Halifax County, North CarolinaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
North Carolina
Halifax County
Guide to Halifax County North Carolina genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Halifax County, North Carolina | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of North Carolina | |||||||||
![]() Location of North Carolina in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | December 12, 1754 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Halifax | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
County Courthouse
Halifax County Courthouse
King Street
Box 67
Halifax, NC 27839
Phone: 252-583-2101
Registerof Deeds has birth and death records from 1913
marriage records from 1867
divorce, probate records from1868, court records from 1893
land records from 1729 & mililitary discharge records from 1918[1]
History
In 1758 the residents of Edgecombe County petitioned the Governor and the Colonial Assembly requesting that the parish of Halifax be granted the status of an individual county - having functioned along with St. Mary’s Parish as the two original Edgecombe County parishes since its creation in 1741 from the southwestern section of Bertie County. Bertie County was formed from the western extension of Chowan Precinct (west of the Chowan River) in the year 1722, and was even earlier, an undefined part of the now extinct original Albemarle County 1664-1668. All territory within the boundaries of Edgecombe County north of the Fishing Creek and Rainbow Banks on the Roanoke River - approximately 711 square miles - was officially designated as Halifax County on January 1, 1759. Halifax County is located in the northeastern area of North Carolina and is bordered on all sides by seven neighboring NC counties. As suggested by Governor Author Dobbs, Halifax was named for George Montague II, Earl of Halifax, first Lord of the Board of Trade and Plantations. The county seat, also named Halifax (town) had been established in 1757 on the Roanoke River. Located on the fall line of the Piedmont and Coastal Plain, the county has an interesting mixture of flat and hilly terrain and an excellent climate for agricultural pursuits. The original residents of this area along the southern banks of the Moratuck [Roanoke] River and Quankie Creek were the Tuscarora Indians.
In 1917 Milton Whitney, Chief of Bureau, U. S. Department of Agriculture submitted an official report to the US Government in which he stated that the early settlers of the Halifax County area came mainly from the British Isles. Many of them settled first in New Jersey and other northern States and then migrated to this county. Others came directly to Halifax County. The first settlements in Halifax County were apparently made near the watercourses. The first crops grown were corn, peas, potatoes, flax, and various vegetables. Live stock was brought in at an early date, and gradually increased in number. Flax was spun and woven into garments for home use. Considerable wool was produced and made into clothing at home. Tanneries were in operation at an early date, and furnished leather for making shoes. Nearly every settler grew tobacco for domestic use. Cotton was grown in small patches and made into homespun garments, the lint being separated from the seed by hand.
In 1774, the southeastern part of Halifax County was combined with part of Tyrrell County to form Martin County. Today Halifax County is comprised of twelve townships with a total population of 57,370 people (2000 Census). The Townships are: Brinkleyville, Butterwood, Conoconnara, Enfield, Faucett, Halifax, Littleton, Palmyra, Roanoke Rapids, Roseneath, Scotland Neck, and Weldon.
Land records of Edgecombe County, and Bertie District, are included in the record of deed series.
Parent County
1758--Halifax County was officially established in 1759 from Edgecombe County.
County seat: Halifax [2]
An Act for dividing Edgecomb County.
I. Whereas divers inconveniences attend the Inhabitants of Edgecomb County, by reason of the large extent thereof, and the great Distance that many of them live from the Court House, and other Places usually appointed for Public Meetings;
II. Be it therefore Enacted, by the Governor, Council, and Assembly, and by the Authority of the same, That from and immediately after the First Day of January next ensueing, the said County of Edgecomb be divided, by the dividing Line between the Parish of Edgecomb and the Parish of St. Mary; and that that Part of the said County which is now the Parish of St. Mary, remain, be called, and known by the Name of Edgecomb County; and that that Part of the said County which is now the Parish of Edgecomb, be thence forth erected into one distinct County, and called and known by the Name of Halifax.
