Trousdale County, TennesseeEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Tennessee
Trousdale County
Trousdale County, Tennessee genealogy and family history research page. Guide to Trousdale County (established 1870) genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Trousdale County, Tennessee | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Tennessee in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | June 21, 1870 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Hartsville |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Trousdale County Courthouse] 200 East Main Street Main Stree and Court Street Hartsville, TN 37074 Phone: 1-615-374-2996 - 2906 Trousdale County Website |
Quick Dates
Trousdale County's civil records start the following years:[1]
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1909 | 1906 | 1909 | 1880 | 1905 | 1905 |
County Courthouse
Trousdale County Courthouse
200 East Main Street Main Stree and Court Street
Hartsville, TN 37074
Phone: 1-615-374-2996 - 2906
County Clerk has marriage and probate records from1906.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [2]
Trousdale County Clerk
Marriage and probate records
200 East Main St.
Hartsville, TN 37074
Phone: 1-615-374-2906
Trousdale County Register of Deeds
Land records
200 East Main St.
Hartsville, TN 37074
Phone: 1-615-374-2921
Trousdale County Circuit Court Clerk
Court records
200 East Main St.
Hartsville, TN 37074
Phone: 1-615-374-3411
Hours:
Mon.,Tues., Thurs., and Fri. 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
Wed.and Sat. 8 a.m.-noon
History
Middle Tennessee county established in 1870. Trousdale County's land belonged to the pioneer Cumberland Settlements.[3]
The county is named after "William Trousdale (1790–1872), Creek and Mexican-American War soldier and officer, state senator and Governor of Tennessee."[4]
Parent County
1870--Trousdale County was established 21 June 1870 from Sumner, Macon, Smith, and Wilson Counties. Early records may be found under Sumner, Macon, Smith and Wilson Counties.
County seat: Hartsville [5]
County Pronunciation
- Hear it spoken[6] (female)
- Hear it spoken[7] (female)
Boundary Changes
"Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the My Tennessee Genealogy website. They rely on AniMap 3.0 software.
Record Loss
1900, 1904--Fires damaged records- Lost census: 1890
- Lost marriage records: 1870 to 1904
- Lost probate records: 1870 to 1904
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
- Arlene Eakle, When the Records are Gone in Tennessee Genealogy Blog
- Burned Counties Research in FamilySearch Wiki
- Michael John Neill, Burned Counties in Family History Circle
Places/Localities
Populated Places
| Antioch | Hartsville | Shady Grove |
| Barthelia | Johntown | Templow |
| Beech Grove | Paynes Store | Walnut Grove |
| Cato | Providence | Willard |
| Halltown | Rock House |
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Research Guides
- Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Trousdale County, courtesy: TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
African American
United States African Americans
Tennessee African Americans
Biographies
- Douthat, James L. Trousdale County, TN Biographies. 1887; reprint, Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press. Free Surname Index and purchase details at Mountain Press website.
Cemeteries
Tennessee cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.
- Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried. Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone. May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.
- Find A Grave also gives a list of cemeteries in Trousdale County linking to the information about the people buried there,
- Trousdale Co. TN Cemetery Records, part of the TNGenWeb Cemetery Database, lists many cemeteries in the county, often with indexes and transcripts of the burials.
- Trousdale County, Tennessee, USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project lists many cemeteries in the county and has transcripts of the tombstones arranged by cemetery.
- The Family History Library Catalog lists some records of cemeteries in Trousdale County. Some of the books or others may be on Google Books or available at public libraries.
Census
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1880 | 6,646 | — |
| 1890 | 5,850 | −12.0% |
| 1900 | 6,004 | 2.6% |
| 1910 | 5,874 | −2.2% |
| 1920 | 5,996 | 2.1% |
| 1930 | 5,629 | −6.1% |
| 1940 | 6,113 | 8.6% |
| 1950 | 5,520 | −9.7% |
| 1960 | 4,914 | −11.0% |
| 1970 | 5,155 | 4.9% |
| 1980 | 6,137 | 19.0% |
| 1990 | 5,920 | −3.5% |
| 2000 | 7,259 | 22.6% |
| Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. | ||
See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
1880
- Scott, Betty M. and Nelwyn M. Cannon. 1880 & 1900 Trousdale County, Tennessee Census records : with Added Genealogical Information and Full Name Indexes. Hartsville, Tennessee : Bet-Nel Books, 1998. FHL 976.8482 X2s
- Sistler, Byron H. ’’1880 Census Dickson County, Tennessee.’’ Nashville, Tennessee: B. Sistler and Associates, 1999. FHL 976.8482 X2s 1880
1890 - Lost, but substitutes are available:
- Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2r v. 6 1891. [Trousdale County is included in Vol. 6.]
- Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1890.
1900
- Scott, Betty M. and Nelwyn M. Cannon. 1880 & 1900 Trousdale County, Tennessee Census records : with Added Genealogical Information and Full Name Indexes. Hartsville, Tennessee : Bet-Nel Books, 1998. FHL 976.8482 X2s
1910
- Scott, Betty M. and Lorrain Bronner. 1910 & 1920 Trousdale County, Tennessee Census. Lafayette, Tennessee : Ridge Runner, 2000. FHL 976.8482 X2s 1910-1920
1920
- Scott, Betty M. and Lorrain Bronner. 1910 & 1920 Trousdale County, Tennessee Census. Lafayette, Tennessee : Ridge Runner, 2000. FHL 976.8482 X2s 1910-1920
- Young, John C., comp. Trousdale County, Tennessee Census, 1920 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: The Generations Network, Inc., 2000. Available at Ancestry ($).
1930
- Bronner, Lorrain and Walter L. Buckinham. 1930 Trousdale County, Tennessee Census. Lebanon, Tennessee: Brawner Books, 2005 . FHL 976.8482 X2b
Church
Court
Family Histories
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
General
As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Trousdale, Tennessee at World Connect, results in more than 3,500 entries.
- Masters, Jack and Bill Puryear. Founding of the Cumberland Settlements: The First Atlas 1779-1804: Showing Who Came, How They Came, and Where They Put Down Roots. Gallatin, Tenn.: Warioto Press, 2009. FHL US/CAN Large Q Book 976.8 E7d. Supplements: FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 E7d supp. 1 ff. Purchase at Cumberland Pioneer Settlers.
Bibliography
- [Bishop] Bishop, Maurice Lytle. Families of Maurice Lytle Bishop. MSS., Wright State University Archives, Dayton, Ohio. FHL US/CAN Film 1769339.
- [Hallum] Hallum, John. The Diary of an Old Lawyer; or, Scenes Behind the Curtain. Nashville, Tennessee: Southwestern Publishing House, 1895. Free digital copy.
- [Hughes] Townsend, Evelyn Hughes and Edward E. Townsend. The Ancestors and Descendants of John Walker Hughes, Jr.: Born 1854, Died 1927. Cleveland, Tenn.: E. Townsend, 1992. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 H874t.
Land
Land Grants
- Free index to 1500+ Pioneer Cumberland Settlements Land Grants, available online, courtesy: Cumberland Pioneer Settlers. The Cumberland Settlements region covered what is now this county. To view the land grants platted on maps, purchase the books described on this site, or access those available at the Family History Library FHL US/CAN Large Q Book 976.8 E7d.
Local Histories
Maps
Military
War of 1812
- Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 8, No. 3 (Jul. 1961):95-98. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 8 (1961); digital version at journal website. [Includes Trousdale County pensioners (p. 97).]
Civil War
Civil War service men from Trousdale County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment)that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Trousdale County.
Confederate Soldiers
- 2nd Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (Robison's) (Walker Legion) - CSA
- 6th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate) - CSA - Company I.
- 7th Battalion, Tennessee Cavalry (Bennett's) - CSA - Companies A, B and F.
- 9th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Ward's) - CSA - Companies B, E and H.
- 9th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate) - CSA - Company I.
Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Trousdale County:
- Duke, Basil Wilson. History of Morgan's Cavalry. Cincinnati: Miami Printing and Publishing Co., 1867. Free digital copy. Includes 9th Regiment, Tennessee Calvary (Ward's).
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications : Trousdale County, (accessed 1 Feb 2012). Includes soldier's name, county, pension #, unit or widow.
- United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for ... (Washington Printing Office; 1883), (accessed 1 Feb 2012). Online at Internet Archive. Trousdale County, page 379.
- CWSAC, Battle Summaries, Hartsville, (accessed 1 Feb 2012). Located in Trousdale County.
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle took place in Trousdale County:
- December 7, 1862 = Hartsville[8]
Map showing Civil War battles in Tennessee
Newspapers
Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Trousdale County click on the following town:
Early newspapers have been abstracted:
- Scott, Betty C. Meadows. Trousdale County, Tennessee, Obituaries, Articles and Scrapbook Clippings: August 1862 - December 1958. 2 vols. Lafayette, Tenn.: Ridge Runner, 2002-2004. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8482 V4s ff.
