Washington County, Rhode IslandEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Rhode Island
Washington County
Guide to Washington County Rhode Island genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Washington County, Rhode Island | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Rhode Island | |
![]() Location of Rhode Island in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | June 3, 1729 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | |
| Courthouse | |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Washington County Courthouse
4800 Tower Hill Road
Wakefield, RI 02879-2239
Phone: 401.841.835
Town and City Clerks have birth, marriage, death, probate and land records)
Twenty towns in Washington County Towns Organized Before 1800: Charlestown 1738, Exeter 1742-3, Hopkinton 1757, North Kingstown 1641, Richmond 1747, South Kingstown (Pettaquamscutt) 1656-7, Westerly 1669
There is no county government. The government is located at town and state levels.
Quick Facts
- Named for George Washington, the American Revolutionary general, and first president of the United States.
- Washington County is more commonly known as "South County."
Parent County
- Formed in 3 June 1729 as Kings County from part of Providence Plantations. [1]
- Renamed Washington County 29 October 1781.
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
- Lost census: 1890
Places / Localities
| ||||||||||
Resources
Biographies
Cemeteries
Washington County Cemeteries Information provided by Rhode Island Cemeteries Database.
Census
For tips on accessing Washington County, Rhode Island census records online, see: Rhode Island Census.
Church
Court
Land
History
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
- Richmond Tax Book 1855 provided through USGenweb.org.
- Richmond Tax Book 1872 provided through USGenweb.org.
- Richmond Tax Book 1883 provided through USGenweb.org.
Vital Records
Vital Records Office
4800 Tower Hill Road
Wakefield, RI 02879
Tel. # 401-841-8350
Note: Colonial records: contact the town clerk's office in the town where the event occured. Towns in Washington County are:
- Charlestown: Town Clerk, 4540 South County Trail, Charlestown, RI 02813 (Tel. 401-364-1200)
- Exeter: Town Clerk, 675 Ten Rod Road, Exeter, RI 02822 (Tel. 401-294-3891)
- Hopkinton: Town Clerk, 1 Town House Rd., Hopkinton, RI 02833 (Tel. 401-377-7777)
- Narragansett: Town Clerk, 25 Fifth Ave., Narragansett, RI 02882 (Tel. 401-789-1044)
- New Shoreham: Town Clerk, Drawer 220, Old Town Rd., Block Island, RI 02807 (Tel. 401-466-3200)
- North Kingstown: Town Clerk, 80 Boston Neck Rd., Wickford, RI 02852 (Tel. 401-294-3331)
- Richmond: Town Clerk, PO Box 318, 5 Richmond Townhouse Rd., Wyoming, RI 02898 (Tel. 401-539-2497)
- South Kingstown: Town Clerk, PO Box 31, Wakefield, RI 02879 (Tel. 401-789-9331)
- Westerly: Town Clerk, 45 Broad St., Westerly, RI 02891 (Tel. 401-348-2500 or 2508)
South Kingstown Marriages: Some of the early marriages recorded at South Kingstown, RI courtesy of the town clerk at South Kingstown, RI and USGenWeb.org.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Websites
- The Washington County RIGenWeb Project, an member of The RIGenWeb Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Washington County.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Washington County. (backup site)
- FamilySearch.org Family History Library Catalog for Washington County.
References
- ↑ WorldCat 50140092 FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 18 April 2013, at 20:47.
- This page has been accessed 1,830 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


