinance work you have reserved on your Family Tree. You can either share names with family or friends, or share ordinances with the temple so the work can be completed in a timely fashion!

 

About the Author