Fulton County, IllinoisEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Illinois
Fulton County
Guide to Fulton County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Coordinates: 40.48°0′N 90.21°0′W / 40.48°N 90.21°W
| Fulton County, Illinois | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Illinois | |
![]() Location of Illinois in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded: | January 28, 1823 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Lewiston |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives | |
| Address | Fulton County Courthouse 100 N. Main Lewistown, Illinois 61542 (309) 547-3041 Fulton County Website |
County Organization
Fulton County's civil records start the following years:
| | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1878 | 1824 | 1878 | 1830 | 1817 | 1827 |
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Fulton County are kept, see the Fulton County Courthouse page.
Historical Facts
Fulton County was named for Robert Fulton who is credited for developing the first success steamboat on American waters.Boundary Changes
- See an interactive map of Fulton County boundary changes.
Records and Resources
Biography
- The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Fulton County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Fulton County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.
Cemeteries
Published Records
- Baumgardner, Mary. Inscriptions from the Earliest Cemeteries in the Following Townships of Fulton County, Illinois: Bernadotte, Farmers, Pleasant, Vermont. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1970. FHL film 823664 Item 4
- Foster, Virgil R. McDonough, Fulton and Hancock Counties, Illinois Cemetery Listings, ca. 1793-1971. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1992. FHL film 1697610 Item 12
- Fulton County Historical and Genealogical Society. Cemetery Inscriptions of Fulton County, Illinois. Peoria, Illinois: [Fulton County Historical Society], c1971-. FHL book 977.348 V3f v. 1-19
Online Gravestone Transcriptions
- Fulton County ILGenWeb. See the Cemeteries tab for some general online cemetery resources and for a listing of Fulton County cemeteries and their locations.
- Find A Grave.com has burial information for nearly 200 Fulton County cemeteries. For a complete list of cemeteries, click Here.
- Billions Graves, gravestone pictures and tanscription.
- GenealogyTrails.com. Get maps, directions, and burial information for Fulton County Cemeteries.
- Illinois Ancestors Tombstone Project. Find or submit Fulton County tombstone photos.
- Illinois Tombstone Transcription Project. Get accesss to online cemetery transcriptions for several Fulton County Cemeteries.
- Interment.net has some Fulton County Cemetery Records available online.
- Linkpendium. Has links to several Fulton County Cemetery related websites.
Cemetery Gazetters
- Epodunk has a list of Fulton County Cemeteries. The website provides name of cemetery, address and telephone number when available, Google Map with cemetery marker, and other helpful Internet links.
- The Illinois State Genealogical Society's "Cemetery Location Project" has identified many Fulton County Cemeteries.
Census
For information and tips on accessing census records online, see Illinois Census.
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1900 | 46,201 | ||
| 1910 | 49,549 | 7.2% | |
| 1920 | 48,163 | −2.8% | |
| 1930 | 43,983 | −8.7% | |
| 1940 | 44,627 | 1.5% | |
| 1950 | 43,716 | −2.0% | |
| 1960 | 41,954 | −4.0% | |
| 1970 | 41,890 | −0.2% | |
| 1980 | 43,687 | 4.3% | |
| 1990 | 38,080 | −12.8% | |
| 2000 | 38,250 | 0.4% | |
| IL Counties 1900-1990 | |||
1840 Pensioners
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Fulton County on page 186.]
Church Records
Some additional resources for Fulton County, Illinois church records can be found in the WorldCat library which can be ordered through interlibrary loan at your local library. Explore how to search the Worldcat Online Catalog.
- 1876–1877 Church of Jesus Christ of Latter–day Saints record of members FHL film 1917 Item 1, book 977.348 K2c
Court Records
Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Fulton County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the WIU IRAD Wiki page.
