York Minster, YorkshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Yorkshire
Yorkshire Parishes, S-Y
East Riding of Yorkshire
Contents |
Parish History
York Cathedral is the seat of the Diocese of York. It is located in the county of Yorkshire.[1]
YORK, a city and county of itself, having exclusive jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the E. riding of York, of which it is the capital, 193 miles (N. N. W.) from London; containing 28,842 inhabitants. This link provides a listing of Parishes in the city.[2]
York Cathedral, or otherwise known as York Minster, from ancient times (1136 A.D.) is known as St Peter registers commence from 1634-onward. Within the city proper--and within St Peter's boundaries, are the following ecclesiastical parishes and chapels by about 1870:
- All Saints, North-Street - 1574
- All Saints, Pavement - 1554
- All Saints in Peaseholm - demolished in 1586
- Holy Trinity, or Christ-church, King's-ct - 1616
- Holy Trinity, Micklegate - 1586
- Holy Trinity, Goodramgate - 1573
- St. Andrew - demolished in 1586; see also St Saviour
- St. Aidan -
- St. Crux - 1539
- St. Cuthbert - 1581 - FHL has Bts only from 1598
- St. Denis in Walmgate - 1558
- St. George - closed by 1644; see St Dennis
- St. Giles - 1586 united to St Olave
- St. Gregory - united to St Martin on Micklegate 1586
- St. Helen on the Walls - in 1549, united to St Cuthbert
- St. Helen Fishergate - united with St Lawrence 1586
- St. Helen, Stonegate - 1568
- St. John Hungate - closed by 1586
- St. John at Ousebridge-end - 1570
- St. John Delpike - united with that of Holy Trinity, Goodramgate in 17th C.
- St. Lawrence - 1606
- St. Maurice without Monkbar - 1626
- St. Margaret, Walmgate - 1578
- St. Martin, Coney-street - 1557
- St. Martin, Micklegate - 1539
- St. Mary Bishopshill Senior - 1598
- St. Mary Bishopshill Junior - 1602
- St. Mary, Castlegate - 1604
- St. Michael-le-Belfry - 1565
- St. Michael, Spurrier-gate, or Ouse-bridge - 1598
- St. Nicholas - 1600 - chapel to St Nicholas Hospital; closed by 1644
- St. Olave - 1538
- St. Paul - 1852 - see also St Mary Bishophill Senior
- St. Peter-le-Willows - see St Margaret, Walmgate
- St. Peter the Little - dissolved by 1549; united 1586 to All Saints Pavement
- St. Sampson - 1626
- St. Saviour - 1567
- St Stephen - closed by 1600
- St Thomas - 1855
- St. Thomas, the Archbishop of York -
- St. Wilfred - closed in 1585
- Acaster Melbis - 1631
- Acomb - 1634 - incorporated into the City of York by 1663; see also St Mary Bishophill-Senior, Holy Trinity Micklegate
- Clifton - 1867 - see also St Olave, Marygate
- Copmanthorpe - 1759 - see also St Mary Bishophill Junior
- Dringhouses - 1824 - also St. Mary-Bishophill-Senior, Holy Trinity-Micklegate, and Acomb parishes
- Heworth - 1869
- Naburn - 1653; was annexed to the rectory of St Dennis, York (City), which see
- Upper Poppleton - 1846
- Wells Hospital -
Noconformist places of worship as of 1870 included the following:
- Independents - 2 (chapels)
- Quakers 1 (chapel)
- Unitarians 1 (chapel)
- Wesleyan Methodist 4 (chapels)
- Primitive Methodist 3
- Wesleyan Association 1
- Wesleyan Reformers 2
- New Church 1
- Baptists 1
- New Connexion Methodist 2
- United Free Methodist 2
- Roman Catholic 4
Resources
Civil Registration
Records from York Registration District held at York are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.
Marriages include
- Church of England marriages.
- Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
- Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.
A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these . There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index
Church records
(Being modified)
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1603.
Online Records
York Cathedral (parish) registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundary have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk | |||||
| LBMD = Lancashire BMD.org.uk | |||||
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk | |||||
| FREG = FreeReg |
The ancient parish of Wigan All Saints has numerous additional chapelries including Abram subdividing its boundaries, which see.
| YORK CATHEDRAL (1634) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| YBMD | 1830 | 10 | 11 | ||
| FMP | None | 157 | None | ||
| AC | 158 | 158 | 125 | ||
| FREG | 155 | 15 | 126 | ||
| Chapelry (1871) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 181 | 18-17 | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 18830 | None | ||
| Chapelry (1854) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | 165 | None | ||
| LOPC | None | 184 | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 18-50 | None | ||
| Chapelry (1841) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 184 | 69 | None | ||
| LOPC | 183 | 185 | 1841 | ||
| LBMD | None | 184 | None | ||
| Chapelry (1854) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | 185 | None | ||
| LOPC | None | 185 | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 180 | None | ||
| Chapelry (1878) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | |||
| LOPC | 1878-1946 | 121 | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 187 | None | ||
| Chapelry (1852) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | ||||
| LOPC | |||||
| LBMD | None | 1950 | None | ||
| Chapelry (1838) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 131 | 181 | 181 | ||
| LOPC | 131 | 181 | 181 | ||
| LBMD | None | 180 | None | ||
| Chapelry (1696) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 169 | 176 | None | ||
| LOPC | 169 | 19-12 | 16 | ||
| LBMD | 198 | None | 19 | ||
| AC | 12 | 16- | 169 | ||
| Chapelry (1833) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LOPC | 1833-1912 | 1834-1936 | 1834-1915 | ||
| LBMD | None | 1837-1951 | None | ||
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464294. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
References
- ↑ http://maps.familysearch.org/
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 719-742.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 23 March 2013, at 17:55.
- This page has been accessed 448 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More