Walworth St Peter, SurreyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Parishes Gotoarrow.png 


St+Peter Liverpool+Grove Walworth London+SE17.jpg

Contents

Parish History

'Walworth Common was a metropolitan suburb with four chapelries in Newington parish. The suburb lies on the London, Chatham, and Dover railway, between Southwark and Camberwell, 2¼ miles S of St. Paul's.'[1]





Walworth St Peter, Surrey family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers (baptisms, christenings, marriages, and burials), civil registration (births, marriages, and deaths), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and website resources.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Walworth St Peter, Surrey Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1825
1825
1825
Indexes 1825-1861 FamilySearch[2] 1825-1840 FamilySearch[3] 1825-1896 BritishOrigins[4]

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474657. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate records

Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins ($).[5]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Peter's Church, Walworth

References

  1. Wilson, John Marius, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Accessed 30 April 2013. Adapted.
  2. Batch C055861, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  3. Batch M055861, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  4. 'Greater London Burials: South London Burials: Parishes, Period and Counts,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  5. 'About Surrey and South London Will Abstracts 1470-1858,' Origins.net, accessed 27 June 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 April 2013, at 17:28.
  • This page has been accessed 598 times.