Del Norte County, CaliforniaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
California
Del Norte County
Guide to Del Norte County California genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Del Norte County, California | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of California | |
![]() Location of California in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | March 2, 1857 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Crescent City |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Del Norte County Courthouse] 981 H St; Crescent City, CA 95531; Phone 707.464.7204 Del Norte County Website |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records from 1848;
County recorder has birth, marriage and death records from 1873,
land records from 1853, leases andagreements 1857-1954[1]
Historical Facts
Parent County
2 March 1857: Del Norte County was created from former Klamath County.
County seat: Crescent City [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
18 January 1948: Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Del Norte County, California census records online, see: California Census.
Church History and Records
Court Records
Crime and Criminals
Directories
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Germans
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Maps
Military History and Records
Migration
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate Records
Repositories
Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers
Societies
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
Many early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.
Divorce
Death
Voting Registers
HEADINGS 4 and 5
Web Sites
- Del Norte County CAGenWeb
- Linkpendium
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives backup site
- FamilySearch Family History Library Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Del Norte County, California. Page 84 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 25 April 2013, at 00:53.
- This page has been accessed 1,636 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

