Williamson County, IllinoisEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Illinois
Williamson County
Guide to Williamson County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Coordinates: 37.73°0′N 88.93°0′W / 37.73°N 88.93°W
| Williamson County, Illinois | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Illinois | |
![]() Location of Illinois in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded: | February 28, 1839 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Marion |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Williamson County Courthouse 200 West Jefferson Street Marion, IL 62959 (618) 997-1301 Williamson County Website |
Williamson County Organization
Williamson County's civil records start the following years:
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1877 | 1839 | 1877 | 1840 | 1818 | 1839 |
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Williamson County are kept, see the Williamson County Courthouse page.
Historical Facts
Williamson County, Illinois is named for Williamson County, Tennessee because of the many settlers who originated from that area.
1839--Williamson County was created 28 February 1839 from Franklin County.
County seat: Marion [1]
Boundary Changes
The present area of Williamson County, or parts of it, were at one time included in the following counties[2]:
1818–1839 Franklin
1816–1818 Jackson
1812–1818 Gallatin
1812–1816 Johnson
1795–1816 Randolph
1790–1801 Knox, Northwest Territory
See an interactive map of Williamson County boundary changes.
Record Loss
30 May 1875: - Courthouse burned and some records were lost or damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
Places/Localities
| |||||||||||||||
To see a list of places in Williamson County, click on [Show], in the bar above. The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. Localities listed in red have no wiki page yet. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.
Records and Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
The Illinois Cemeteries page provides general explanations of the following online Williamson County resources:
| Bibliography | Online Gravestone Transcriptions | Cemetery Gazetteers |
| FHLC | Find A Grave | national search | county list | ePodunk |
| WorldCat | USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project | The American History and Genealogy Project |
| Illinois Cemeteries | ||
| USGenWeb Archives | ||
| I Dream of Genealogy |
Many Confederate veterans were buried in Williamson County, for a list visit Genealogy Trails. A few politicians were also buried in the county, see Political Graveyard.
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1840 | 4,457 | ||
| 1850 | 7,216 | 61.9% | |
| 1860 | 12,205 | 69.1% | |
| 1870 | 17,329 | 42.0% | |
| 1880 | 19,324 | 11.5% | |
| 1890 | 22,226 | 15.0% | |
| 1900 | 27,796 | 25.1% | |
| 1910 | 45,098 | 62.2% | |
| 1920 | 61,092 | 35.5% | |
| 1930 | 53,880 | −11.8% | |
| 1940 | 51,424 | −4.6% | |
| 1950 | 48,621 | −5.5% | |
| 1960 | 46,117 | −5.2% | |
| 1970 | 49,021 | 6.3% | |
| 1980 | 56,538 | 15.3% | |
| 1990 | 57,733 | 2.1% | |
| 2000 | 61,296 | 6.2% | |
| 2010 | 66,357 | 8.3% | |
Illinois Counties 1900-1990[3]
1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Williamson County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Illinois Census.
See Williamson County, IL census assignments, including links to transcribed files. [The USGenWeb Census Project].
1840 Pensioners
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Williamson County on page 188.]
Church Records
A chapter on early Williamson County, Illinois church history appears in an 1887 local history, available for free online, beginning on page 515.
Histories of early churches in the county appear in:
- Parks, Nannie Gray. Williamson Co., Illinois, Pioneer Families. MSS. Copy: FHL Films 966140-966148.
See also:
- Grisham, Violet Lee Carter. Williamson County Churches. Marion, Ill.: Williamson County Historical Society, 1997. FHL Book 977.3993 K2g. WorldCat (Other Libraries); WorldCat (Other Libraries)
- Crain, Hazel Edith. Hurricane Church Begins a New Life. 1996. WorldCat (Other Libraries)
- Harris, Wilma. Shake Rag Church. MSS. Copy: FHL Film 966139 Item 12.
- History of Mt. Pleasant "Shed" Church. 1990s. WorldCat (Other Libraries)
Baptist
- The History of ArnoldView FreeWill Baptist Church
- Bethel Old School or Predestinarian Baptist Association et al. Minutes of the Bethel Association of Old School or Predestinarian Baptists, 1932-1954: Volume 3A. 1932-1954. [1].