Copies of original records
- 1824–1923 Chancery Court record (many probate and guardian records) FHL first film 1666580 Items 2-4, (first of 20 films) IRAD–WIU
- 1825–1876 Circuit court case files IRAD–WIU
- 1835–1926 Chancery Court records FHL first film 1672176 Item 4 (first of 11 films)
- 1835–1926 Circuit Court record, Common law IRAD–WIU
- 1849–1857 County Court - Swampland records FHL film 1688526 Item 1
- 1849–1917 County Court Record IRAD–WIU
- 1852–1914 Circuit court index IRAD–WIU
- 1853–1925 Circuit court extra-jurisdictional transcripts IRAD–WIU
- 1858–1961 Justice of the Peace Dockets IRAD–WIU
- 1859–1890 Justice's transcript record IRAD–WIU
- 1859–1925 County Court record FHL films 1672175 Items 2-3, and 1672176 Items 1-3
- 1869–1938 Circuit Court record, criminal IRAD–WIU
- 1871–1924 Circuit court case files, criminal IRAD–WIU
- 1872–1905 County Court Record, Criminal IRAD–WIU
- 1889–1957 Canton: City Court Record, Common Law IRAD–WIU
- 1893–1955 Insanity Dockets IRAD–WIU
- 1893–1923 Canton: City Court Record, Chancery IRAD–WIU
- 1898–1899 Parole Record IRAD–WIU FHL film 1672119 Item 3
- 1901–1932 County Court Index IRAD–WIU
- 1917–1934 Dependent and Delinquent Children Record IRAD–WIU
- 1935–1955 Insanity Record IRAD–WIU
- 1946–1958 Feeble-Minded Dockets IRAD–WIU
Circuit Court Case Files Index
Directories
- Prairie Farmers Reliable Directory. Illinois, USA: Prairie Farmers Publishing Company, 1917. Ancestry ($). Covers Fulton County.
Ethnic Research
African American
The following have information concerning African American research.
- African American Research (US) has more information about the kinds of records.
- Illinois State Archives pamphlet on African American Research describes what records are at the State Archives with an online method for ordering records.
- African-American Resources for Illinois
Genealogy
History
- The 1879 History of Fulton County, Illinois [2] gives an overview of the history of Fulton County as of that date, and includes biographies and a few photos of prominent citizens. See FamilySearch Books Online;WorldCat 20920558; book.google.com; or Ancestry ($); or Internet Archive; or Genealogy Trails
- Portrait and Biographical Album of Fulton County, Illinois: Containing Full Page Portraits and Biographical Sketches of Prominent and Representative Citizens of the County: Together with Portraits and Biographies of All the Presidents of the United States, and Governors of the State. Chicago: Biographical Pub. Co., 1890. Digital versions at Ancestry ($); Genealogy Trails; Internet Archive.
- Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Fulton County. Chicago: Munsell Pub. Co., 1908, c1905. Digital version at Ancestry ($)
Land and Property
Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online sources, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Fulton County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the WIU IRAD Wiki page.
Abstracts
- Boyd, Gregory A. Family maps of Fulton County, Illinois: with homesteads, roads, waterways, towns, cemeteries, railroads, and more. Norman, Oklahoma: Arphax Pub. Co., 2008.Other libraries (WorldCat) FHL book 977.348 E7b
Copies of original records
- 1817–1860 Deed Record IRAD–WIU
- 1834–1894 Index to town lots FHL film 1787436 Items 2-9
- 1849–1857 County Court - Swampland records FHL film 1688526 Item 1
- 1851–1875 Chattel mortgage records FHL films 1787437 Items 2-4 thru 1787440 Item 1
- 1851–1910 Chattel Mortgage Record IRAD–WIU
- 1853–1857 Swamp Land Record IRAD–WIU
- 1858–1881 Chattel Mortgage Index IRAD–WIU
- 1873–1881 Index to Chattel mortgage records FHL film 1787437 Items 2-4
- 1917–1936 Chattel Mortgage Dockets IRAD–WIU
Online Resources
- Beginning 1820 Land Patent Search See Illinois Land and Property for more information about this database.
- Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales Database
- 1796–1907 U.S. General Land Office Records found at Ancestry.com ($)
- Illinois Public Land Purchase Records This record extract includes over 538,000 land sales from the 19th Century. Each entry includes the purchaser's name, purchase date, number of acres, price per acre, and in some cases the purchaser's sex and residence. Available at www.ancestry.com ($)
- Fulton County Federal Township Plats
Additional Resources
Additional resources for Fulton County land and property may be found in the FHLC. Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
Maps
Military
General
- 1862–1865 Military Discharge CertificatesIRAD–WIU
Civil War
Civil War service men from Fulton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Fulton County.
