Calaveras County, CaliforniaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
California
Calaveras County
Guide to Calaveras County California genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Calaveras County, North Dakota | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of North Dakota | |
![]() Location of North Dakota in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 18, 1850 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | San Andreas |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Calaveras County Courthouse; 891 Mountain Ranch Rd; San Andreas, CA 95249 Phone: 209.754.6376 Calaveras County Website |
County Courthouse
County Recorder has birth records from 1860, marriage, death and divorce records from 1882, probate and court records from 1866, land records from 1852 & mining claims from 1850[1]
Historical Facts
Parent County
18 February 1850: Calaveras County was created as an original county. County seat: San Andreas [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Cemeteries
- Find-a-Grave
- Billion Graves
- Calaveras County Tombstone Inscription Project
- Cyndi's List California Cemeteries and Funeral Homes
- Veterans Burial Locations
Census
For tips on accessing Calaveras County, California census records online, see: California Census.
Church History and Records
Court Records
Crime and Criminals
Directories
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Germans
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Calaveras County, California for emigrant settlers included:[3][4]
- California Trail 1844 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California
- Carson (River) Trail 1848 (aka Mormon Emigrant Trail) crossed the Forty Mile Desert past the west side of the Carson Sink to pick up the Carson River near Fallon, Nevada up to Hope Valley and Red Lake. The Devil's Ladder then climbed 700 feet (210 m) in half a mile so ropes, chains, and pulleys were required to lift the wagons. Carson Pass was followed by the relatively easy West Pass (Kirkwood, California) and then on to Pollock Pines, Placerville, and Sutter's Fort, California
- Big Tree Road (Ebbetts Pass) 1851 from western Nevada to Markleeville, Murphys, and Stockton, California
Military History and Records
Naturalization and Citizenship
- California Northern U.S. District Court Naturalization Index, 1852-1989
- California San Diego Naturalization Index, 1868-1958
- California Southern District Court (Central) Naturalization Index, 1915-1976
Newspapers
Obituaries
Passenger Records
- California, Los Angeles Passenger Lists, 1907-1948
- California, San Francisco Passenger Lists, 1893-1953
Periodicals
Probate Records
Repositories
Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers
Societies
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
- California Birth Index, 1905-1995
- California Births and Christenings, 1812-1988
- California Marriages, 1850-1945
Marriage
- Marriages from 1854-1877
Western States Marriage Index - California Marriage Index, 1960-1985
- California County Marriages, 1850-1952
Divorce
Death
- California Death Index, 1905-1939
- California Death Index, 1940-1997
- California, San Francisco Area Funeral Home Records, 1835-1931
Voting Registers
Web Sites
- Calaveras County CAGenWeb
- Linkpendium
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives backup site
- FamilySearch Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Calaveras County, California. Page 84 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 5 August 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "California Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Trail (accessed 5 August 2012).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 5 April 2013, at 22:15.
- This page has been accessed 2,512 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