- Boyd, Harry C. Second in Name Only: A Recounting of the First Ninety Years of Marion Second Baptist Church. Marion, Ill.: Second Baptist Church, 2000. WorldCat (Other Libraries)
- Center Baptist Church (Marion, Ill.). Records, 1887-1950. WorldCat (Other Libraries)
- Church and Family History Research Assistance for Primitive Baptist Churches in Williamson County, Illinois
- Crenshaw Baptist Church (Energy, Ill.). Records, 1914-1964. WorldCat (Other Libraries)
- Early and Present Day History of Williamson County Baptist Association. Marion, Ill.: Williamson County Baptist Association, 1965. WorldCat (Other Libraries)
- First Baptist Church (Marion, Ill.). Records 1865-1980. WorldCat (Other Libraries)
- Harrelson, Ralph S. Lake Creek Baptist Church: Williamson County, Illinois. 1993. WorldCat (Other Libraries)
- Howard, Charles M. The Blood Over Williamson: The Heritage of Williamson County Baptist Association. Carbondale, Ill.: Paraklete Press, 1980. WorldCat (Other Libraries)
- Spring Hill Baptist Church. Church Records, 1849-1878. MSS. Copy: FHL Film 966139 Item 8. WorldCat (Other Libraries)
- Tanner, Delores and Springhill Missionary Baptist Church (Stonefort, Ill.). From Sweet Gum Trees on Sugar Creek to Pine Trees on a Hill with a Spring: A 150-year History of Springhill Missionary Baptist Church and Gum Springs and Pleasant Hill. Ill.: D. Tanner, 1999. WorldCat (Other Libraries)
Catholic
FamilySearch has made parish records from four Belleville Diocese Catholic churches in Williamson County available online (free registration is required). The records include first communions, confirmations, marriages, and deaths:
- Church Records of Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, Herrin, Williamson County, Illinois 1897-1956, browsable online (no index); courtesy: FamilySearch.
- Church Records of St. Francis de Sales Parish, Stonefort, Williamson County, Illinois 1893-1900, browsable online (no index); courtesy: FamilySearch.
- Church Records of St. Joseph and U.S. Penitentiary Parish, Marion, Williamson County, Illinois 1927-1956, browsable online (no index); courtesy: FamilySearch.
- Church Records of St. Paul Parish, Johnston City, Williamson County, Illinois 1904-1956, browsable online (no index); courtesy: FamilySearch.
Christian
- Abney, Ella Lorine Rogers et al. Membership and Friends, First Christian Church: Disciples of Christ. Marion, Ill.: First Christian Church (Disciples of Christ, Marion, Ill.), 1999. FHL Book 977.3993/M1 K2ae.
- Lake Creek Christian Church. Church Records, 1892-1897. MSS. Copy: FHL Film 966139 Item 9.
Church of Christ
Disciples of Christ
- History of the Disciples of Christ in Illinois, Williamson County section begins on page 441, courtesy: Internet Archive.
Methodist
- Pleasant Grove United Methodist Church. 1984. WorldCat (Other Libraries)
Court Records
1840–Present Original Court records are available at the Williamson County, Illinois Courthouse. See Illinois Court Records for information about how to use county court records.
- 1938–1941 Sheriff's Process Dockets, Criminal.IRAD-SIU Search for Williamson records. How to use IRAD
The following records are abstracted:
- 1840–1903 Moore, Mary Jo. Williamson County Miscellaneous Court Records, 1840-1903. S.l.: s.n.,2002. FHL Book 977.3993 P2m WorldCat 49961074
- 1921–1922 Moore, Mary Jo. Bar Docket, Circuit Court of Williamson County. West Paducah, Kentucky: M.J. Moore, 2003. FHL Book 977.3993 P2mj 1921-1922WorldCat 55618682WorldCat 55618683
- Murphy, Charla S. and Helen Sutt Lind. Criminal Records Index Circuit Clerk's Office, Williams County, Illinois Court House. Johnston City, Illinois: H.S. Lind, 2006. FHL Book 977.3993 P22s WorldCat 720294101
Ethnic Research
African American
United States African Americans
Illinois African Americans
- Illinois State Archives pamphlet on African American Research describes what records are at the State Archives with an online method for ordering records
Genealogy
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
Message Boards
- Williamson County, IL Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
- Williamson County, IL Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Williamson County, IL Genealogy Queries (CousinConnect)
General
As of March 2011, a query for persons born in Williamson (County), Illinois at World Connect, results in more than 30,000 entries.