- - 3rd Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company H.
- - 7th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company K.
- - 11th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Companies B and G.
- - 17th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies C and H.
- - 28th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.
- - 50th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company F.
- - 55th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A and D.
- - 70th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- - 72nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I.
- - 84th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B and F.
- - 85th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, F, G, H and I.
- - 97th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- - 103rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, all Companies.
- - 123rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I.
- - 132nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies B, D, and E.
- - 148th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- - 151st Regiment, Illinois Infantry (1 year, 1865), Companies B, D, and K.
Naturalization
Original naturalization records are held in the office of the County Clerk. See Illinois Naturalization Records for more information about using naturalization records.
The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Fulton County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the WIU IRAD Wiki page.
- 1839–1952 Naturalization Certificate Card File IRAD–WIU
- 1855–1906 Naturalization Papers IRAD–WIU
- 1859–1892 Naturalization Record, Final IRAD–WIU
- 1859–1892 Naturalization Index Card File IRAD–WIU
- 1859–1954 Naturalization Record Index IRAD–WIU
- 1860–1905 Naturalization Index Card File IRAD–WIU
- 1860–1906 Naturalization Record IRAD–WIU
- 1865–1885 Naturalization Record of Soldiers and Minors IRAD–WIU
- 1892–1906 Canton: Naturalization Record IRAD–WIU
- 1894–1943 Canton: Naturalization Declarations of Intent IRAD–WIU
- 1906–1948 Naturalization Declarations of Intent IRAD–WIU
- 1907–1947 Canton: Naturalization Petition Record IRAD–WIU
- 1907–1954 Naturalization petition record IRAD–WIU
- 1908–1947 Naturalization Certificate Stubs IRAD–WIU
- 1910–1947 Naturalization Correspondence Files IRAD–WIU
- 1929–1955 Naturalization Order Books IRAD–WIU
- 1929–1947 Canton: Naturalization Order Books IRAD–WIU
Newspapers and Obituaries
Periodicals
Poor House records
Probate Records
Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Fulton County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the WIU IRAD Wiki page.
Abstracts
- 1821–1963 Fulton County Historical and Genealogical Society. Index to the wills of Fulton County, Illinois, 1821–1963. [Canton, Illinois]: Fulton County Historical and Genealogical Society (Illinois), 1993. Other libraries (WorldCat) FHL book 977.348 P22i
Copies of original records
- 1824–1923 Chancery Court record (many probate and guardian records) FHL first film 1666580 Items 2-4, (first of 20 films)
- 1827–1933 Probate Record IRAD–WIU
- 1827–1922 Probate Case Files IRAD–WIU
- 1827–1963 Probate Case Files Index IRAD–WIU
- 1827–1933 Probate, will, guardian, and conservator records FHL first film 1651444 (first of 41 films
- 1828–1924 Probate Will Record IRAD–WIU
- 1830–1922 Estate packets index FHL book 977.348 P22i and films 1672117 Items 1-2 and FHL US/CAN Film 1672186 Item 3
- 1830–1922 Estate packets FHL book 977.348 P22i and first film 1672187 (first of 212 films)
- 1837–1922 Probate Case Files, Guardians IRAD–WIU
- 1837–1991 Probate Guardian's and Conservator's Case Files Index IRAD–WIU
- 1843–1923 Probate Inventory Record IRAD–WIU
- 1844–1923 Guardian and conservator index and packets {FHL|452479|item|disp=FHL first film 1769382 Item 2(first of 60 films)}}
- 1855–1922 Probate Conservator's Case Files IRAD–WIU
- 1859–1923 Probate Executor's Record IRAD–WIU
- 1859–1926 Probate Guardian's Record IRAD–WIU
- 1859–1924 Probate Administrator's Record IRAD–WIU
- 1870–1934 Insanity and Conservator's Record IRAD–WIU
- 1872–1923 Probate Guardian's Report Record IRAD–WIU
- 1894–1934 Probate Widow's Relinquishment and Selection Record IRAD–WIU
- 1902–1904 Probate Minutes IRAD–WIU
Repositories
County Courthouse
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Fulton County are kept, see the Fulton County Courthouse page.
