El Dorado County, CaliforniaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
California
El Dorado County
Guide to El Dorado County California genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| El Dorado County, California | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of California | |
![]() Location of California in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 18, 1850 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Placerville |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | El Dorado County Courthouse ; 360 Fair Ln; Placerville, CA 95667; Phone 530.621.5490 El Dorado County Website |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records
County Recorder has birth, marriage, death burial, land and military records Historical Facts[1]
Parent County
18 February 1850: El Dorado County was created ;as an original county. County seat: Placerville [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
PLACERVILLE, CAL., FIRE.
Placerville, Cal., May 16. -- Fire which broke out in a barn in the center of town last night, destroyed the courthouse, and several business houses, entailing a loss of about $100,000.
The Ogden Standard Utah 1910-05-16
source: gendisasters.com
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Alpine | Amador | Placer | Sacramento | Douglas County, Nevada
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing El Dorado County, California census records online, see: California Census.
Church History and Records
Court Records
Crime and Criminals
Directories
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Germans
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from El Dorado County, California for emigrant settlers included:[3][4]
- California Trail 1844 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California
- Carson (River) Trail 1848 (aka Mormon Emigrant Trail) crossed the Forty Mile Desert past the west side of the Carson Sink to pick up the Carson River near Fallon, Nevada up to Hope Valley and Red Lake. The Devil's Ladder then climbed 700 feet (210 m) in half a mile so ropes, chains, and pulleys were required to lift the wagons. Carson Pass was followed by the relatively easy West Pass (Kirkwood, California) and then on to Pollock Pines, Placerville, and Sutter's Fort, California
- Johnson's Cutoff 1850-1851 (aka Placerville Route, Lake Tahoe Route and Day's Route) from Carson City, Nevada past the south end of Lake Tahoe going south and then west to Placerville, California and Sacramento
- Daggett Pass 1850 (aka Georgetown Pack Trail) Carson Valley, Nevada to Johnson's Cutoff near South Lake Tahoe, California
- Grizzly Flat Road 1852 an extension of Carson Trail down the middle fork of the Consumnes River to Grizzly Flat and Placerville, California
- Volcano Road 1852 from Coral Flat (Pioneer) on the Carson Trail to Volcano, California
- Luther Pass Trail 1854 connected the Carson Trail and Johnson's Cutoff and allowed travelers to avoid Lake Tahoe. It became one of the routes to the Comstock Lode in Nevada
Military History and Records
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate Records
Repositories
Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- El Dorado California Family History Center
- Pacerville, California
- South Lake Tahoe California Family History Center
- South Lake Tahoe, California
Societies
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
For marriages from 1850-1875
Western States Marriage Index.
Divorce
Death
Voting Registers
Websites
- El Dorado County CAGenWeb
- Linkpendium
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives backup site
- FamilySearch Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), El Dorado County, California. Page 84 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 5 August 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "California Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Trail (accessed 5 August 2012).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 25 April 2013, at 00:54.
- This page has been accessed 2,616 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