Parks' collection is a great place to learn if genealogists have studied your Williamson County family in the past:
- Parks, Nannie Gray. Williamson Co., Illinois, Pioneer Families. MSS. Microfilmed 1974. FHL Films 966140-966148.
The following collections contain genealogies about many families in the county:
- Crain, Charles L. and Barbara Crain. Whose Family Line Is It ... Anyway: A Brief History of the Crain, Snider, Burkitt, Plumlee, Shingleton and Isom Families in Franklin, Williamson and Surrounding Counties in Southern Illinois. n.p.: C.L. Crain, 2001. FHL CD-ROM no. 772.
- Grisham, Violet Lee Carter. My Williamson County Pioneer Kinfolks and Descendants. Marion, Ill.: V.L.C. Grisham, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 G919gva.
- Lind, Helen Sutt, Charla Schroeder Murphy, et al. The Barham Connection: Barham Cemetery Inscriptions and Family Genealogy. 1997? FHL Book 977.3993/M1 V3L.
- Malone, Daisy Hearne Roberts. A Group of Family Trees of the Early Settlers of Corinth Township, Williamson County, Illinois and Allied Families. Pueblo, Colo.: Rocky Mountain Bank Note Co., 1939. FHL Book 977.3993/C1 D2m
Bibliography
- [Bohannan] Cotton, Yvonne Bohannan. The Bohannan Family: Ancestors and Descendants of John Ervin and Sarah Bohannan. Glen Rose, Texas: Y.B. Cotton, n.d. FHL Book 929.273 B634c.
- [Carter] Grisham, Violet Lee Carter. Charles T. Carter, Revolutionary Soldier Whose Children Came to Southern Illinois: Their Related Families, Cunningham, Owens, Croslin, Aikin, Gregory. Marion, Ill.: Violet Grisham, 1994. FHL Book 929.273 C245g
- [Childers]. Cast a Long Shadow: A Saga of Three Generations of a Southern Illinois Family, Reaching from Williamson County to Belgaum, India. Wilmore, Ky.: R. Seamands, 1994. FHL Book 929.273 C437sr; digital version at Family History Archives.
- [Cox] Cox, Avis E. and Marion R. Cox. From the Banks of the Dan, a Cox Family Genealogy. Winona, Minn.: A.E. and M.R. Cox, 1994. FHL Book 929.273 C839fc.
- [Culbreath] Green, John Stinson. Leroy Culbreath and Mary Fulk of Williamson County, Illinois and Stafford County, Kansas. Wichita, Kan.: J.S. Green, 199-?. FHL Fiche 6004641; digital version at Family History Archives.
- [DeBose], Donald F. Descendants of Isaiah Debose. Carterville, Ill.: D.F. Shrake, 2005. FHL CD-ROM no. 2442.
- [Duncan] "Descendants of James Frank Duncan," in Effie Maria McFarland Genealogical Collection. MSS. Microfilmed 2002. FHL VAULT Film 1574106 Item 1.
- [Goddard] Moore, Mary Jo. The Goddard, Spiller, Goodall Connection. Marion, Ill.: M.J. Moore, 1997. FHL Book 929.273 G541m.
- [Grove] Grisham, Violet Lee Carter. Pioneers to Williamson County, Illinois, George Zacharias and Isaac Groves and Their Descendants. Marion, Ill.: V.L.C. Grisham, 199-?. FHL Book 929.273 Z11c.
- [Groves] Grisham, Violet Lee Carter. Legends in the New World - The Beginnings. Marion, Ill.: V. Grisham, 1991. FHL Book 929.273 G887g.
- [Groves] Grisham, Violet Lee Carter and Edward Dean Grisham. Time Traveler. Marion, Ill.: V. Grisham, 1994. FHL Book 929.273 G919gv.
