WalesEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
| The Research Forums have been closed. For a limited time the Wales Research Forum will be available in read-only mode. |
| Find us onFacebook
Ask a question Learn what's new Build the community |
From its original Celtic origins, a distinct Welsh national identity emerged in the centuries after the Roman withdrawal from Britain in the 5th century.
The country is bilingual, with both Welsh and English being official languages. However, English is the predominant language spoken, with approximately 20 percent of the population able to speak Welsh.[1]
The population in Wales was estimated to be 3,006,400 from the 2011 census.
The city of Cardiff, on the south coast, is the country's capital, seat of government and chief commercial centre. It has a population of around 350,000.
Learn how to start your Welsh genealogy.
The historic counties

Most researchers will be researching with the context of these historic counties. Wales, like many other countries, has seen much reorganisation over time and it may be necessary to search in several counties.
| pre 1974 | 1974-1996 | post 1996 |
|---|---|---|
| Anglesey | Gwynedd | Anglesey |
| Breconshire | Powys Mid Glamorgan Gwent |
Powys Rhondda Cynon Taf Monmouthshire |
| Caernarfonshire | Gwynedd | Gwynedd Conwy |
| Cardiganshire | Dyfed | Ceredigion |
| Carmarthenshire | Dyfed | Carmarthenshire Pembrokeshire |
| Denbighshire | Clwyd Powys |
Denbighshire Flintshire Wrexham Conwy |
| Flintshire | Clwyd | Flintshire Denbighshire Wrexham |
| Glamorgan | Mid Glamorgan South Glamorgan West Glamorgan |
Bridgend Merthyr Tydfil Rhondda Cynon Taf Caerphilly Cardiff Vale of Glamorgan Swansea Neath Port Talbot |
| Merionethshire | Gwynedd Clwyd |
Gwynedd Denbighshire |
| Monmouthshire | Gwent Mid Glamorgan South Glamorgan |
Monmouthshire Newport Blaenau Gwent Islwyn Torfaen Caerphilly |
| Montgomeryshire | Powys | Powys |
| Pembrokeshire | Dyfed | Pembrokeshire |
| Radnorshire | Powys | Powys |
See the relevant county pages for further information.
Featured resources
- Emigration: Record Selection Guide
- Key Online Record Set: Welsh Probates
- Browse by Topic: Pages for Wales
- FamilySearch: Welsh Records
- Article: Wales Missing Census Records
- Research Places: Aberkenfig Resource Centre & Cefn Mawr Resource Centre
- National Library of Wales: Manuscript Pedigrees
Wiki articles describing these collections are found at:
- England and Wales Nonconformist Index for RG 4-8 (Record Groups 4-8) (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Wales Births and Baptisms (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Wales Death and Burials (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Wales Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Wales Glamorgan Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Wales, Probate Abstracts (FamilySearch Historical Records)
News and events
News:
- Records recently deposited for Bethania Chapel, Maesteg 1861-2005 at the Glamorgan Record Office.
- Pre 1858 Welsh Probate indexes and free document images are now online.
- The 1911 census is now available online for all of Wales. About 13% of the schedules are printed and filled out in Welsh.
- Ordnance Survey Maps with registration district boundaries free to search online
- The National Library of Wales at Aberystwyth has begun a £20 million project to make large parts of its collection available on-line. The project will take 10 years to complete and will involve the digitising of millions of documents, newspapers and books.
- The latest national Census in Wales took place on 27 March, 2011.
- BBC Wales have relaunched their website on Welsh Family History
- FamilySearch now has Welsh parish registers on microfilm.
Events:
- Exodus Movement of the People The Halstead Trust is sponsoring a conference on the topic of migration to, from and within the British Isles on 6-8 September 2013.
Things you can do
- Join a Community of Wales researchers! Ask questions, help others, and share your research successes on Facebook and/or Skype. NEW!
- Plan Your Research Trip to Wales
- Take one of many Welsh Language Courses
Useful websites
- BBC Wales - Family History
- National Gazetteer of Wales
- Welsh Graveyard
- Welsh Mormon History
- BYU Research Outline for Wales
more Wales Websites
Help Wanted
To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki see Help wanted on the Wales pages
For further assistance, contact the moderator for Wales.
References
- ↑ "Wales.com - Language." Welsh Government, accessed Nov. 30, 2011, http://www.wales.com/en/content/cms/English/About_Wales/Language/Language.aspx.
| ||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 1 May 2013, at 18:29.
- This page has been accessed 32,850 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


