United States Census OnlineEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Census
United States Census Online
The following Internet sites contain U.S. Federal Census indexes and/or images:
Free
- FamilySearch Historical Record Collections Free Internet U.S. federal census indexes and images to all of the U.S. Census Records except images for the 1880 and 1930 U.S. Censuses.
- Internet Archive. Free Internet U.S. Federal census images. The record of the population census from 1790 to 1930. Scanned from microfilm from the collections of the Allen County Public Library.
- Census Online: Links to Online Census Records. State-by-state; year-by-year links to chiefly USGenWeb transcripts.
- Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet. The most comprehensive list of links to online indexes and images,
- Census Finder - A Directory of Links to Census Records. The Census Directory is organized by state and county and includes information and tips on using census records for genealogy research.
Subscription Website
Selected libraries or archives may have a subscription to the following:
- Ancestry.com ($), a subscription Internet site, has indexes and images to all available U.S. federal census population schedules from 1790 to 1930. This site is available for free at selected libraries and archives.
- HeritageQuest, only available at selected libraries has all available U.S. federal census population schedules from 1790 to 1930, except for 1830, 1840, 1850, and a partial 1930. No personal home subsciptions offered but available to library card holders.
- Fold3.com, ($) a subscription site with indexes and images for 1860, and 90% of the 1930 U.S. federal censuses.
- WorldVitalRecords.com, ($) a subscription site has the 1860 and 1930 Census indexes. Resulting index listings are through Footnote.com. There are many other census transcriptions by state or county also available on this site.
Fee Based for Home Use
See Ancestry.com and Footnote.com above.
| ||||||||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 6 March 2012, at 16:50.
- This page has been accessed 11,914 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More