- [Howell] Howell, Frank R. Historical Sketch of the Howell Family and Biography of William Marion Howell, 1845-1927. Typescript, 1946. FHL Film 960427 Item 9.
- [Jeter] Jeter, Loren E. and Jeanette Feltl Jeter. Who Am I? A Jeter Family Saga. Cottonwood, Ariz.: L.E. Jeter, Sr., 1989. FHL Book 921.73 J511j.
- [Klope] Grisham, Violet Lee Carter. Legends in the New World - The Beginnings. Marion, Ill.: V. Grisham, 1991. FHL Book 929.273 G887g.
- [Potter] Moore, Mary Jo. The Potter Family Tragedy. Marion, Ill.: Williamson County Historical Society & Museum, 1996. FHL Book 929.273 P851m.
- [Pritchett] "John & Amelia (Mosley) Prichett, TN-Williamson Co., IL," in Doris Melissa Pritchett Horlacher, Pritchett in America, Waller, Pritchard, Prickett, Phelan, 1987. Orem, Utah: Horlacher & Sons, 1987. FHL Film 1421821 Item 9.
- [Pritchett] Stephens-Dewey, Wanda Dolores. Pritchett Family, 1827-1999: Including Ramsey, Franklin, Coffman, Pryor, Stephens. [Fort Wayne, Texas: W.D. Stephens-Dewey, 1999?]. FHL Book 929.273 P939sd.
- [Rich] Abney, Ella Lorine Rogers. William Rich and His Descendants of Southern Illinois. Marion, Ill.: E.L. Abney, 2000. FHL Book 929.273 R379a.
- [Spiller] Gottschalk, Kathrine Cox. The Spiller Family of Prince William County, Virginia; Robertson County, Tennessee; Williamson County, Illinois. Typescript. Microfilmed 1972. FHL Film 896608 Item 2
- [Spiller] Moore, Mary Jo. The Goddard, Spiller, Goodall Connection. Marion, Ill.: M.J. Moore, 1997. FHL Book 929.273 G541m
- [Stilley] Stilley, William Douglas. The William Davis Stilley and Nancy Swofford-Stilley Family History and Genealogy. Raytown, Mo.: W.D. Stilley, 1980. FHL Book 929.273 St54sti.
- [Tanner] Tanner, John W. Six James Tanners. Typescript, Williamson County Historical Society, Ill. Microfilmed 1974. FHL Film 966149 Item 2.
- [Walker] Keyser, Helen Walker Linsenmeyer. Illinois Pioneer, Matthew Moore Walker, and Descendants. Mountain, Home, Ark.: H.W.L. Keyser, 1993. FHL Book 929.273 W153k; digital version at Family History Archives.
- [Ward] Abney, Ella Lorine Rogers. The Ward Family. Marion, Ill.: E. Abney, 1985. FHL Book 929.273 W21a.
- [Zacharias] Grisham, Violet Lee Carter. Pioneers to Williamson County, Illinois, George Zacharias and Isaac Groves and Their Descendants. Marion, Ill.: V.L.C. Grisham, 199-?. FHL Book 929.273 Z11c.
History
Local Histories
The 1876 local history is also available at Ancestry ($).
- History of Gallatin, Saline, Hamilton, Franklin, and Williamson Counties, Illinois: From the Earliest Time to the Present, Together with Sundry and Interesting Biographical Sketches, Notes, Reminiscences, etc., etc. Chicago: The Goodspeed Publishing Co., 1887. Digital versions at Ancestry ($) (1967 reprint); Internet Archive.
- Centennial History of McKendree College. 1928. Digital version at The USGenWeb Project. Includes chapters on St. Clair's history under French rule, under British rule, under American rule, and information about early settlers.
Land and Property
See Illinois Land and Property for more information.
