Burke County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Georgia
Burke County
Guide to Burke County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Burke County, Georgia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of [[Georgia]] | |
![]() Location of Georgia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 5, 1777 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Waynesboro |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Burke County Courthouse 111 E 6th Street PO Box 89 Waynesboro, GA 30830 Phone: 706.554.2324 Burke County Website |
Contents |
Burke County Georgia Courthouse
Probate Court has birth and death records from 1927,
marriage and probate records from 1856[1]
Burke County Georgia History
Local histories are available for Burke County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Parent County
1777--Burke County was created 5 February 1777 from St. George Parish. County seat: Waynesboro [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1825 and 1856 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
Burke County Georgia Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
- Aiken County, South Carolina
- Allendale County, South Carolina
- Barnwell County, South Carolina
- Emanuel
- Jefferson
- Jenkins
- Richmond
- Screven
Burke County Georgia Genealogy Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Civil War
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Burke County.
- December 4, 1864 = Waynesborough[3]
- Map showing Civil War battles in Georgia.
Newspapers
Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Burke County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog. Do a Place search for Burke County, Georgia to find these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
- Burke County, Georgia Wills Index at GAGenWeb - free.
- Burke County, Georgia Wills 1855-1858 (Digital Images) Georgia Pioneers
- Burke County, Georgia Miscellaneous Wills and Estates Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Burke County Annual Returns 1859-1868 Georgia Pioneers
- Burke County, Georgia Wills Index at GAGenWeb - free.
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
1798 Burke County Slaveholders, First and Second Districts Georgia Pioneers
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Marriage
- 1855-1871 - Burke County Marriage Books 1 and 2 Index 1855-1871. Batch M712261 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1872-1876 - Burke County Marriage Book 3 Index 1872-1876. Batch M712262 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1877-1878 - Burke County Marriage Index 1877-1878. Batch M712263 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1877-1895 - Burke County Marriage Books 5 and 6 Index 1877-1895. Batch M712265 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1878-1879 - Burke County Marriage Index 1878-1879. Batch M712264 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1889-1900 - Burke County Marriage Books 7 and 8 Index 1889-1900. Batch M712266 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death
- 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 - Burke County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Burke County Georgia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Burke County Georgia Genealogy Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Burke County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers
Burke County Georgia Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Burke County, Georgia. Page 152 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
| This Georgia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 22 May 2013, at 03:08.
- This page has been accessed 1,990 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