Family History Center
There are over 4500 Introduction to LDS Family History Centers in more than 80 countries offering public access to genealogical records from all over the world. Family History Centers provide patrons with access to over a billion online records and approximately 2.5 million circulating microfilms. Centers are staffed by local volunteers who are eager to provide genealogical research assistance. Currently there are no Family History Centers located directly in Fulton County. To find the nearest Family History Center, check out the Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Family Search Centers page on the FamilySearch.org website.
Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD-WIU)
IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Western Illinois University houses the records for Fulton County.
Public Libraries
Astoria Public Library District
220 West Broadway
Astoria, IL 61501
Tel: 309-329-2423
Fax: 309-329-2842
Email: astorlib@atorial.net
Farmington Area Public Library District
266 E. Fort Street
Farmington, IL 61531
Tel: 309-245-2175
Fax: 309-245-2294
Lewistown Carnegie Public Library District
321 W. Lincoln Avenue
Lewistown, IL 61542
Tel: 309-547-2860
Parlin Ingersoll Library
205 W. Chestnut Street
Canton, IL 61520
Tel: 309-647-0328
Fax: 309-647-8117
Email: parlin@parliningersoll.org
Spoon River Public Library District
201 South Third Street
Cuba, IL 61427
Tel: 309-785-5496
Vermont Public Library
East 4th & Main Streets
Vermont, IL 61484
Tel: 309-784-6291
Village of Avon Public Library
105 S. Main
Avon, IL 61415
Tel: 309-465-3933
Viola Public Library District
1705 14th St.
Viola, IL 61486
Tel: 309-596-2620
Fax: 309-596-2822
Facebook
School records
- 1914–1928 School teacher's daily registers IRAD–WIU
Social Groups Online
Societies
Fulton County Historical and Genealogical Society
205 West Chestnut Street
Canton, IL 61520-583
The Fulton County Historical and Genealogical Society collection is housed at the Parlin-Ingersoll Library.
Taxation
Vital Records
See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois.
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Fulton County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by theIllinois Department of Public Health. with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Fulton County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.
Births
- 1902–1906 Birth and Death Reporting Accounts IRAD–WIU
Marriages
Online Resources
- 1763-1900 Illinois Statewide Marriage Index, 1763-1900
- 1790–1860 Illinois Marriage index found at Ancestry.com ($)
Abstracts of Marriage Records
- 1824–1961 Johnson, Marion C., Geraldine Mayhugh, Virginia O. (Whitmore) Johnson, and Linda L. (Johnson) Pollard. Marriages, Fulton County, Illinois. [Canton, Illinois]: Fulton County Historical and Genealogical Society (Illinois), 1989-2000, 2003-2004. FHL first book 977.348 V2j 1824–1861 (first of 8 books)
- 1829–1911 Foster, Virgil R. and Bob Harding. Fulton County, Illinois marriages, ca. 1829-1911. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1992. FHL film 1697600 Item 4
Deaths
Online Resources
- 1916-1950 Database of Illinois Death Certificates, 1916-1950
- Pre-1916 Illinois Statewide Death Index, Pre-1916
- 1850–1885 U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885 found at Ancestry.com (free). Also transcribed and available at genealogytrails.com.
Abstracts of Death Records
- 1832–1976 Foster, Virgil, R. Fulton County, Illinois (with emphasis on Vermont, Illinois) funeral notices, ca. 1832-1976. Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1991. FHL film 1597902 Item 6
Copies of original Death Records
Additional Resources
Additional resources for Fulton births, marriages and deaths may be found in the Illinois, Fulton – Vital Records topic page of the Family History Library catalog (FHLC). Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
Voter Registration
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Fulton Illinois Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Illinois Ancestors Presents Fulton County
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.; Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002 WorldCat 50140092, FHL Book 973 D27e 2002
- ↑ History of Fulton County, Illinois: together with sketches of its cities, villages and townships, educational, religious, civil, military, and political history, portraits of prominent persons and biographies of representative citizens : history of Illinois, embracing accounts of the pre-historic races, aborigines, French, English and American conquests, and a general review of its civil, political and military history, digest of state laws, C.C. Chapman and Co., J.W. Franks and Sons, Peoria, Illinois, 1879
| |||||||||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2013, at 19:13.
- This page has been accessed 5,322 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



