Nova ScotiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
| The Research Forums have been closed. For a limited time the Canadian Research Forum will be available in read-only mode. |
Brief History
Nova Scotia is a penninsula on the east coast of Canada. Settlements in Nova Scotia (the Latin term for "New Scotland") began in 1604. In the 1600s, Nova Scotia was part of Acadia. All of Nova Scotia passed into possession of Great Britain in 1713. The Province of Nova Scotia was formed in 1867, being one of the original four provinces to join the Confederation.
Counties
Research Tools
Wiki articles describing online collecrtions are found at:
- Canada Nova Scotia Antigonish Catholic Diocese Rcords (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Nova Scotia Births and Baptisms (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Nova Scotia Census 1861 Index (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Nova Scotia Church Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Nova Scotia, Queens County, Genealogical Notes of Thomas Brenton Smith (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Nova Scotia Vital Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Featured Article
Nova Scotia was the first European settlement north of Florida. Joao Fagudes set up a small settlement there in 1523. Read more...
Migration Routes
Pier 21{·}} Halifax Road or Grand Communication Route
Did You Know?
Early vital records of Nova Scotia, Canada are viewable over the Internet for the first time at www.novascotiagenealogy.com and they are free.
Free census records for Nova Scotia and other provinces can be found at www.collectionscanada.gc.ca. Records for 1871, 1881 and 1891 are indexed. Indexes for some of the others can be found at Ancestry.com which is available free at most FamilySearch Centers through the Family History Center Portal.
Things You Can Do
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
| |
Websites
- Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21
- Looking 4 Kin Genealogy & Family History Network - Nova Scotia
- Mary's Genealogy Treasures - great research resource
| ||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 14 April 2013, at 23:16.
- This page has been accessed 4,879 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More