Washakie County, WyomingEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Wyoming
Washakie County
Guide to Washakie County Wyoming genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Washakie County, Wyoming | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Wyoming in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 9, 1911 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Worland |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Washakie County Courthouse 1023 Big Horn Avenue P.O. Box 862 Worland, WY 82401 Phone: (307) 347-4821 Washakie County Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: created 9 February 1911 from Big Horn
- County Seat: Worland [1]
- Neighboring Counties: Big Horn | Fremont | Hot Springs | Johnson | Natrona | Park
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
- Riverview Memorial Gardens
Cemetery Complex
West River Rd.
Worland, WY 82401
(307) 347-8948
307–347–2486
Located west of the city of Worland. Cemetery records are managed by the City Clerk's office.
- Ten Sleep Cemetery
P.O. Box 394
Ten Sleep, WY 82442
Located on the west edge of Ten Sleep. The Ten Sleep Cemetery website contains a full cemetery registry, headstone images, plot map, history, and contact information.
- Riverview Memorial Gardens
Census
For tips on accessing Washakie County, Wyoming census records online, see: Wyoming Census.
Church
LDS Church wards and branches
- Worland 1st, Worland 2nd, Tensleep
Court Records
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Maps
Migration
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
- Worland Grit - December 1905 to May 1939[2]
Operated in Worland, Washakie, Wyoming.
Archives at the Wyoming Newspaper Project.
- Northern Wyoming Daily News- June 1939 to present [3]
201 N. 8th
Worland, Wyoming 82401
307–347–3241
Operated in Worland, Washakie, Wyoming. The name was changed from the Worland Grit in June 1939. A free archives database on their website for issues from January 3, 2006 to present.
- Worland Grit - December 1905 to May 1939[2]
Obituaries
Probate
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
County Clerk has marriage and land records.
Clerk District Court has divorce, probate and court records.[4]
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
- Western States Marriage Index over 458 marriages 1 Jan 1900 to 31 Dec 1930
Death
Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
Places
| Colter | South Flat | Washakie Ten | Winchester |
| Durkee | Ten Sleep | West River | Worland |
| Neiber |
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ From the Wyoming Daily News website. http://www.wyodaily.com/
- ↑ From the Wyoming Daily News website. http://www.wyodaily.com/
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 767 Washakie County, Wyoming
| ||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 28 April 2013, at 16:39.
- This page has been accessed 1,502 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
