Fremont County, WyomingEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Fremont County Wyoming genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Fremont County, Wyoming|
Location of Wyoming in the U.S.
|Founded||March 5, 1884|
|Address|| Fremont County Courthouse|
450 N 2nd Street
Lander, WY 82520
Fremont County Website
|Beginning dates for major county records|
|* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries|
- Parent County: created 5 March 1884 from Sweetwater county
- County seat: Lander 
- Neighboring Counties: Carbon | [[[Hot Springs County, Wyoming|Hot Springs]] | Natrona | Park | Sublette | Sweetwater | Teton | Washakie
Boundaries have been not changed since 1921.
For tips on accessing Fremont County, Wyoming census records online, see: Wyoming Census.
LDS Ward and Branch Records
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Land and Property
Early migration routes to and from Fremont County, Wyoming for European and African American settlers included:
Naturalization and Citizenship
The bulk of the probate case files from the 1880's to the 1940's have been transferred to the Wyoming State Archives in Cheyenne. Check their website for additional details.
County clerk has marriage and land records from 1884, burial and military records.
Clerk of the District Court has divorce, probate and court records.
Family History Centers
Fremont County has birth records beginning 1884.
The State of Wyoming did not begin gathering birth records until 1909.
- Western States Marriage Index over 477 marriages 23 Jul 1867 to 31 Jan 1904
|Atlantic City||Fort Washakie||Madden||Saint Stephens|
|Boulder Flats||Jeffrey City||Milford||Shoshoni|
|Boysen||Johnstown||Moneta||South Pass City|
|Crowheart||Lander||Myersville (hist.)||Wind River|
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map III" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap3.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 766. Fremont County, Wyoming
- This page was last modified on 28 April 2013, at 02:32.
- This page has been accessed 1,583 times.