Waller County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
Counties W
Waller County
Guide to Waller County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Adopt-a-wiki page | |
| |
This page adopted by: TXGenWeb Project who welcome you to contribute. |
|---|---|
| Adopt a page today | |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Waller County Courthouse
836 Austin Street #217
Hempstead, Texas 77445-4667
Phone: 979.826.7711
Phone: 1-800-901-4412.
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage, probate, court and land records from 1873[1]
There have been 4 courthouses in Waller County. The first courthouse was in a rented frame building. In 1877, the first brick courthouse was built, and was in use until it burned in 1892. In 1894, a new courthouse was built. The 1894 courthouse served the county until it was demolished in 1954 after the current courthouse opened.
History
The area was part of Stephen F. Austin's first colony, with the first settlement occurring around 1821.
Parent County
1873--Waller County was created 28 April 1873 from Austin and Grimes Counties. County seat: Hempstead [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Brookshire | Fields Store | Hempstead | Katy (part in Fort Bend County, part in Harris County) | Monaville | Pattison | Pine Island | Prairie View | Waller
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| Billion Graves | |
|
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Census
- 1880 Census for Waller County, census images from archive.org
- 1900 Census for Waller County, transcribed from the USGenWeb Archives; census images from archive.org.
- 1910 Census for Waller County, transcribed from the USGenWeb Archives; census images from archive.org.
- 1920 Census for Waller County, transcribed from the USGenWeb Archives; census images from archive.org.
- 1930 Census for Waller County, census images from archive.org.
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
Court
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Waller County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Liendo Plantation, 1977 by Carrie B. Coss, Waller County Historical Commission.
- A History of Waller County, Texas, 1973 by Waller County Historical Survey Committee. Available from the Waller County Historical Museum
- Forgotten Places of Waller County. Available from the Waller County Historical Museum
- Waller County Whatnot. Available from the Waller County Historical Museum
- Books available from the Waller County Historical Museum.
- Waller County History from The Handbook of Texas Online.
Maps
Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site
Military
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Waller County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Waller County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
The Waller Times Newspaper
Probate
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Waller County Marriage Book "A" Oct 1873-Dec 1881, from the Waller County TXGenWeb site.
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 Texas, Death Index, 1964-1998 (FamilySearch Historical Records) Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
Societies and Libraries
- Waller County Historical Society
PO Box 438
Waller, TX 77484-0438 - Waller County Historical Commission
- Waller County Historical Museum
906 Cooper, PO Box 1548
Brookshire, TX 77423
281-934-2826
Wednesday & Friday - 10.00 AM to 4:00 PM
Saturday - 11:00AM - 2:00PM - Chaparral Genealogical Society & Library
310 North Live Oak, P.O. Box 606
Tomball, TX 77377-0606
281-516-7417
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Waller County TXGenWeb site, maps, history and other information for Waller County.
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Waller County, Texas. Page 675 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
| This Texas-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 10 May 2013, at 02:28.
- This page has been accessed 2,148 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More