III. And for the due Administration of Justice, Be it further Enacted, by the Authority aforesaid, That after the said first Day of January, a Court for the said County of Edgecomb be constantly held, by the Justices thereof, at Redman's Oldfield, on Tyoncoca, upon the Days and Times by Law appointed for that purpose; and also that a Court for the said County of Halifax be constantly held, by the Justices thereof, at Enfield, upon the first Tuesdays in March, June, September, and December, in every Year, as by the Laws of this Province is Provided, and shall be, by Commission to the Justices of the said Counties, respectively, directed.
IV. And be it further Enacted, by the Authority aforesaid, That nothing herein contained shall be construed to debar the Sheriff of the said County of Edgecomb, as the same stands now undivided, to make Distress for any Levies, Fees, or other Dues, that shall be due from the Inhabitants of the said County on the said First Day of January, in the same Manner as by Law the said Sheriff could or might have done if the said County had remained undivided; and the said Levies, Fees, and other Dues, shall be collected and accounted for in the same Manner as if this Act had never been made; any Thing herein contained to the contrary notwithstanding.
V. Be it further Enacted, by the Authority aforesaid, That after the said First Day of January, the said County of Halifax shall be, continue, and remain part of the District Supreme Court of Justice, Oyer and Terminer, and General Gaol Delivery, usually held for the Counties of Northampton, Edgecomb, and Granville; and the Sheriff or Collector of the said County of Halifax shall, from Time to Time account for and pay to the Public Treasurer of the Northern District of this Province for the Time being, all Public Levies by him Collected, or wherewith he shall stand Chargeable, in the same Manner, and under the like Pains and Penalties, as other Sheriffs.
VI. Provided always, That nothing herein contained shall be construed, deemed or taken, to alter or derogate from the Rights and Royal Prerogative of his Majesty, his heirs or Successors of granting Letters of Incorporation to the said Counties, and of ordering, appointing, and directing the Election of a Member or Members to represent them in Assembly, and of granting Markets and Fairs to be kept and held in them respectively; but that the said Right and Prerogative shall and may, at all Times hereafter, be exercised therein by his said Majesty, his Heirs or Successors, in as full and ample manner, to all Intents and Purposes whatsoever, as if this Act had never been made.
(The Laws of North Carolina 1758, Pg. 496-497, Chapter XIII)
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Many court records are missing. Many of the early marriage records are also missing.
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Halifax County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
Church Records
Baptist
- Davis's Meeting House, aka Concinnary. Established by 1783.[3]
- Kehukee. Church built 1742. Also spelled Quehuky.[3][4] Edwards published a membership list dated 1742 in Materials Towards a History of the Baptists... (1772), 129.
- Lawrence's, aka New Meeting House, aka Fishing Creek; near Scotland Neck, N.C. Established by 1779.[3]
- Lower Fishing Creek. Church built 1757.[3] Edwards published a list of early members in Materials Towards a History of the Baptists... (1772), 133-134.
- Rocky Swamp, near Enfield, N.C. Established by 1773.[3]
- Quankey, near Halifax, N.C. Established by 1799.[3]
Church of England
- Trinity Parish, near Scotland Neck, N.C. Established about 1732.[5] A history was published in 1955.[6]
Methodist
- Eden, near Enfield, N.C. Established by 1789.[7]
Court
Following sites contain transcribed Court records:
- Halifax County Court Minutes 1832-1846, Part 1
- Halifax County Apprenticeships & Other Records 1847-1865
- Free People of Color Register 1847-1865
Land
The Halifax County Register of Deeds has copies of land records starting from 1732. Marriage records are available since 1825. Birth & Death records are available since October 1913. Generally, it is more cost effective to obtain documents from the County offices for non-certified copies rather than the State Archives, so contact the Registry for availability & pricing.
The North Carolina State Archives has copies of most records prior to about 1930. For a listing of available Halifax County records at the Archives, click onto our Guide. It is generally more cost effective to order directly from the County offices, so check the local offices first for document availability. Before ordering anything from the Archives, please read our Contacting the State Archives page.
