Cilie-Aeron, CardiganshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Wales Gotoarrow.png Cardiganshire Gotoarrow.png Cardiganshire Parishes Gotoarrow.pngCilie-Aeron


Contents

History

"CILIAU-AËRON, a parish in the lower division of the hundred of ILAR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 10 1/2 Miles (N. W.) from Lampeter, containing 344 inhabitants. This parish is situated on the river Aëron by which it is bounded on the north-east, and from which it derives the adjunct to its name. The living is a discharged rectory, in the archdeaconry of Cardigan, and diocese of St.David's, rated in the king's books at £5, endowed with £400 royal bounty, and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The church. dedicated to St. Michael, is a small edifice, consisting of a nave and chancel. There is a place of worship for Presbyterians..." [From Samuel Lewis's A Topographical Dictionary of Wales 1833] For more information see Ciliau Aeron at genuki.org.uk


Records


Civil Registration


Church Records


Census Records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464302. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.


Probate Records


Maps and Gazetteers


Web Sites



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 April 2013, at 18:07.
  • This page has been accessed 71 times.