Whitfield County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Georgia
Whitfield County
Guide to Whitfield County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Whitfield County, Georgia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of [[Georgia]] | |
![]() Location of Georgia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 30, 1851 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Hettinger |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Whitfield County Courthouse] 300 W Crawford Street PO Box 248 Dalton, GA 30722-0248 Phone: 706.275.7451 Whitfield County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Whitfield County Courthouse
300 W Crawford Street
PO Box 248
Dalton, GA 30722-0248
Phone: 706.275.7451
Probate Court has birth and death records from 1927,
marriage and probate records from 1852; Clerk Superior
Court has divorce, court and land records from 1852[1]
History
Local histories are available for Whitfield County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Parent County
1851--Whitfield was created 30 December 1851 fromMurray County. County seat: Dalton [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1864 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Civil War
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Whitfield County.
- February 22-27, 1864 = Dalton I[3]
- May 7-13, 1864 = Rocky Face Ridge, also known as Combats at Buzzard Roost, Mill Creek, or Dug Gap[4]
- May 13-15, 1864 = Resaca[5]
- August 14-15, 1864 = Dalton II[6]
- Map showing Civil War battles in Georgia.
Newspapers
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Whitfield County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog. Do a Place search for Whitfield County, Georgia to find these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
- Wills 1843-1854 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Will Book A, 1852-1960 Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Annual Returns, Vouchers, Sales, Book B, 1852-1860 Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Annual Returns, Vouchers, Sales, Book E 1869-1885 Georgia Pioneers
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Marriage
- 1852-1884 - Whitfield County Marriage Index 1852-1884. Batch M713971 at FamilySearch - free.[7]
- 1882-1895 - Whitfield County Marriage Index 1882-1895. Batch M713972 at FamilySearch - free.[7]
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Whitfield County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers Pioneers
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Whitfield County, Georgia. Page 162 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.
| This Georgia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 23 May 2013, at 02:01.
- This page has been accessed 1,663 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