Halifax County Register of Deeds
Court Services Building
P. O. Box 67
357 Ferrell Lane
Halifax, NC 27839
Tel: 259-583-2101
Access the Property Index Search on their website
The following pages contain transcriptions of deeds:
- W. W. Carter, Sheriff to John Justiss, 1813
- James Carstarphen Records 1777-1785
- Thomas Curlin to John Taylor, 1818
- Thomas Curlin to Richard Bailey, 1818
- Thomas Curlin to John Lee, 1819
- Thomas Curlin to Thomas Carlisle, 1845
- Edmund Daniel to Cory Cox, 1783
- Zachariah Harman to Drewry Harrington, 1787
- Milly Hyde to John Hyde, 1794
- Henry & Ann Long to Joel Walker, 1784
- John Long to Joel Walker, 1775
- John Peebles to John Curlin, 1810
- Jesse Read Deeds
- Mary Read to Aaron Pendry, 1769
- Mary Read to Lydia Read, 1769
- Mary Read to Moses R. Pendry, 1769
- Matthew & Sarah Roburn to John Long, 1778
- John Taylor to Thomas Curlin, 1799
- George Washington to John Cooper, 1791
- Thomas Willie to Thomas Curlin, 1817
Local Histories
- Halifax County History Index
- Sally M. Stanton Letter
- History and Pioneers of Halifax County
- Historical Family Collections
- Richard Thompson Family Letters
- Those Kitchin Girls
- William Hodges Kitchin Family
- Sally's Family Place
- Mingia Family History Pages
- Bacon, Grady, Kitchin, Satterfield, Stack, & Travis Families
- Descendants of Hezakiah Morris
- Descendants of James Gill
- The Little Legend
- The Hux Family From Halifax County
- The Stiths Family
- The Descendants of Richard Jordan I
- Guide to the Robert Lynch Papers
- The Haliwa-Saponi (from Wikipedia)
- Sale of the Slaves of Cary Whitaker of Halifax
- Biography of James Edward O'Hara
- Halifax County 1860 Largest Slaveholders & 1870 Surnames Match
- Slaves named in Halifax Co. Wills, 1758-1854
- Joseph Baysmore, a Historical Sketch of 1st Colored Baptist Church
Maps
Military
Revolutionary War
Transcribed copies of Military Records can be found:
- The Halifax Resolves
- Cato Copeland Revolutionary War Pension
- James Carter Revolutionary War Pension
- Benjamin Richardson Revolutionary War Pension
- Elijah Bass Revolutionary War Pension
- Moses Read Revolutionary War Pension
- Shadrick Lassiter, Revolutionary Soldier
- Joel Etheridge Revolutionary War Pension
- Willie Jones of Halifax County
- John Toney Revolutionary War Pension
- William Carter Revolutionary War Pension
- Isham Scott Revolutionary War Pension
- The Patriot Resource - lists Revolutionary War battles with descriptions
- The 2nd North Carolina Regiment in the Continental Army - resources & histories
- Africans in America: The Revolutionary War
Civil War
Transcribed copies of Military Records can be found:
- Halifax County Civil War Confederate Enlistments 1861-1865
- List of Soldiers in Halifax Confederate Burial Ground
- Halifax County Civil War Page
- Halifax County U.S. Colored Troops
Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
- -1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, usually known as the Bethel Regiment.
- -1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
Newspapers
Probate
The Clerk of the Superior Court for Halifax County has copies of court, wills and estate records starting from 1759 if they have not been transferred to the State Archives.
The North Carolina State Archives has copies of most records prior to about 1930. For a listing of available Halifax County records at the Archives, click onto our Guide. It is generally more cost effective to order directly from the County offices, so check the local offices first for document availability.
