Union County, IndianaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Indiana
Union County
Guide to Union County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Union County, Indiana | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location of Indiana in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | January 5, 1821 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Liberty | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Union County Courthouse 26 W Union Street Liberty, IN 47353 Phone: 765.458.6121 Union County Website | ||||||
| |||||||
Historical Facts
Populated Places
Boundary Changes
Neighboring Counties
Parent County
1821--Union County was created 5 January 1821from Wayne, Franklin and Fayette Counties.
County seat: Liberty [1]
Record Loss
February 1903 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
- Burned Counties Research in FamilySearch Wiki
- Michael John Neill, Burned Counties in Family History Circle
Union County, Indiana Resources
Bible Records
Biographies
Business Records
Cemeteries
- Cemeteries of Union County USGenWeb
- Fosdick Funeral Home Records: 1915-1971: Courtesy of the Union County Public Library Website
Census Records
For tips on accessing Union County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Union County ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Church Records
- Members of Dunlapsville Presbyterian Church, Liberty Township (1829-1912) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Court Records
Directories
- Directory of Businesses in Union County (1858, 1868) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Directory of Selected Residents of Union County (1876) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic and Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogies
History
Local Histories
- Biographical and Genealogical History of Wayne, Fayette, Union and Franklin Counties, Indiana. (Indianapolis, Ind: Frederic Luther Co, 1980).977.26 H2b977.26 H2b v. 2 FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collectionother libraries vol. 1 INTERNET ARCHIVE
- History of Union County Likpendium
Land and Property
Maps
Maps and GazetteersLinkpendium
Migration
Military Records
War of 1812
Civil War
Civil War service men from Vermillion County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Vermillion County.
- 3rd Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company F
- 9th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company D
- 15th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company I
- 36th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company G
- 84th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company C
- 105th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B and D
- 147th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company C
- 148th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies F and F
- 152nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company D
World War I
World War II
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Obituaries
Occupations
Periodicals
Probate Records
Repositories
Archives
County Courthouse
Union County Courthouse
26 W Union Street
Liberty, IN 47353
Phone: 765.458.6121
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1821.
County Health Department has birth records from 1882 and death records from 1907.[2]
Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
School Records
Taxation
Vital Records
- Indiana State Digital Archives for Death, E-Publication, Institution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Birth Records
Marriage Records
- Indiana Marriages, 1802-1892-Ancestry.con $
- Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992-https://www.familysearch.org/search/collection/show#uri=http://www.familysearch.org/searchapi/search/collection/1674830 FamilySearch]
- Indiana Marriage, 1811-1959-FamilySearch
Death Records
- Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 - FamilySearch
Voter Registration
Union County, Indiana Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Union County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Union County, Indiana References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Union County, Indiana 217 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
| This Indiana-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 16 May 2013, at 00:14.
- This page has been accessed 1,671 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
