Warren County, IllinoisEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Illinois
Warren County
Guide to Warren County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Warren County, Illinois | |
| Map | |
| |
![]() Location of Illinois in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded: | January 13, 1825 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Monmouth |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives | |
| Address | Warren County Courthouse 100 West Broadway Monmouth, IL 61462 (309) 734-8592 Warren County Website |
Warren County Organization
Warren County's civil records start the following years:
| Beginning Dates for Warren County Records | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1877 |
1831 |
1875 |
1830 |
1800 |
1830 |
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Warren County are kept, see the Warren County Courthouse page.
Historical Facts
Warren County is named for Joseph Warren who had a leading role in the American patriot organizations in the early days of the Revolution. He was a General in the war, but during the battle of Bunker Hill he fought as a private soldier and was killed during this engagement.[1]
Parent County
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Warren County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Records and Resources
Biography
- The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Warren County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Warren County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.
Cemeteries
Illinois cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.
Published Records
- The Family History Library Catalog lists some records of cemeteries in Warren County. Some of the books or others may be on Google Books or available at public libraries.
Online Gravestone Transcriptions
- Warren County ILGenWeb. See the Cemeteries link for Warren County cemeteries and tombstone transcriptions.
- Find A Grave.com has burial information for over 50 Warren County cemeteries. For a complete list of cemeteries, click Here.
- GenealogyTrails.com. Has a list of Warren County Cemeteries and links to tombstone transcriptions.
- Illinois Ancestors Tombstone Project. Find or submit Warren County tombstone photos.
- Illinois Tombstone Transcription Project. Get accesss to online cemetery transcriptions for Warren County Cemeteries.
- Interment.net. Has a link to Warren County Cemetery Records available online.
- Linkpendium. Has links to several Warren County Cemetery related websites.
Cemetery Gazetters
- Epodunk has a list of Warren County Cemeteries. The website provides name of cemetery, address and telephone number when available, Google Map with cemetery marker, and other helpful Internet links.
- The Illinois State Genealogical Society's "Cemetery Location Project" has identified many Warren County Cemeteries.
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1900 | 23,163 | ||
| 1910 | 23,313 | 0.6% | |
| 1920 | 21,488 | −7.8% | |
| 1930 | 21,745 | 1.2% | |
| 1940 | 21,286 | −2.1% | |
| 1950 | 21,981 | 3.3% | |
| 1960 | 21,587 | −1.8% | |
| 1970 | 21,595 | 0% | |
| 1980 | 21,943 | 1.6% | |
| 1990 | 19,181 | −12.6% | |
| 2000 | 18,735 | −2.3% | |
| IL Counties 1900-1990 | |||
1840 Pensioners
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Warren County on page 188.]
Church Records
Abstracts
- Parrish, Joyce W. United Brethern [sic] Ellison Circuit: includes Wassom Chapel (later, Sugar Grove); Roseville U. B. Mission, Fairview United Brethern (later, Fairview Center United Methodist). [Monmouth, Illinois] : Warren Co., Il. Geneal. Society, 1986. Other Libraries(WorldCat) FHL book 977.3415 K2p
Copies of Original records
- Records of Olive Christian Church, Avon, Illinois FHL book 977.3415 K2ro
- 1831–1922, some 1930s to 1950s Register of United Presbyterian Church FHL film 1425168 Item 12
- 1839–1910 First Meridian Christian Church FHL book 977.3415 K2f
- 1851–1906 Cameron/Berwick circuits, Methodist churches FHL book 977.3415 K2t v. 1–3 and film 1145778 Items 3–5
- 1955–1958, 1972–1984 Fall Creek Methodist Church FHL book 977.3413 K2f and film 1440537 Item 10
- 1869–1945 Membership records of the Roseville Methodist Church, Roseville, Il : also contains records of Asbury and Point Pleasant
Court Records
Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Warren County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the WIU IRAD Wiki page.
Copies of original records
- 1831–1924 Probate records FHL film 1392797 Items 3-4 (first of 11 films)
- 1832–1930 Circuit Court Execution DocketsIRAD–WIU
- 1847–1907 Circuit Court Dockets IRAD–WIU
- 1856–1956 Justice of the Peace Dockets IRAD–WIU
- 1859–1929 County Court DocketsIRAD–WIU
- 1859–1922 County Court Execution Dockets IRAD–WIU
- 1869–1940 Jail Registers IRAD–WIU
- 1872–1955 Justice's Transcript RecordIRAD–WIU
- 1872–1949 Jury ListsIRAD–WIU
- 1873–1920 Jury RegistersIRAD–WIU
- 1874–1950 Circuit Court Judgment Dockets IRAD–WIU
- 1893–1945 Insanity Dockets IRAD–WIU
- 1893–1964 Insanity Record IRAD–WIU
- 1905–1942 Adoption, delinquent & dependent records FHL film 1787253 Item 1 (first of 2 films)
- 1905–1964 Dependent and Delinquent Children Record IRAD–WIU
- 1916–1950 Feeble-Minded DocketsIRAD–WIU
- 1916–1949 Feeble-Minded RecordIRAD–WIU
Additional Resources Additional resources for Warren County court records may be found in the FHLC. Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
Ethnic Research
African American
The following have information concerning African American research.
