Brunswick County, North CarolinaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
North Carolina
Brunswick County
Guide to Brunswick County North Carolina genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Brunswick County, North Carolina | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of North Carolina | |||||||||
![]() Location of North Carolina in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | 1764 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Bolivia | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents
|
County Courthouse
| | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
Brunswick County North Carolina
P O Box 87
Bolivia, NC 2842-0249
Phone: 910-253-2690
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death, burial & land records
Clerk Superior Court has divorce recordes from 1900,
probat records from 1858 and court records from 1882[1]
History
Parent County
1764--Brunswick County was created 30 January 1764 from New Hanover and Bladen Counties. County seat: Bolivia [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1865--Many court records were destroyed by Federal Troops.
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Brunswick County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
Church Records
Baptist
Church of England
- St. Philip's Church. Built 1740s. Destroyed in the Revolutionary War.[4]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Shallotte Ward
- Leland Ward
- Ash Branch (Historical)
Court
Genealogy
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
Bibliography
- [Lewis] Lewis, J.D. My Neck of the Woods: The Lewis Families of Southeastern North Carolina and Northeastern South Carolina. Little River, S.C.: J.D. Lewis, 2002. FHL Book 929.273 L585Ljd; CD-ROM no. 1036
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Brunswick County for European settlers included:[5]
- Atlantic Ocean 1670
- King's Highway about 1704
- Secondary Coast Road late 1730s
Military
Civil War
Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
Newspapers
Probate
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Brunswick County, North Carolina Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1764-1963 - Will Books A to D (1764-1963) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
- 1914-1963 - Brunswick County Marriage Books 1-2 Index 1914-1963 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[6]
Marriage
- Pre-1799 - North Carolina Marriages to 1799, a database, available to members North Carolina Pioneers
- 1804-1974 - Brunswick County Marriage Index 1804-1974 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[6]
- 1811-1868 - Brunswick County Marriages 1811-1868 North Carolina Pioneers
- 1850-1904 - Brunswick County Marriages from 1850 to 1904 at USGenWeb - free.
Yearbooks
- Brunswick County students at NC colleges - list via the NCGenWeb Yearbook Index
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- NCGenWeb: Brunswick County - free genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb Project
- Family History Library Catalog
- North Carolina Pioneers {http://www.northcarolinapioneers.com North Carolina Pioneers]
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Brunswick County, North Carolina p. 506. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 (1808), Chapter 16. Digital version at St Paul's Seminary website; George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:324-325, 491. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ Lawrence Foushee London and Sarah McCulloh Lemmon, The Episcopal Church in North Carolina, 1701-1959 (Raleigh, N.C.: The Episcopal Diocese of North Carolina, 1987), 20. FHL Book 975.6 K2e; "St. Philips Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 May 2013, at 14:35.
- This page has been accessed 2,057 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


