Wales, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, S-YGotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Wales

Wales St John the Baptist Rotherham Yorkshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

WALES (St. John), a parish, in the union of Worksop, S. division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York, 10 miles (E. by S.)from Sheffield; containing 351 inhabitants. [1]

Wales St John the Baptist is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the Rotherham district of South Yorkshire, created in 1723 from chapelry in  Laughton en le Morthen, Yorkshire Ancient Parish.Other places in the parish include: Norwood and Bedgralve, Kiveton Park, Kiveton, and Waleswood.

The Parish church of St John the Baptist has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Wales South Yorkshire Wikipedia Kiveton Park Wikipedia

Neighbouring Parishes

Beighton, Derbyshire Killamarsh, Derbyshire Harthill, Yorkshire Anston cum Membris, Yorkshire Todwick, Yorkshire Aston cum Aughton, Yorkshire

Resources

Civil Registration

For history of civil registration in this area see Worksop Registration District

Cemeteries

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464283. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

See Yorkshire Census

Parish Records

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1579.

Link to the Family History Library Catalogue and the films in their collection. Wales

Poor Law Unions

Worksop Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire


Bibiography

Genealogy and History Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 436-439.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 March 2013, at 00:55.
  • This page has been accessed 454 times.