User:MannAE/Sandbox/FSHRCEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|This article describes a collection of historical records available at FamilySearch.org.|
Access the records: England, Derbyshire, Church of England, Church Records, 1538-1910 .
Record Collection Coverage
Not all records were available to be included in this collection. Others were excluded due to privacy laws. The parishes and congregations included in this collection, together with the dates of christening, marriages, banns, and burials included, are reflected in the coverage chart. The chart contains information about each included church record in the following format:
|Parish||Event Type||Years||FHL film#s (source)|
|Ashbourne with||christening||1702-1806,1813-1884|| 1041049, 1041050, 1041051 |
The collection consists of Church of England parish registers and non-Conformist church records containing baptisms, marriages, banns, and burials. Date ranges of records vary by parish or congregation. The marriage information may have come from either a marriage record or from a banns of marriage.
For information about parish registers, see England Church Records.
For image examples of parish registers and what they typically contain, see What information can I find in Church of England Records?
||"Church of England, Parish of Ashbourne. England, Derbyshire Church Records." database and digital images, FamilySearch (https://familysearch.org/pal:/MM9.1.1/VNT5-83K: accessed 5 June 2012), Lucius Edward Mann and Charlotte Heathcote marriage entry, 24 July 1850; citing FHL microfilm 1,041,050; Derbyshire Record Office, Matlock, England.|
How to Use the Record
Why the Record Was Created
Church of England parish registers are one of the most reliable and accurate family history sources before July 1837. Information in parish registers and Bishop's Transcripts can be verified against each other. Names and spellings sometimes vary between Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts. Bishop's Transcripts may also omit years or part of years or may be incomplete according to Diocesan practice and preservation.
Known Issues with This Collection
For a full list of all known issues associated with this collection see the attached Wiki article. If you encounter additional problems, please email them to email@example.com. Please include the full path to the link and a description of the problem in your e-mail. Your assistance will help ensure that future reworks will be considered.
- Derbyshire Record Office (DRO)
- DRO Guide to parish registers
- DRO List of parish registers
- DRO Guide to non-conformist records
- DRO List of Non-conformist records
Related Wiki Articles
Contributions to This Article
|We welcome user additions to FamilySearch Historical Records wiki articles. Guidelines are available to help you make changes. Thank you for any contributions you may provide. If you would like to get more involved join the WikiProject FamilySearch Records.|
- This page was last modified on 29 June 2012, at 14:06.
- This page has been accessed 207 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More