Yakima County, WashingtonEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Yakima County Washington genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Yakima County, Washington|
Location in the state of Washington
Location of Washington in the U.S.
|Founded||January 21, 1865|
|Address|| Yakima County Courthouse|
128 N 2nd Street
Yakima, WA 98901
Yakima County Website
|Beginning dates for major county records|
|* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries|
- Parent County: created 21 January 1865 from Walla Walla
- County Seat: Yakima 
- Neighboring Counties: Benton | Grant | King | Kittitas | Klickitat | Lewis | Pierce | Skamania
- 1890 Veterans
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
The Yakama Indian Reservation is located primarily in Yakima County, with a small portion in Klickitat County.
Land and Property
Some military records for this county have been digitized at the Washington State Digital Archives.
Naturalization and Citizenship
The Yakima Valley Genealogical Society has a massive collection of obituaries starting from 1860 on, from counties in and around Yakima. They are in the process of putting this collection online. For now, contact the Society at 509-248-1328 or email@example.com. They have researchers who are willing to do lookups from this collection.
Yakima County Courthouse
128 N 2nd Street
Yakima, WA 98901
County Auditor has birth and death records 1891-1907,
marriage records from 1880 and land records;
County clerk has probate, divorce and court records from 1881.
Family History Centers
Yakima Valley Genealogical Society
- Yakima Valley Genealogical Society This society has a collection of over 18,000 records and books, including a massive obituary collection starting in 1860 for areas in and around Yakima County. Local librarians are willing to help with research and will look up information from their various collections. The site contains a catalog of all their holdings. Contact them by clicking on Contact Us or calling 509-248-1328, email firstname.lastname@example.org. This Society is located at 1901 South 12th Avenue, Union Gap, Yakima, Washington 98903.
- Gerald Shephard - current librarian
- Sue Ericksen - Treasurer and President of the Washington State Genealogical Society
- Judy Schuster - researcher
LIBRARY HOURS: The library is open from 10:00am to 4:00pm Monday-Saturday. The library is closed on Saturdays in November, December and January; January 1st, Memorial Day, 4th of July, Labor Day,Thanksgiving and December 24-25. The library can be opened during closed hours by appointment. Please call several days ahead to make arrangements.
- Washington Death Certificates 1907-1960 A free internet index to the 1907-1960 death certificates can be found at FamilySearch Record Search, no images are available. A transcribed death certificate may contain such information as name of the deceased, date and place of death, age, gender, birth date and birth place, mother’s maiden name and name of spouse, place of residence, occupation and certificate numbers.
Yakima County Washington Genealogy References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 3 May 2013, at 21:04.
- This page has been accessed 2,045 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More