Tranmere, CheshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Cheshire
Cheshire Parishes
Tranmere
Contents |
Parish History
TRANMERE, is a township and two chapelries in Bebington parish,The township lies on the Mersey, and on the Birkenhead and Chester railway, around Rock-Ferry railway station, from 2 to 3 miles S of Birkenhead; and has post-offices of Higher T. and Lower T. under Birkenhead. The chapelries are St. Catherine and St. Paul; and were constituted in 1842 and 1856. St. Catherine church which was built in 1831; St. Paul's church was built in 1856. A Scotch church, is in New Chester-road. A Wesleyan chapel, was built in 1862; and there are four other Methodist chapels, an Independent chapel, a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]
Tranmere St Catherine is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1842 from chapelry in Nether Bebington, Cheshire Ancient Parish.
Tranmere is a suburb of Birkenhead, on the Wirral Peninsula, Merseyside, England. Administratively, it is also a ward of the Metropolitan Borough of Wirral. Before local government reorganisation in 1 April 1974, it was part of the County Borough of Birkenhead, within the geographical county of Cheshire.
Its name was given by Norwegian Vikings who settled and colonised Wirral in the 10th century. Tranmere in Old Norse is Trani-melr, meaning "Cranebird sandbank" or "sandbank with the Cranebirds".
Tranmere Old Hall and its estate, was situated around what is now Church Road. It was a large, gabled building constructed around 1614. According to the author Philip Sulley's The Hundred of Wirral (1889), in about 1860.
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Trenmere parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
| FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers | |||||
| FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts |
| Tranmere Parish Online Records | ||||||
| |
|
|
| |||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images |
| FS PR's | |
NONE |
|
NONE |
|
NONE |
| FS BT'S | |
NONE |
|
NONE |
|
NONE |
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Parish registers for St. Catherine's Church, Tranmere Microfilm copy of original record in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England.St. Catherine's is one of two chapelries in the township of Tranmere, in the parish of Bebington.
Cheshire Record Office no.: P157/1/1-4, P157/2/1-3, P157/4382/1-5, P157/4794/3-4, P157/6017/5.
Baptisms, 1831-1889. FHL BRITISH Film 1656604 Items 4 - 6
Baptisms, 1889-1910. Marriages, 1845-1904. FHL BRITISH Film 1656605 Items 1 - 5
Baptisms, 1910-1932. Marriages, 1904-1932. FHL BRITISH Film 2197439 Items 2 - 6
Marriages, 1932-1953. FHL BRITISH Film 2262739 Items 1 - 3
An index for this parish can be found at FamilySearch Historical Records
Non Conformist Churches
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241253. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Wirral Poor Law Union, Cheshire
Birkenhead Poor Law Union, Cheshire
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
References
- ↑ Wilson, John Marius, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted 12 April 2013
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 April 2013, at 18:47.
- This page has been accessed 488 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
