San Bernardino County, CaliforniaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
California
San Bernardino County
Guide to San Bernardino County California genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Dates for major county records[1] | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| 1854-present |
1854-present | 1873-present | 1860-present | 1854-present | 1856-present |
| For earlier dates, try... | |||||
| |||||
| Remember these collections | |||||
| San Bernardino County, California | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of California | |
![]() Location of California in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | April 26, 1853 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | San Bernardino |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Archives 1808 Commercenter West, Ste. D, San Bernardino, CA 92415 (855) 732-2575 (909) 890-1713 |
| Website: www.sbcounty.gov | |
| Named for: Saint Bernardino of Siena | |
County Courthouse
San Bernardino County Courthouse
22 W Hospitality Lane
San Bernardino, CA 92415
Phone: 909.387.8306
County Clerk has marriage license from 1887
divorce and probate records from 1856 court
records from 1853 and land records from 1854;
County Recorder has birth and death records
from 1853 and marriage records from 1857[2]
Historical Facts
San Bernardino County is presently the largest county in terms of geographic area within the United States. The county seat is the city of San Bernardino which is also the county's largest in terms of population, and that city lies in the southwest corner of the county.San Bernardino itself was founded by settlers sent by Brigham Young in the 1850s, but they left when the matter known as the 'Utah War' erupted back in Utah.
www.co.san-bernardino.ca.us/main/history.asp
Parent County
26 April 1853: San Bernardino County was created from Los Angeles County which had annexed part of San Diego County in 1851. County seat: San Bernardino [3]
Boundary Changes
Los Angeles County and San Diego County were original counties created in 1850 when California became a state. In 1851, Los Angeles County expanded to the eastern border of California to include part of what was San Diego, County. In 1853, San Bernardino County was created from the eastern area of Los Angeles County. In 1878, additional land from Los Angeles County was added to San Bernardino County.
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
- Communities:
- Apple Valley | *Barstow | Colton | Fontana | Hesperia | Highland | Redlands | Rialto | San Bernardino | Victorville
Neighboring Counties
Inyo Kern Los Angeles Orange Riverside
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Cemeteries
Mountain View Cemetery 570 E Highland Ave San Bernardino, CA 92404-4002 909-882-2943
Pioneer Memorial Cemetery 211 E 9th St San Bernardino, CA 92410-4408 (909) 885-6484
Montecito Memorial Park 3520 E. Washington Street Colton San Bernardino County California USA Postal Code: 92324 Phone: 909-825-3024
- Fort Mojave Burial Grounds, Needles BillionGraves
- Riverview Cemetery, Needles BillionGraves
Census
For tips on accessing San Bernardino County, California census records online, see: California Census.
Church Records
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Colton
- Bloomington
- Fontana
- Highland
- Needles
- Ontario
- Redlands
- Rialto
- San Bernardino
- San Bernardino 1
- San Bernardino 2
- Victorville
- Yucaipa
Court Records
Crime and Criminals
Directories
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Germans
Archives, Libraries, and Museums
Biographies
Church Records
Cemetery Records
Court Records
Histories
Immigration/emigration/migration
Maps
Newspapers
Societies
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Maps
www.mapsofworld.com/usa/county-maps/california/san-bernardino-county-map.html
Migration
Early migration routes to and from San Bernardino County, California for emigrant settlers included:
- Camino Real de California 1770s linking Spanish Mission churches in California and Baja California[4]
- Old Spanish Trail 1829 Los Angeles, California to Santa Fe, New Mexico[5]
- California Trail 1846 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California[6]
- Mormon Trail to Southern California 1847 from Salt Lake City, Utah to Los Angeles, California[7]
- Butterfield Overland Mail 1857-1861 from San Francisco via Los Angeles to Memphis, Tennessee and St. Louis, Missouri[8]
- Central Overland Trail 1859-1869 from Salt Lake City, Utah to Carson City, Nevada (and usually on to northern California)[9]
- Union Pacific Railroad 1869 Ogden, Utah to Omaha, Nebraska[10]
- Central Pacific Railroad 1869 Ogden, Utah to Sacramento, California[11]
- Atchison, Topeka, and Santa Fe Railway 1881 Los Angeles, California to Chicago, Illinois[12]
- Southern Pacific Railroad 1883 Los Angeles, California to New Orleans, Louisiana[13]
- Atlantic and Pacific Railroad 1885 Los Angeles, California to Albuquerque, New Mexico (and the Santa Fe Railway) [14]
Military History and Records
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
San Bernardino County Sun
4030 N. Georgia Blvd. San Bernardino, CA 92407 Phone: (909) 889-9666. All Departments: Hours: Monday through Friday 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Serving: Adelanto, Apple Valley, Banning, Barstow, Beaumont, Big Bear, Colton, Crestline, Fontana, Grand Terrace, Hesperia, Highland, Loma Linda, Mentone, Redlands, Rialto, San Bernardino, Victorville, Yucaipa http://www.sbsun.com/home
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate Records
Repositories
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Archives, Libraries, and Museums
Biographies
Church Records
Cemetery Records
Court Records
Histories
Immigration/emigration/migration
Maps
Newspapers
Societies
County Courthouse
San Bernardino County Recorder-Clerk - Archives
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Barstow California Family History Center
- Big Bear California Family History Center
- Chino California Family History Center
- Fontana California Family History Center
- Highland California Family History Center
- Needles California Family History Center
- Rancho Cucamonga California Family History Center
- Redlands California Family History Center
- Rialto California Family History Center
- Ridgecrest California Family History Center
- Twentynine Palms California Family History Center
- Upland California Family History Center
- Victorville California Family History Center
- Yucca Valley California Family History Center
Societies
Taxation
Vital Records
sanbernardinovitalrecords.com/
Birth
Marriage
For early marriages see Western States Marriage Index.
Divorce
Death
Voting Registers
Websites
- San Bernardino County CAGenWeb
- Linkpendium
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives backup site
- FamilySearch Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Eichholz, Alice Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 68-83. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), San Benardo County, California. Page 86 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "El Camino Real (California)" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/El_Camino_Real_%28California%29 (accessed 14 September 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Old Spanish Trail (trade route)" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Old_Spanish_Trail_%28trade_route%29 (accessed 14 September 2011).
- ↑ "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Jefferson Hunt" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jefferson_Hunt (accessed 6 September 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Butterfield Overland Mail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Butterfield_Overland_Mail (accessed 14 September 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Central Overland Route" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Overland_Route (accessed 13 September 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Union Pacific Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Union_Pacific_Railroad (accessed 14 September 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Central Pacific Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Pacific_Railroad (accessed 14 September 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Santa Fe Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Santa_Fe_Railroad (accessed 14 September 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Southern Pacific Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Southern_Pacific_Railroad (accessed 14 September 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Atlantic and Pacific Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atlantic_and_Pacific_Railroad (accessed 14 September 2011).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 9 April 2013, at 17:33.
- This page has been accessed 4,437 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