1836-present The original land and property records for Williamson County are held by the County Recorder. See the Williamson County Courthouse page for contact information. The following copies are available:
- 1814–1860 Original Entry FHL Film 965457 Item 1
- 1836–1891 Deed Record IRAD-SIU Search for Williamson records. How to use IRAD
- 1836–1890 Deed Record FHL Film 965428 First of 30 films
- 1836–1928 Deed Record Index FHL Film 965428–965435
- 1859–1906 Certificates of Levy, Sales and Redemption, vol. B, includes index FHL Film 965457 Item 2
- 1865–1909 Sheriff's Deed Record, Vol A FHL Collection
The following abstracts are available:
- 1800's–1900's Moore, Mary Jo and Charla S. Schroeder. Williamson County, Illinois Deeds, Mortgages and Land Records.Marion, Illinois : Williamson County Historical Society (Illinois), 1997. WorldCat 38588716 FHL Book 977.3993 R2mo v. 1-2
- 1824, 1829–1877 Johnson, Janice. Franklin County, Illinois Land Records, Book B. West Frankfort, Illinois : J. Johnson, 1995. WorldCat 33400070 FHL Book 977.394 R2j
- 1868 Davis, Patricia S. Williamson County, Illinois 1868 Taxes.Marion, Illinois : P.S. Davis, 1995. WorldCat 33039317 FHL Book 977.3993 R4d
- 1876[2] Plat map index Courtesy of Ilinois Trails
- Land acquired for the Crab Orchard Wildlife Refuge Courtesy of Illinois Trails
- Lind, Helen Sutt and Charla S. Murphy. Chancery Partition, Dower & Deed Records Index Circuit Clerk's Office, Williamson County, IL. Johnston City, Illinois : H.S. Lind, 2006. WorldCat 191823850 FHL Book 977.3993 R22s
- Rockford Map Publishers. Land Atlas and Plat Book, Williamson County, Illinois, 1985. Rockford, Illinois : Rockford Map Publishers, 1985. WorldCat 13456961 FHL Book 977.3993 E7w
Online Resources
- Beginning 1820 Land Patent Search See Illinois Land and Property for more information about this database.
- Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales Database
- 1796–1907 U.S. General Land Office Records found at Ancestry.com ($)
- Illinois Public Land Purchase Records This record extract includes over 538,000 land sales from the 19th Century. Each entry includes the purchaser's name, purchase date, number of acres, price per acre, and in some cases the purchaser's sex and residence. Available at www.ancestry.com ($)
- Williamson County Federal Township Plats
Maps
Military
Revolutionary War
Veterans of the Revolutionary War settled in Williamson County.
See also Census
War of 1812
Veterans of the War of 1812 settled in Williamson County.
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Book 973 M2Lp v. 3; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 3, Illinois, Williamson County, pp. 640-642. Identifies War of 1812 and other veterans living in the county in 1883.]
Civil War
Civil War service men from Williamson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Williamson County.
- - 9th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company G.
- - 29th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company E.
- - 31st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies C and E.
- - 56th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company E.
- - 60th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company E.
- - 81st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies E, G and H.
- - 107th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company G.
- - 110th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- - 120th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company G.
- - 128th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, and I.
World War I
- Baird, S. S. Williamson County, Illinois, in the World War: Containing a Brief Review of the World War, Complete History of Williamson County's Activities, Photographs and Service Records of Williamson County's Soldiers, Sailors and Marines, Industrial Review of Business and Professional Firms Who Have Made This History Possible. Marion: Williamson County War History Society, c1919. Digital versions at Ancestry ($); Internet Archive.
Naturalization
Newspapers and Obituaries
Information about the following newspapers is available through the Illinios Newspapers Project:
- 1936-1936 Egyptian Democrat (Marion)
- 1925-1926 Marion Evening Post
- 1921-1922 Marion Semi-weekly Leader
- 1929-1946 Marion Weekly Leader
- 1917-1971 Spokesman (Heriman)
- 1862-1947 Abstracts of obituaries and other newspaper articles from multiple papers. Courtesy of Illinois Trails.
Probate Records
For more information about probate records see Illinois Probate Records.
