Bryngwyn, CardiganshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Wales
Cardiganshire
Cardiganshire Parishes
Bryngwyn
Contents |
History
Alternately spelled Bron-Gwyn. "BRONGWYN (BRYN-GWYN), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of TROEDYRAUR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 1 1/2 mile (N. N. W.) from Newcastle-Emlyn, on the road from Llanbedr, through Atpar, to Cardigan, containing 396 inhabitants. This parish, the name of which implies the White Mount, is pleasantly situated near the beautiful vale of Teivy, of which, in some places, it commands a fine prospect. Abercery, the property of T. Parry Thomas, Esq., is a neat modern villa, beautifully situated, and commanding one of the finest reaches of the Vale of Teivy, including the straggling town of Newcastle-Emlyn, with the venerable ruins of its ancient castle, and much richly varied scenery. The parish is enclosed, and the land in a good state of cultivation and tolerably productive. The living is a perpetual curacy, annexed, with that of Bettws-Evan, to the vicarage of Penbryn in the archdeaconry of Cardigan, and diocese of St. David's. The church is dedicated to St. Mary. There is a place of worship for Independents. Near the church is a very strong intrenchment, called the Gaer, a name common to fortifications of this description, of which there are many in this part of the principality. The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor amounts to £ 130.15." [From Samuel Lewis's A Topographical Dictionary of Wales 1833] For further information see Bron-Gwyn, Cardiganshire at genuki.org.uk
Records
Civil Registration
Church Records
Census Records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464305. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Probate Records
Maps and Gazetteers
Web Sites
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 16 April 2013, at 18:38.
- This page has been accessed 64 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More