- African American Research (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Illinois State Archives pamphlet on African American Research describes what records are at the State Archives with an online method for ordering records.
- African-American Resources for Illinois
Genealogy
History
The Past and present of Warren County, Illinois: containing a history of the county, its cities, towns, &c., a biographical directory of its citizens, war record of its volunteers in the late rebellion, portraits of early settlers and prominent men, general and local statistics, map of Warren County, history of Illinois, Constitution of the United States, miscellaneous matters, etc., etc. Chicago: H.F. Kett & Co., 1877. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Warren County. Chicago: Munsell Pub. Co., 1903. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Land and Property
Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online sources, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Warren County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the WIU IRAD Wiki page.
- Bounty register FHL book 977.3415 R2w
- 1817–1908 Deeds FHL first film 967530 (first of 51 films)
- 1830–1901 Entry book to the record of deeds FHL film 1255938 Items 1-2 (first of 9 films)
- 1831–1884 Grantee index FHL film 1377876 (first of 2 films)
- 1831–1898 Grantor index FHL film 1377877 (first of 3 films)
- 1831–1854 Estray Record IRAD–WIU
- 1855 Owners' descriptions index to lands listed for taxation FHL book 977.3415 R2o and film 1440586 Item 5
- 1855–1882 Chattel mortgage records FHL first film 1769734 Item 4 (first of 5 films)
- 1855–1964 Chattel Mortgage Record IRAD–WIU
- 1870–1962 Chattel Mortgage IndexIRAD–WIU
- 1934–1958 Chattel Mortgage Releases IRAD–WIU
- 1935–1945 Assessor's Books IRAD–WIU
- 1940–1945 Chattel Mortgage Abstracts IRAD–WIU
Additional Resources
Additional resources for Warren County land and property may be found in the FHLC and FHLC–maps. Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
Online Resources
- Beginning 1820 Land Patent Search See Illinois Land and Property for more information about this database.
- 1796–1907 U.S. General Land Office Records found at Ancestry.com ($)
- Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales Database
- Warren County Federal Township Plats
Maps
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Warren County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Warren County.
- - 11th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Companies I and K.
- - 12th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company L.
- - 13th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company E.
- - 17th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company F.
- - 36th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- - 50th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A, B, C, D, and K.
- - 59th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- - 61st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I.
- - 83rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A, B, C, F, and H.
- - 102nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A and B.
- - 138th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies A and C.
Naturalization
Newspapers and Obituaries
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has historical newspapers online including Burlington, Iowa newspapers dating back to the mid 1800's that may have included Warren County residents. This database is free at some libraries.
Probate Records
Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Warren County records. For information on how to use IRAD see theWIU IRAD Wiki page.
Abstracts
- 1844–1940 Warren County, Illinois Genealogical Society. Master index of will books. [Monmouth, Illinois : Warren County Geneal. Society], 1986. Other Libraries(WorldCat) FHL book 977.3415 P22m
- 1831–1915 Bishop, Lois. Warren County, Illinois will index. Other Libraries(WorldCat) FHL book 977.3415 P22w
Copies of original records
- 1831–1924 Probate records FHL first film 1392797 Items 3-4 (first of 11 films)
- 1831–1983 Probate index card file FHL first film 1392799 (first of 6 films)
- 1849–1947 Probate Appraisement Record IRAD–WIU
- 1850–1925 Will records FHL first film 1392794 Items 4-5 (first of 4 films)
- 1858–1927 Executor's records FHL first film 1769807 Item 3 (first of 3 films
- 1858–1946Probate, guardian and related records FHL first film 1769802 Item 3 (first of 10 films)
- 1858–1969 Probate Executor's RecordIRAD–WIU
- 1859–1916 Probate judgement dockets FHL first film 1769728 Items 1–4 (first of 3 films)
- 1859–1919 Estate inventory records A-G FHL first film 1769805 (first of 3 films)
- 1859–1929 Estate appraisement records FHL first film 1769802 Items 4-5 (first of 3 films)
- 1859–1931 Sale bills of estates FHL first film 1769767 Item 3 (first of 3 films)
- 1859–1955 Probate Administrator's RecordIRAD–WIU
- 1859–1961 Probate Inventory Record IRAD–WIU
- 1859–1868 Probate Judgment Docket Index IRAD–WIU
- 1859–1915 Probate Judgment Dockets IRAD–WIU
- 1859–1945 Probate Sale Record, Personal Property IRAD–WIU
- 1859–1964 Probate Guardian's Record IRAD–WIU
- 1861–1901 Probate Minutes IRAD–WIU
- 1861–1864 Probate journal or minute book of the county judge FHL film 1769730 Item 2