Halifax County Courthouse
Clerk of the Superior Court
357 Ferrell Lane
Halifax, NC 27839
(252) 583-5061
Mailing Address:
P. O. Box 66
Halifax, NC 27839
North Carolina State Archives
109 E. Jones Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
Mail:
4614 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-4614
Tel: 919-807-7310
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Halifax County, North Carolina Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1755-1961 - Will Books 1 to 15 (1755-1961) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
Following are links to pages with transcribed Wills or Estate Records:
- Mariah Evans, 1881
- Benjamin Richardson, 1809
- William Richardson, 1798
- Alfred Richardson, 1874
- Lucy (Williams) Manley, 1930
- Presley Williams, 1879
- Julius Zollicoffer, 1853
- Sallie (Holly) Richardson, 1928
- Gideon Richardson, 1880
- Eliza Louisa Richardson, 1908
- William Hattaway/Hadaway, 1795
- Joseph John Alston, 1780
- W.F.S. Alston, 1854
- William Andrew, 1761
- Simmons J. Baker, 1853
- William Bishop, 1782
- Jeremiah Brinkley, 1838
- Brinkley Family Estate Records
- William Bryant, 1762
- Sarah Elizabeth Bunn, 1877
- Joseph Burt, 1788
- Richard Burt, 1805
- Stephen Burt, 1793
- Richard Carney, 1793
- John Cooper, 1794
- Thomas Cooper, 1794
- Henry Cotton, 1785
- Joseph Cotton, 1794
- David Crawley, 1773
- Matilda Daniel, 1842
- William Daniel, 1800
- Thomas Davis, 1764
- Rosanna Conner Faulcon, 1844
- William Fluellen, 1784
- Ambrose Foster, 1802
- Thomas Gardner, 1777
- William Green, 1760
- Robert Hall, 1796
- William Herbert, 1820
- John Knight, 1833
- Alexander McCulloch, 1798
- Barnaby McKinnie, 1761
- Barnaby McKinnie Jr., 1761
- Henry Medford, 1773
- Josiah Mohoon, 1772
- Hezekiah Morris, 1799
- Bethel Pair, 1804
- Harmon Read, 1767
- Read Wills Addendums
- Jesse Read, 1820
- Mary Read, 1781
- Rhesa Read, 1823
- James Sikes, 1779
- Lacy Simmons, 1789
- Joseph Wheeles (Whelas) 1761
- Joseph Wheeless, 1786
- Jacob Wyatt, 1761
Taxation
Vital Records
The Halifax County Register of Deeds has copies of land records starting from 1732. Marriage records are available since 1825. Birth & Death records are available since October 1913. Generally, it is more cost effective to obtain documents from the County offices for non-certified copies rather than the State Archives, so contact the Registry for availability & pricing.
Halifax County Register of Deeds
Court Services Building
P. O. Box 67
357 Ferrell Lane
Halifax, NC 27839
Tel: 259-583-2101
Access the Property Index Search on their website
There are copies of transcribed Vital Records at the following sites:
- Some Halifax County Marriage Licenses
- Cato Copeland/Nancy Mitchell Marriage Bond, 1778
- Halifax County Marriages 1867-1872
- Benjamin Richardson/Mary Bass Marriage Bond, 1783
- Elijah Bass/Mary Bass Marriage Bond, 1777
- Marriages from Halifax County NCGenWeb Archives
- Halifax County Obituaries Index
- Trinity Parish Register - contains marriages, baptisms, deaths starting from 1831
- 1851-1953 - Halifax County Marriage Books 1-13 Index 1851-1953 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[8]
Societies and Libraries
Halifax County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 447
Halifax, NC 27839
North Carolina Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 22
Greenville, NC 27835
Edgecombe County Genealogical Society
PO Box 656
Pinetops, North Carolina 27864
Tar River Connections Genealogical Society
P O Box 8764
Rocky Mount, N.C. 27804
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb Project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Halifax County NCGenWeb Project
- Halifax County USGenWeb Archives
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Halixfax County, North Carolina. Page 509 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:236, 475, 480, 483-484, 488. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ Morgan Edwards, Materials Towards a History of the Baptists in the Provinces of Maryland Virginia North Carolina South Carolina Georgia (1772). Digitized by SCDL Collections - free.
- ↑ "Trinity Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ Stuart Hall Smith and Claiborne T. Smith, Jr., The History of Trinity Parish and Edgecombe Parish (1955).
- ↑ "Eden Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 May 2013, at 15:43.
- This page has been accessed 5,159 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