1840–present The original probate records for Williamson County are held by the Circuit Court Clerk. See the Williamson County Courthouse page for contact information. The following copies are available:
- 1851–1971 Probate Case Files Index IRAD-SIU Search for Williamson records. How to use IRAD. Record Collection 1834344
- 1852–1859 Probate Record IRAD-SIU Search for Williamson records. How to use IRAD
- 1853–1919 Probate Will Record IRAD-SIU Search for Williamson records. How to use IRAD
- 1853–1919 Will Record vols. A–D Record Collection 1834344FHL Film 965461–965462
- 1850–1859 Estate Book, vol. B FHL Film 965459
The following abstracts are available:
- 1847–1872 Grisham, Violet Lee Carter. Williamson County, Il. Wills, Book A.(Marion, Illinois):V.L.C.Grisham, 1998. WorldcatFHL Book 977.3993 P2g
- 1898–1911 Murphy, Charla Schroeder. Probate Book C, Circuit Clerk's Office: Administrators Book A, County Clerk's Office, Williamson County, Illinois. S.l: C.S. Murphy, 2004.Worldcat FHL Book 977.3993 P2mc
Online Resources
- 1853–1919 Probate records are also available in Illinois, Probate Records, 1819-1970. Click on the browse through images link, select Williamson County, and select the record type you are interested in.
Repositories
County Courthouse
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Williamson County are kept, see the Williamson County Courthouse page.
Family History Centers
Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)
IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Southern Illinois University houses the records for Williamson County.
Public Libraries
Social Groups Online
Societies
| Marion Carnegie Library 206 South Market Street Marion, IL 62959 (618) 993-5935 |
Genealogical Society of Southern Illinois John A. Logan College Library 700 Logan College Road Carterville, Illinois 62918 Telephone: 618-985-2828, Ext. 8338 Hours: vary by season, see website |
| Williamson County, IL Historical Society Museum Marion, IL 62959 |
Nannie Gray Parks' map of the early settlers of Williamson County is for sale at the book shop. |
| Genealogical Society of Southern Illinois John A. Logan College Library 700 Logan College Road Carterville, Illinois 62918 (618) 985-2828, Ext. 8338 Hours: vary by season, see website |
The Society focuses on Alexander, Clay, Clinton, Edwards, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Lawrence, Marion, Massac, Monroe, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Richland, Saline, St. Clair, Union, Wabash, Washington, Wayne, White, and Williamson counties. The Society's book and microfilm collection is housed at the John A. Logan College Library. The Society publishes a newsletter (click here for recent issues) and a quarterly journal The Saga of Southern Illinois (click here for a topical index that breaks down what has been published county-by-county). |
Taxation
Vital Records
Births
1877–present - The original Williamson County birth records 1877-present are housed at the County Clerk's office. The following copies are available:
- 1877-1916 IRAD-SIU Search for Williamson records. How to use IRAD
- 1877-1967 Index IRAD-SIU Search for Williamson records. How to use IRAD
- 1877-1966 Birth index – FHL Film 965404–965406
- 1877-1925 Births –FHL Film 965407–965411
The following abstracts are available:
- 1830-1926 Selected births Courtesy of the The American History and Genealogy Project.
- 1877–1881 Moore, Mary Jo. Williamson County, Illinois Birth Records. S.P.: MJ. Moore, 2008. Worldcat FHL Book 977.3993 V2mmb vol.1-2
- 1877–1906 Birth Record Vol 1–2 (Continue to page 2) Courtesy of the The American History and Genealogy Project.
- Pre–1917 Burke, Bille Jean et al. Delayed Birth Records, Williamson County, Illinois: prior to 1917. Marion, Illinois: Williamson County Historical Society, 2001–.WorldcatFHL Book 977.3993 V2b v.1–6
Marriage
1839–present - The original Williamson County marriage records 1877-present are housed at the County Clerk's office.
Copies of marriage licenses and other marriage records are available through the Illinois Regional Archives Depository system at Southern Illinois University. How to use IRAD
Other copies of marriage records:
- 1830–1850 An index to marriages in Williamson County, 1830-1850 is available on the USGenWeb Archives.
- 1839–1916 Marriage record FHL film 965414 first film of 16 Indexes at beginning of volumes.
- 1840–1900 Illinois Statewide Marriage Index.
