Shasta County, CaliforniaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
California
Shasta County
Guide to Shasta County California genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Shasta County, California | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of California | |
![]() Location of California in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February, 1850 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Redding |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Shasta County Courthouse 1643 Market Street PO Box 990880 Redding, CA 96099 Phone: 530.225.5730 Shasta County Website |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records from 1880
County Recorder has birth, marriage and death records[1]
www.co.shasta.ca.us/
Historical Facts
Parent County
18 February 1850: Shasta County was created as an original county. County seat: Redding [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
14 June 1853: Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Indian Reservations or Rancherias
The Big Bend Indian Rancheria is located in this county.
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Cemeteries
- Saint Josephs Cemetery, Redding BillionGraves
Census
For tips on accessing Shasta County, California census records online, see: California Census.
Church History and Records
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Redding
- Shasta
Court Records
Crime and Criminals
Directories
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Germans
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Land and property
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Shasta County, California for emigrant settlers included:[3][4]
- California Trail 1846 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California
- The Lassen Cutoff 1848 was established by gold rushers from Oregon going to California. It branched off the Applegate Trail at Davis Creek, went through Devil's Garden to the Pit River passing east of Mt. Lassen, and turning west to Lassen Rancho, California, and from there to Sacramento. In some years as much as 1/3 of emigrants mistakenly took the Applegate Trail-Lassen Cutoff, a much longer and more difficult trail than the Truckee or Carson routes.
- Nobles Road 1851 from the Applegate Trail at Rabbithole Springs in the Black Rock Desert of Nevada to Shasta City, California
Military History and Records
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate Records
Repositories
Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Anderson California Family History Center
- Fall River California Family History Center
- Redding California Family History Center
Societies
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
Divorce
Death
Voting Registers
Websites
- Shasta County CAGenWeb
- Linkpendium
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives backup site
- FamilySearch Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Shasta County, California. Page 87At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 5 August 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "California Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Trail (accessed 5 August 2012).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 26 April 2013, at 00:19.
- This page has been accessed 1,999 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

