Davidson County, North CarolinaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
North Carolina
Davidson County
Guide to Davidson County North Carolina genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Davidson County, North Carolina | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of North Carolina | |||||||||
![]() Location of North Carolina in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | 1822 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Lexington | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
County Courthouse
Davidson County Courthouse
P O Box 464
Lexington, NC 27293
Phone: 336-242-2150
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and burial
land records from 1823
Clerk Superio Court has divorce
probate and court records from 1823[1]
History
Parent County
1822--Davidson County was created 9 December 1822 from Rowan County.
County seat: Lexington [2]
Record Loss
1866--Courthouse fire may have destroyed some records.
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Spring Hill Cemetery, Nashville BillionGraves
Census
For tips on accessing Davidson County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
Church Records
Baptist
- Abbott's Creek. Established 1753.[3][4] Originally located in Rowan County.
- Lick Creek. Established 1787.[4]
German Reformed
- Beck's Church, near Lexington, N.C. Established about 1765.[5]
- Beulah (Sauers) Reformed Church. Established 1788.[6]
- Pilgrim Church, near Lexington, N.C. Also known as Leonhardt's (Leonard's) Church. Established about 1757.[7] Originally located in Rowan County. Baptisms from 1757-1845 are included in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[8]
There was a German Reformed and Lutheran Church in Bethany.[9]
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Civil War
Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
Newspapers
The Davidson County Public Library offers the following obituary indexes:
Probate
- 1823-1963 - Will Books (1823-1963) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
Taxation
Vital Records
Marriages
- 1822-1893 - Davidson County Marriage Index 1822-1893 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[8]
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
North Carolina Davidson County Vital Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Davidson County, NCGenWeb - free genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb Project
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Davidson County, North Carolina. Page 508 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:290-292. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 "Davidson County, North Carolina," Carolana, http://www.carolana.com/NC/Counties/davidson_county_nc.html, accessed 23 October 2012.
- ↑ "Davidson County, North Carolina," Carolana, http://www.carolana.com/NC/Counties/davidson_county_nc.html, accessed 23 October 2012.
- ↑ "Davidson County, North Carolina," Carolana, http://www.carolana.com/NC/Counties/davidson_county_nc.html, accessed 23 October 2012.
- ↑ "Pilgrim Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012; "Davidson County, North Carolina," Carolana, http://www.carolana.com/NC/Counties/davidson_county_nc.html, accessed 23 October 2012.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.
- ↑ "Davidson County, North Carolina," Carolana, http://www.carolana.com/NC/Counties/davidson_county_nc.html, accessed 23 October 2012.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 May 2013, at 15:09.
- This page has been accessed 2,503 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


