Wistaston, CheshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Contents |
Parish History
WISTASTON (St. Mary), is a parish, in the union and hundred of Nantwich, South division of the county of Chester, 2½ miles (N. E. by E.) from Nantwich.[1]
Wistaston, Saint Mary is an Ancient Parish in Cheshire.
The Church of St Mary the Virgin, Wistaston is in the village of Wistaston, Cheshire, England. It is an active Anglican parish church in the diocese of Chester, the archdeaconry of Macclesfield and the deanery of Nantwich.
The first record of a rector goes back to 1379. The existing records start in 1572. In 1827 the decision was taken that "due to decay it [the church] was unsuitable for public worship". The present church was built in 1827–28 to a design by George Latham.
In the Domesday Survey of 1086, the area was called Wistanestune and was a going concern having a population of 25 to 30 people, valuable woodland and arable land, and deer roaming about. It had been worth 30 shillings, but after William the Conqueror's devastation of Cheshire, it was worth just ten shillings in 1086. It was one of several local villages with the suffix ‘tune’ or ‘ton’ - meaning a ‘farmstead’.
Wistaston is a civil parish and village in the unitary authority of Cheshire East and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, in north-west England. It is approximately 2 miles (3.2 km) west of Crewe town centre and 3 miles (4.8 km) east of Nantwich town centre.
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Registration Districts
- Nantwich (1837–1937)
- Crewe (1937–74)
- Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
- South Cheshire (1988–98)
- Cheshire Central (post 1998)The post 2009 reorganisation of civil registration can be found online at Cheshire BMD
Church records
Wistaston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
| FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers | |||||
| FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts |
| Wistaston Parish Online Records | ||||||
| |
|
|
| |||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images |
| FS PR's | |
NONE |
|
NONE |
|
NONE |
| FS BT'S | |
NONE |
|
NONE |
|
NONE |
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Parish registers for Wistaston, 1572-1956 Cheshire Record Office call number: P74/1/1-4, P74/2/1-2, P74/3/1-4, P74/4, P74/5/1-2, P74/2985/1/2. Records may be found online at at FamilySearch Historical Records.
| Parish registers Contents | FHL Film |
| Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1593, 1600, 1605, 1607, 1610, 1613, 1617, 1620, 1622-1624, 1626, 1629, 1632-1637, 1639-1640, 1653, 1662-1668, 1671-1672, 1674-1682, 1684-1685, 1688-1690, 1692-1715, 1717-1735, 1737-1771, 1773, 1775-1777, 1779-1780, 1782-1830. Baptisms, 1872-1882 | BRITISH 2093668 |
| Burials, 1902-1945. | BRITISH 2093669 Item 1 |
| Marriages, 1942-1956. | VAULT BRITISH 2262944 Item 2 |
Bishop's transcripts Wistaston, 1593-1882 Records are not filmed in strict chronological order. Some intermittent years are missing.Cheshire Record Office number: EDB/224 Records may be found at FamilySearch Historical Records.
| Bishop's transcripts Content | FHL Film |
| Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1593, 1600, 1605, 1607, 1610, 1613, 1617, 1620, 1622-1624, 1626, 1629, 1632-1637, 1639-1640, 1653, 1662-1668, 1671-1672, 1674-1682, 1684-1685, 1688-1690, 1692-1715, 1717-1735, 1737-1771, 1773, 1775-1777, 1779-1780, 1782-1826, 1828-1829. Baptisms, burials, 1827, 1830. Baptisms, 1872-1882. | BRITISH 1836192 Item 1 |
Wistaston- St Mary
Baptisms-1572-1936- MFPR 680
Burials-1572-1945- MFPR 680
Marriages-1572-1929- MFPR 680
For original registers of above please enquire at Cheshire Record Office.
The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.ukThe Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)
Non-Conformist Churches
Wistaston, Methodist Chapel. Built in 1945, rebuilt in 1967.
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241248. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
References
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted 19 April 2013
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above. |
Bibliography
Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 390, ISBN 0 300 09588 0
Morant, Roland W. (1989), Cheshire Churches, Birkenhead: Countyvise, pp. 191, ISBN 0 907768 18 0
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 April 2013, at 18:06.
- This page has been accessed 353 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
