Travis County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
Counties T
Travis County
Guide to Travis County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Travis County, Texas | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Texas | |||||||||
![]() Location of Texas in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | January 25, 1840 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Austin | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents
|
County Courthouse
Travis County Courthouse
100 Guadalupe Street #222
PO Box 1748
Austin, Texas 78767
Phone: 512.473.9188
County Clerk has birth and death records
from 1903, marriage, probate, court and
land records from 1840[1]
History
Parent County
1840--Travis County was created 25 January 1840 from Bastrop County. County seat: Austin [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| |
||
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Travis County Cemetery Project ~ Austin Genealogical Society
- Cemeteries of Travis County ~ USGenWeb Archives Project, transcriptions and photos
- FindAGrave ~ Transcriptions and partial transcriptions for Travis County cemeteries
- Interment.net ~ Transcriptions and partial transcriptions for Travis County cemeteries (limited list)
- Texas Cemeteries ~ Hidden Ancestors (links to transcriptions and information on most major Texas cemeteries)
- Assumption Cemetery, Austin - Billion Graves
- Mount Calvary Cemetery, Austin - Billion Graves
- Oak Hill Cemetery, Oak Hill - Billion Graves
- State Cemetery of Texas, Austin - Billion Graves
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
Baptisms of the First Southern Presbyterian Church, Austin, Texas 1875-1893 - Austin Genealogical Society
Baptisms and Burials for St. David’s Episcopal Church, Austin, Texas: Parish Register 1859-1866 - Austin Genealogical Society
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Austin
- Austin Texas Oak Hills Stake
Census
1850 Texas Census Records - Austin Genealogical Society
1860 Travis County Mortality Schedule - Austin Genealogical Society
1870 Travis County Mortality Schedule - Austin Genealogical Society
1873 Voter Registration List - Austin Genealogical Society
1875 Austin Census - Austin Genealogical Society
1892 Voter Registration List - Austin Genealogical Society
City Directories
Austin City Directories, digital books online from The Portal to Texas History:
1872-1873 | 1877-1878 | 1881-1882 | 1885-1886 | 1889-1890 | 1893-1894 | 1897-1898 | 1900-1901 | 1906-1907 | 1912-1913 | 1918 | 1922
Court
Texas Naturalization Records 1906-1999 ~ FamilySearch record collection
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Original Land Owners of Texas - Travis County ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Travis County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
Maps
- Austin, Texas Maps from the Perry-Castenada Library Map collection.
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
- 1895 US Atlas ~ TXGenWeb Travis County
- 1914 Counties Map ~ Rootsweb
Military
- Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- Travis County Civil War Pension Applications ~ Travis County TXGenWeb
- WWII Casualties (Army and Air Force) ~ USGenWeb Travis County
- Korean War Casualties ~ Travis County TXGenWeb
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Travis County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Travis County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
- Home Town News - Texas Newspaper Index with links
- Newslink - Texas Newspaper List (sorted by publication frequency)
- The Olden Times - Historic Texas News Online
Obituaries
Travis County Obituaries ~ Austin Genealogical Society
Travis County Obituaries ~ USGenWeb Archives Project (limited list)
Probate
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Texas, County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 ~ FamilySearch records collection
Vital Records
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Births
- Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Birth Index, 1903-1997 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Births and Christenings, 1840-1981 ~ FamilySearch records collection
Marriages
- Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 ~ FamilySearch record collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 ~ FamilySearch record collection
Deaths
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903. - Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Deaths and Burials, 1903-1973 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Deaths, 1890-1976 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Deaths, 1977-1986 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- Footnote.com ($) has Texas Death Certificates 1890-1976 available online.
- Travis County Mortuary Records ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
Divorce
- Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 ~ FamilySearch records collection
Events
Roots, Boots, & Brisket - Annual family history conference co-sponsered by the Austin Texas Oak Hills Stake
Societies and Libraries
- Austin Genealogy Society
- Texas State Library and Archives
- Dolph Briscoe Center for American Studies at the University of Texas at Austin
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- TEXAS GenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
- Travis County USGenWeb ~ county record transcriptions and general information
- USGenWeb Archives Collection ~ Travis County records
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Travis County, Texas. Page 675 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 30 April 2013, at 21:49.
- This page has been accessed 2,081 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

