User:National Institute sandbox 21CEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
The original content for this article was contributed by The National Institute for Genealogical Studies in June 2012. It is an excerpt from their course Research: Alberta Ancestors by Arlene Borgstede. The Institute offers over 200 comprehensive genealogy courses for a fee ($).
As a facet of their religious beliefs, members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS) (Mormons) are obligated to identify their ancestors. To aid in research, the church, through the Genealogical Society of Utah and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, seeks out genealogical information all over the world. Their vast collection of books, microfilm and microfiche are made available to their members and to non-members through local church Family Search Centers.
Most cities and many towns with a Mormon church will have a FamilySearch Center. Their resources vary, depending on their size and their clientele, however, every local center has access to the microfilm and microfiche housed in the library in Salt Lake City through a loan arrangement. All Centers have some basic tools:
Family History Library Catalog
- lists and describes the over 3 million records, books, microfilms, and microfiche in the Salt Lake City Family History Library
- records from throughout the world, including census records, birth records, family histories, church registers and many others
Social Security Death Index (U.S.)
- an online index of deceased persons who had a social security number and whose death was reported to the Social Security Administration
- mainly covers deaths since 1962.
The Index provides:
- full birth date
- month and year of death
- state where the social security number was issued
- last place of residence of the deceased person
- where the death benefit was sent
- each person’s Social Security Number
The records, from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services of the Social Security Administration, have been made available through the Freedom of Information Act. Since the Index relates only to deceased persons, no Rights of Privacy apply.
A powerful computer system which helps identify ancestors and organize family history information.
FamilySearch Centres in Alberta
- Brooks Family Search Center
- 40 10th Street West Brooks,
- Alberta T0J 0J0
- Telephone: (403) 362 2855
Brooks FamilySearch Center has computers, microfilm and fiche readers. In addition they have some films and fiche on permanent loan and a wide collection of reference books.
- Calgary Family Search Center
- 2021 - 17th Avenue South West
- Calgary, Alberta T2T 0G2
- Telephone: (403) 571-3700
The Calgary FamilySearch Center concentrates on Albert sources. They have many Alberta cemetery transcriptions.
- Cardston FamilySearch Center
- 348 Third Street West Cardston,Alberta (in old seminary)
- Telephone: (403) 653-3288
- microfilm/microfiche readers
- seven computers
- large collection of books
- county histories—Canada, U.S.
- church records
- collection of microfilm and fiche on divers subjects
- many English church records
- Edmonton Branch FamilySearch Center
- 9010 - 85 Street NW
- Edmonton, Alberta T6C 3C5
- Telephone: (780) 469-6460
- Family Search®
- Social Security Death Index
- Family History Library Catalogue™
- Periodical Source Index (PERSI)
- Most used books—220 (on microfiche)
1.England and Wales
- civil registration–birth, marriage and death 1837-1903 (onmicrofilm)
- civil registration after 1903 (on microfiche
- 1851 census index for Warwickshire, Devon and Norfolk
- 1881 census index (complete)
- 1891 census (almost complete)
- other census indexes and records (1841-1891)
- Boyd’s marriage index (partial)
- British & Irish biographies
- probate index
- civil registration indexes - births/marriages 1865-1900
- Old Parochial records (on microfiche)
- civil registrations and birth/death indexes 1865-1900
- registry of deeds
- marriages 1845-1900
- Householders index
- marriage licenses before 1864
- land grants (partial)
- cemeteries (partial)
- United Empire Loyalists (partial)
- vital statistics indexes—birth, marriage & death 1868-1903 (on microfilm)
- civil registration certificates (on microfilm)
- Rivest marriage index (on microfilm)
- Loiselle marriage index (on microfilm)
About 110 films in German, Latin and Finnish of the Odessa, St.and Petersburg, Bessarabia and Ukraine areas where Germans settled and lived during the reign of Catherine the Great.
- Accelerated Indexing Systems (index of names from early U.S. census)
- pre-1700 marriage records -New England States
- enumeration districts
- street addresses
- Atlantic Provinces
- Australian vital records (CD-ROM)
- atlases and; maps
- genealogical guides
- passenger lists
- church and civil jurisdictions
- Grande Prairie FamilySearch Center
- 11212 – 102nd Street
- Grande Prairie, Alberta
- Telephone: (780) 832-0067
- England/Ireland films
- Ontario material
- Hamburg Passenger Lists
- small collection of material from Russia and Ukraine
Information in this Wiki page is excerpted from the online course Research: Alberta Ancestors offered by The National Institute for Genealogical Studies. To learn more about this course or other courses available from the Institute, see our website. We can be contacted at email@example.com
We welcome updates and additions to this Wiki page.
- This page was last modified on 7 May 2013, at 21:47.
- This page has been accessed 122 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More