Wilnecote, WarwickshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Warwickshire England  Gotoarrow.png  Warwickshire Parishes

Wilnecote Holy Trinity Staffordshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

WILNECOTE, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Tamworth, Tamworth division of the hundred of Hemlingford, N. division of the county of Warwick, 2 miles (S. E. by S.) from Tamworth. [1]

Wilnecote is a chapelry of  Tamworth, Staffordshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Tamworth Castle and Castle Liberty.

WILNECOTE, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Tamworth, Tamworth division of the hundred of Hemlingford, N. division of the county of Warwick, 2 miles (S. E. by S.) from Tamworth; containing 718 inhabitants. This chapelry, sometimes called Willowencote, comprises by measurement 1005 acres, chiefly pasture land. Collieries and limekilns have been established of late; and here is a station of the Birmingham and Derby railway. The living is a perpetual curacy; net income, £90; patron, the Vicar of Tamworth. The chapel, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, was rebuilt in the year 1821, by subscription, aided by a grant from the Incorporated Society.

From: 'Willoughby - Wilstrop', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 581-584. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51410 Date accessed: 31 March 2011.

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Wilnecote and Castle Liberty like this:

WILNECOTE, a township in Tamworth parish, and a chapelry partly also in Polesworth parish, Warwick. The township lies on Watling-street, 1 mile W of the erby and Birmingham railway, and 2½ SE of Tamworth; and has a post-office under Tamworth, and a r. station jointly with Fazeley. Real property, £4,289; of which £250 are in mines. Pop. in 1851, 824; in 1861, 1,350. Houses, 267. The increase of pop. arose from the opening of coal mines. The property is much subdivided. W. Hall, Dosthill House, and Wilnecote Hall are chief residences. Bricks and tiles are made.—The chapelry was constituted in 1856. Pop. in 1861, 1,654. Houses, 329. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Lichfield. Value, £178. Patron, the Vicar of Tamworth. The church is tolerable; and there are an Independent chapel and a national school.


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Deposited records held at the Staffordshire Record Office former chapelry of Tamworth St Editha EP [See St Editha for earlier entries] Baptisms 1763-1783, 1837-2001Marriages 1851-1998 

Bishops Transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Baptisms 1860-1862

The mission Churches of Wilnecote St Catherine (Two Gates) and Wilnecote St Matthew Hockley have no deposited record holdings. 

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464172. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Poor Law Unions

Tamworth Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 581-584.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 December 2012, at 14:06.
  • This page has been accessed 560 times.