Wakefield St Mary, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Wakefield St Mary)

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, S-YGotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.pngWakefield St Mary

Contents

Parish History

Wakefield St Mary is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1844 from Wakefield [All Saints] Ancient Parish. [1]

Wakefield St Mary Parish Records begin 1845 Bishops Transcripts 1845

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Wakefield, but the exact parish has not been identified: Baptist, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Independent/Congregational, Methodist New Connexion, Presbyterian Unitarian, Primitive Methodist, Roman Catholic, Society of Friends/Quaker, Wesleyan Methodist, and Wesleyan Methodist Reform.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wakefield is an 'ancient' parish (created before 1813). Church of England records of Wakefield survive from as early as 1613 (All Saints), 1795 (St. John), 1843 (Holy Trinity), 1845 (St. Andrew), 1845 (St. Mary), 1862 (St Michael), and 1897 (St. Mark). In addition, the following pre-1837 Church of England chapelries were also found within Wakefield parish:

  • St. Peter's and St. Leonard's Horbury (1598)
  • St. Peter's Stanley (1824)
  • St. Paul's Alverthorpe (1825)
  • St. James' Thornes (1831)

The original registers are deposited at the West Yorkshire Archives in Wakefield. 

The copies made by the minister (ordered by an Act of 1598) and sent each year to the Bishop of the diocese (known as parish register transcripts or Bishop's transcripts) survive from 1600 and are deposited at the West Yorkshire Archives branch in Sheepscar, Leeds. 

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City has both parish registers and bishop's transcripts on microfilm for Wakefield and its chapelries, which are listed in the Family History Library Catalog.  Many of these records are indexed in the International Genealogical Index available online through  familysearch.org.

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464241. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 432-436.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 March 2013, at 00:34.
  • This page has been accessed 329 times.