Periodicals
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:
- Ansearchin' News
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of Trousdale County, Tennessee records have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a.
- The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of records of Trousdale County, Tennessee have been published in The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, the quarterly of the Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society (23+ Vols.). To view a list of these articles, visit their online Index to Articles (1988-2005). Surname indexes are also available online for Vols. 2-22. The website also offers back issues for sale in paper and on CD. The Family History Library has a complete collection of this quarterly FHL US/CAN Book 976.85 D25m.
- Trousdale County Historical Society Newsletter
- Family History Library has Volume 6, issue 4 (Oct - Dec 1995)FHL US/CAN 976.8482/H1 B2
Volumes 1 - 11 (Jan 1990 - Jan 2000) indexed at PERiodical Source Index (PERSI)
For additional information see the Trousdale County Historical Society website
Probate
The Trousdale County Court has responsibility for the probate records.
Taxation
- [1789] Cumberland Settlements, Tax List, 1789, The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, Vol. 4, No. 2 (Fall 1990). For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.
- [1917] Jim Marshall Tax Assessment, Hartsville, 1917, Trousdale County Historical Society Newsletter, Vol. 13, No. 3 (Jul. 2002).
Vital Records
Marriage
The original Trousdale County marriage records are kept at the County Courthouse. Due to fire, the marriage records of Trousdale County are lost until 1905.
The following Trousdale County marriage records are microfilmed:
- [1905-1991] Available at the Tennessee State Library and Archives.
- [1905-1959] Available at the Family History Library. FHL 2047739
The following Trousdale County marriage records are abstracted and/or indexed:
- Walker, Dorothy and Eldon Walker. Trousdale County, Tennessee, marriage index, 1905-1950. S.l. : s.n., 1995. FHL 976.8482 V22w Bride and groom indexes.
- Tennessee County Marriages, 1790-1950 - covers all counties in Tennessee.
- Many county marriage records are indexed with images at Ancestry's Tennessee State Marriages, 1780-2002. ($) Be aware that this index is not complete for many counties.
Trousdale County is not included in Sistler's Early Middle Tennessee Marriages.
Divorce
In 1940 and 1941, W.P.A. workers pinpointed the location of Trousdale County divorce papers in diverse County Courthouse records, see:
- W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 A3gp.
Death
For deaths of Methodists in Trousdale County (or what later became Trousdale County) between the 1830s and the 1920s, try:
- Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. [Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s.]
Libraries
Fred A. Vaught Memorial Library
211 White Oak St
Hartsville, TN 37074
Phone: 1-615-374-3677
Family History Centers
Societies
Trousdale County Historical Society
211 White Oak St.
Hartsville, TN 37074
Phone: 1-615-374-3677
The society publishes a quarterly newsletter.
Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society
PO Box 330948
Nashville, TN, USA 37203-7507
The society serves the 40 counties of middle Tennessee of which Trousdale County is one. It publishes The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, a quarterly containing articles of genealogical and historical interest. Little-known Tennessee records are published and indexed, along with family genealogies, Bible records and material submitted by members. There is an alphabetical Index to articles in the Journal 1988-summer 2005
Trousdale County Tennessee Genealogy Websites
- Cumberland Pioneer Settlers Cumberland Compact Signers, Pioneer Land Grant Recipients, Publication Descriptions, Free Book Indexes
- Family History Library Catalog (FamilySearch)
- Rootwalker: Genealogy Pages for Northern Middle TN Free Genealogy Resources for the Region
- Mailing List: TN-ROOTWALKER-L (North Central Tennessee Genealogy List) (RootsWeb)
- Trousdale County, TN Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
- Trousdale County, TN Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Trousdale County, TN Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Trousdale County, TNGenWeb (USGenWeb)
- Trousdale County, TN History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (MyTennesseeGenealogy)
Trousdale County Tennessee Genealogy References
- ↑ Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey (W.P.A.), 1941; "Earliest County Records," Tennessee State Library and Archives.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Trousdale County, Tennessee page 644, At various libr40ries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Founding of the Cumberland Settlements: The First Atlas 1779-1804.
- ↑ "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 644. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
- ↑ Voice of Joyce Gaston Reece, Friends of the Archives Historical and Preservation Society, Monroe Co., TN., Secretary and American Local History Network, Board of Directors, Vice President (2010).
- ↑ Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 21 August 2012)
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 17 May 2013, at 02:24.
- This page has been accessed 3,672 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


