Hertford County, North CarolinaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
North Carolina
Hertford County
Guide to Hertford County North Carolina genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Hertford County, North Carolina | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of North Carolina | |||||||||
![]() Location of North Carolina in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | December 12, 1754 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Winton | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
County Courthouse
Hertford County Courthouse
King Street P O Box 36
Winton, NC 27986
Phone: 252-358-7850
Courthouse burned 1832 and 1862
Register of Deeds has birth and death records and burial records from 1913
marriage records from 1884 and land records from 1866
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1883
and probate records rec from 1869 [1]
History
1759 Hertford County named in honor of the Marquis of Hertford, Francis Seymour Conway, was officially formed from Bertie, Chowan and Northampton Counties by an act of legislature effective May 1, 1760.
The first official court proceedings in the area were held at Cotton's Ferry. In 1766 Assembly Representative Benjamin Wynn donated fifty acres for a town to be properly established and it was briefly called "Wynntown". Shortly following the 1766 incorporation of the town "Winton" became the county seat of government as it proudly remains today.
Parent County
1754--Hertford County was created 12 December 1754 from Chowan, Bertie, and Northampton Counties.
County seat: Winton [2]
Boundary Changes
In 1779 the northeastern part of Hertford County was combined with parts of Chowan County and Perquimans County to form Gates County.
Record Loss
1830, 1862--Courthouse fires destroyed the majority of the county's records.
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Hertford County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
Church Records
Baptist
Church of England
- St. John's Chapel. Established by 1782.[4]
Court
The first court was held at Cotton's Ferry.
Land
Local Histories
- The colonial and state political history of Hertford County, N.C (1906) - by Benjamin Brodie Winborne; freely available at OpenLibrary
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Hertford County for European settlers included:[5]
- Atlantic Ocean
- King's Highway about 1704
- Secondary Coast Road late 1730s
Military
Civil War
Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
Newspapers
Probate
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Hertford County, North Carolina Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1830-1963 - Will Books A to G (1830-1963) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
Taxation
Vital Records
- 1868-1872 - Hertford Marriages 1868-1872 at USGenWeb - free.
- 1868-1963 - Hertford County Marriage Index 1868-1963. Batch M752555 at FamilySearch - free.[6]
Yearbooks
- Chowan College: 1911-2006
- Hertford County students at NC colleges - via the NCGenWeb Yearbook Index
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- NCGenWeb: Hertford County - part of the USGenWeb Project
- Family History Library Catalog
- USGenWeb Archives - many additional records for Hertford
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hertford County, North Carolina. Page 509 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:478, 488. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:488. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.
| This North Carolina-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 May 2013, at 15:50.
- This page has been accessed 1,920 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


