Haywood County, North CarolinaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
North Carolina
Haywood County
Guide to Haywood County North Carolina genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Haywood County, North Carolina | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of North Carolina | |||||||||
![]() Location of North Carolina in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | December 15, 1808 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Waynesville | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
County Courthouse
Haywood County Courthouse
215 N Main Street
Waynesville, NC 28786
Phone: 828-452-6635
The Register of Deeds has birth, death, marriage, and land records.
The Clerk of Superior Court has probate and court records. [1]
History
Parent County
1808 - Haywood County was established 15 December 1808 from Buncombe.
County seat: Waynesville [2]
Boundary Changes
Haywood County was formed from the western portion of Buncombe County in 1808. At the time of its formation, it stretched from Buncombe County to the Tennessee state line. In 1828, the western portion of Haywood County became Macon County. Parts of Haywood and Macon Counties were used to form Jackson county in 1851.
Record Loss
1932 - Records were lost/destroyed during move into a new courthouse.
Places/Localities
Populated Places
- Canton
- Clyde
- Hazelwood
- Lake Junaluska
- Maggie Valley
- Waynesville
Neighboring Counties
- Buncombe
- Cocke County, Tennessee
- Henderson
- Jackson
- Madison
- Sevier County, Tennessee
- Swain
- Transylvania
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Haywood County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
Church
Court
The Clerk of Superior Court has probate and court records.
Haywood County Clerk of Superior Court
285 N Main St
Suite 1500
Waynesville, NC 28786
Phone: (828) 454-6501
Land
The Register of Deeds has birth, death, marriage, and land records.
Haywood County Register of Deeds
County Courthouse
215 N Main Street Suite 213
Waynesville, NC 28786
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Civil War
Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
Newspapers
Probate
The Clerk of Superior Court has probate and court records.
Haywood County Clerk of Superior Court
285 N Main St
Suite 1500
Waynesville, NC 28786
Phone: (828) 454-6501
- 1808-1966 - Will Books (1808-1966) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
Taxation
Vital Records
The Haywood County Register of Deeds holds vital records. Birth and death records are available from 1913. Marriage records are available from 1808.
Haywood County Register of Deeds
County Courthouse
215 N Main Street Suite 213
Waynesville, NC 28786
Marriages
- 1857-1914 - Haywood County marriage licenses, 1857-1914 - index freely available from the NC State Library. Word format | PDF format.
- 1857-1922 - Haywood County Marriage Index 1857-1922 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1915-1925 - Haywood County marriage licenses, 1915-1925 - index freely available from the NC State Library - Word format | PDF format.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Haywood County NCGenWeb - free genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb Project, Inc.
- Family History Library Catalog
Blogs
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Haywood County, North Carolina. Page 509 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 May 2013, at 15:45.
- This page has been accessed 2,319 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