- 1865-1885 Index to marriages FHL film 965414 first film of 16
- 1839–1850 County marriage records at Ancestry ($)
The following abstracts are available:
- 1830–1850 Illinois USGenWeb Archives
- 1839–1853, 1865 Winget, Judy Walley. Williamson County, Illinois marriages, 1839 to 1853 and 1865; Pope County, Illinois marriages, 1826 to 1845; Johnson County, Illinois marriages, 1857 to 1860. S.P.: Saline County Genealogical Society (Illinois), 1984. Worldcat FHL Book 977.399 V2w
- 1839–1902 Hoffard, Gay Roberson and Joyce Stephens Smith.Marriages on Record in Marion, Williamson County, Illinois Courthouse. Marion, Illinois: Williamson County Historical Society [Illinois], 1988. WorldcatFHL Book 977.3993 V2h Vol. 1-5
The Williamson County Marriage Project is a user-contributed listing of about 600 Williamson County marriages. Many listings include e-mail contact information for the individual who contributed the information.
Deaths
1877–present The original Williamson County death records 1877–present are housed at the County Clerk's office. The following copies are available:
- 1850–1880 Mortality Schedules, courtesy: Ancestry ($)
- 1877–1914 IRAD-SIU Search for Williamson records. Information about how to use IRAD
- 1877–1914 Death index IRAD-SIU Search for Williamson records.
- 1877–1925 Death Record, Stillbirths IRAD-SIU Search for Williamson records.
- 1877–1914 Index to Deaths FHL film 965412
- 1877-1915 Death record, vol. 1-3 FHL film 965412
- 1912–1919 Hathaway, John.Register of funerals, 1912-1919.Manuscript. Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1974. FHL film 966139 Items 6-7
- 1850–1880 Mortality Schedules, courtesy: Ancestry ($)
The following abstracts are available:
- 1850 Mortality Schedule, Courtesy of USGenWeb Mortality Schedule Courtesy of Illinois Trails
- 1860 Mortality Schedule, Courtesy of USGenWeb Mortality Schedule Courtesy of Illinois Trails
- 1862-1947 Abstracts of obituaries and other newspaper articles from multiple papers. Courtesy of Illinois Trails.
- 1877–1903 Murphy, Charla S.Williamson County, Illinois Death Records.J(Johnston City, Ill.) (1211 Monroe, Johnston City 62951-1516) : H. Lind, [1998?] Worldcat FHL Book 977.3993 V2m vol. 1–2
- 1880 Lind, Helen Sutt. 1880 Williamson County, Illinois Mortality Schedule.[Johnston City, Illinois] : H.S. Lind, 1998. Worldcat FHL Book 977.3993 X2L 1880
- 1914–1929 Albert Storme Funeral Home Records, Courtesey of USGen Web
- Pre-1916 Illinois Statewide Death Index, Pre-1916
- 1916–1947 Deaths and Stillbirths
- 1916-1950 Database of Illinois Death Certificates, 1916-1950
- 1916–1950 Williamson County deaths abstracted from the Illinois Statewide Death Index, Courtesy of the The American History and Genealogy Project. (Scroll to the screen bottom for alphbetical links.)
- Pre-1916 As of March 2011, the Illinois State Archive database Illinois Statewide Death Index, Pre–1916 does NOT include any Williamson County deaths.
- 1999–2009 Obituaries. Partial listing. Courtesy of ILGenWeb.
- 2001–present Obituaries. Select "Local Obits". Courtesty of ILGenWeb
- Moore, Mary Jo. Williamson County Coroner's Inquest Records . (Johnson City, Illinois: H.S. Ling, 1998. WorldcatFHL Book 977.3993 V2mm vol.1–2
- Grisham, Violet Lee Carter. Register of Interment Permits, Jan. 10, 1902-May 21, 1903. Marion, Illinois: Williamson County Historical Society, 199? Worldcat FHL Book 977.3993 N2g
Web Sites
- Williamson County, Illinois Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Williamson County, ILGenWeb Part of the USGenWeb Project. Genealogy resources, queries.
- Williamson County, Illinois (The American History and Genealogy Project)
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ "Williamson County Fact Sheet." The Official Web site for Illinois Secretary of State Jesse White. N.p., n.d. Web. 29 Mar. 2011. http://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/archives/irad/williamson.html
- ↑ Template:Citation
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2013, at 19:54.
- This page has been accessed 7,829 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More