- 1870–1888 Executor's ledger B FHL film 1769802 Item 2
- 1870–1886 Probate Executor's Accounts IRAD–WIU
- 1871–1971 Probate Guardian's and Conservator's Account RecordIRAD–WIU
- 1872–1936 Widows relinquishment and selection records, and award and selection record FHL film 1769801 Items 2-4
- 1872–1943 Probate Widow's Relinquishment and Selection Record IRAD–WIU
- 1873–1964 Probate Inventory Record, Guardians and Conservators IRAD–WIU
- 1875 Probate Sale Petitions, Real Estate, Guardians IRAD–WIU
- 1878–1950 Insanity and Conservator's Record IRAD–WIU
- 1881–1901 Will probate docket of the county court FHL first film 1769730 Items 3-4 (first of 2 films)
- 1888–1963 Probate Conservator's Record IRAD–WIU
- 1894–1946 Probate Guardian's and Conservator's Dockets IRAD–WIU
- 1907–1968 Probate Conservator's and Insanity Proceedings Fee Books IRAD–WIU
- 1911–1964 Probate Guardian, Adoption and Delinquent Fee Books IRAD–WIU
- 1911–1951 Probate Heirship Record IRAD–WIU
- 1912–1936 Heirship record [one record from 1911] FHL film 1769802 Item 1
- 1919–1958 Probate Administrator's Record De Bonis Non with WillsIRAD–WIU
- 1920–1923 Executors and administrators report record FHL first film 1255909 Item 4 (first of 2 films)
- 1923–1931 Probate Conservator's Account Record IRAD–WIU
Additional Resources
Additional resources for Warren County probates may be found in the Illinois, Warren – Probate and on Illinois, Warren – Probate record indexes topic pages of the Family History Library catalog (FHLC). Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
Repositories
County Courthouse
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Warren County are kept, see the Warren County Courthouse page.
Family History Center
There are over 4500 Family History Centers in more than 80 countries offering public access to genealogical records from all over the world. Family History Centers provide patrons with access to over a billion online records and approximately 2.5 million circulating microfilms. Centers are staffed by local volunteers who are eager to provide genealogical research assistance. Currently there are no Family History Centers located directly in Warren County. To find the nearest Family History Center, check out the Family Search Centers page on the FamilySearch.org website.
Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)
IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Western Illinois University houses the records for Warren County.
Public Libraries
Warren County Public Library District
62 Public Square
Monmouth, IL 61462
Tel: 309-734-3166
Email: lgood@wcplibrary.org
Facebook
Social Groups Online
Societies
Warren County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 761
Monmouth, IL 61462-0761
Tel: 309-734-2968
Warren County Historical Society
RR 2
Avon, IL 61415
Tel: 309-465-3361
Email: info@warrencountyhistoricalsociety.net
Taxation
Vital Records
See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois.
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Warren County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Warren County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.
Births
Copies of Original Birth Records
- 1866–1903 Birth Records FHL first film 1870153 Item 3 (first of 3 films)
- 1877–1900 Birth records FHL first film 1377923 (first of 2 films) and book 977.3415 V22o
- 1877–1900 Birth RecordIRAD–WIU
- 1877–1983 Birth Record Index IRAD–WIU
- 1878–1983 Index to births FHL first film 1377922 Items 3-4 (first of 2 films) and book 977.3415 V22o
- 1882–1900 Still Births FHL film 1392672
Marriage
Copies of original Marriage Records
- 1831–1983 Index to marriages FHL first film 1377919 Items 2–4(first of 2 films)
- 1831–1923 Marriage records FHL first film 1377921 (first of 4 films)
- 1831–1983 Marriage Record Index IRAD–WIU
- 1831–1932 Marriage Record IRAD–WIU
- 1932–1957 Marriage Licenses IRAD–WIU
Online Resources
- 1763-1900 Illinois Statewide Marriage Index, 1763-1900
- 1790–1860 Illinois Marriage index found at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1827-1915 Index to Warren County, IL Male Marriages courtesy Usgennet.org
Deaths
Copies of original Death Records
- 1851–1934 Burial Record, Soldiers and Sailors IRAD–WIU
- 1877–1983 Index to death records FHL film 1377924 Item 3 (first of 2 films)
- 1877–1901 Death records FHL first film 1392669 Items 1-3 (first of 2 films)
- 1877–1900 Death RecordIRAD–WIU
- 1877–1983 Death Record Index IRAD–WIU
- 1882–1900 Death Record, StillbirthsIRAD–WIU FHL film 1392672
Online Resources
- Pre-1916 Illinois Statewide Death Index, Pre-1916
- 1916-1950 Database of Illinois Death Certificates, 1916-1950
- 1850–1885 U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885 found at Ancestry.com ($)
Additional Resources
Additional resources for Warren County births, marriages and deaths may be found in the Illinois, Warren – Vital Records, the Illinois, Warren – Vital Records - indexes, and the Illinois, Warren – Vital Records - newspapers topic pages of the Family History Library catalog (FHLC). Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
Web Sites
References
- ↑ Joseph Warren www.wikipedia.org
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2013, at 19:48.
- This page has been accessed 2,319 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



