Washington County, OregonEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Oregon
Washington County
Guide to Washington County Oregon genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Washington County, Oregon | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Oregon | |
![]() Location of Oregon in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | September 3, 1849 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Hillsboro |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Washington County Courthouse 155 N 1st Avenue Ste 130 Hillsboro, OR 97124-3072 Phone: 503.864.8741 Washington County Website |
County Courthouse
Record Section, Assessment & Taxation has marriage,
land and military records from 1850.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records
from 1896, probate records from 1871 and
naturalization records from 1906. [1]
- Records Held at the Courthouse
County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Washington County Court House as of October 2005.
- Record Loss:
Quick Facts
| ||||||
3 September 1849: Washington county was renamed from Twality County. Named for George Washington, the first president of the United States. [2]
Boundary Changes
16 January 1854: Columbia County set off.
22 December 1854: Multnomah County set off.
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Cities
Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.
Banks | Beaverton | Cornelius | Durham | Forest Grove | Gaston | Hillsboro | King City | Lake Oswego | North Plains | Portland | Rivergrove | Sherwood | Tigard | Tualatin | Wilsonville
Communities
Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.
Neighboring Counties
Clackamas | Clatsop | Columbia | Multnomah | Tillamook | Yamhill
Trivia Tidbits
Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits
Resources
Archives and Libraries
Biography
Cemeteries (Rural)
For cemeteries very nar or within the cities or communities, please see these places.
Census
- 1845 Territorial Transcription and Index (under name of Tuality, Twalatain and Twality County)
- 1849 Territorial Transcription and Index (under name of Twality County)
- 1850 Territorial Transcription and Index
- 1853 Territorial Transcription and Index
- 1856 Territorial Transcription and Index
Church History and Records
Court Records
Gazetteers
History
Land and Property
Maps
Military History and Records
Newspapers
Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Probate Records
Rivers and Waterways
Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways
School Records
Taxation
Vital Records
The Family History Library has copies of some records such as:
Washington County coroner's inquest records 1854-1889
Societies, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Beaverton Oregon Family History Center
- Beaverton Oregon West Family History Center
- Cedar Mill Oregon Family History Center (Portland)
- Hillsboro Oregon Family History Center
- Tualatin Oregon Family History Center
Websites
- The Washington County GenWeb Project, part of The ORGenWeb Project
- Linkpendium
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives backup site
- FamilySearch Family History Library Catalog
Washington County Oregon Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Washington County, Oregon page 574, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ WorldCat 50140092 ▲ FHLC Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
| This Oregon-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 18 June 2013, at 02:09.
- This page has been accessed 2,203 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

