Sonoma County, CaliforniaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
California
Sonoma County
Guide to Sonoma County California genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Sonoma County, California | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of California | |
![]() Location of California in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 18, 1850 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Santa Rosa |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Sonoma County Courthouse 2300 County Center Drive laPlaza Building B177 Santa Rosa, CA 95403 Phone: 707.565.3800 Sonoma County Website |
County Courthouse
County Recorder has birth, marriage, death and land records
County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records from 1850[1]
Historical Facts
Parent County
18 February 1850: Sonoma County was created as an original county. County seat: Santa Rosa [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1906: Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Cemeteries
BillionGraves:
- Cloverdale Cemetery, Cloverdale
- Oak Mound Cemetery, Healdsburg
- Santa Rosa Calvary Cemetery, Santa Rosa
Census
For tips on accessing Sonoma County, California census records online, see: California Census.
Church History and Records
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Santa Rosa
Court Records
Crime and Criminals
Directories
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Germans
History
Land and property
Maps
Migration
Military History and Records
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Probate Records
Repositories
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Sonoma County History and Genealogy Library
County Courthouse
Family History Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Cloverdale California Family History Center
- Coalinga California Family History Center
- Santa Rosa California Family History Center
- Sonoma California Family History Center
Societies
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
Divorce
Death
- Sonoma County, California Obituary and Death Notice Collection Free from GenealogyBuff.com. Obits and death notices from Various Funeral Homes in the Santa Rosa area as well as those of celebrities and VIP's.
Voting Registers
Websites
- Sonoma County CAGenWeb
- Linkpendium
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives backup site
- FamilySearch Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sonoma County, California. Page 87At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 26 April 2013, at 00:22.
- This page has been accessed 2,234 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

