Toxteth Park St Thomas, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lancashire
Lancashire Parishes
Contents |
Chapelry History
Toxteth Park was originally an extra-parochial district possessing at least eight chapels of ease--of which St Thomas' was one. St Thomas was originally created a chapel if ease and stood within the parish boundary of St Nicholas Liverpool. It was built in 1817; dedicated in 1818; and became an ecclesiastical parish created in 1898 from Walton on the Hill.
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two Internet sites with name lists or indexes:
- FreeBMD - has over 250 million birth, marriage and death entries
- Lancashire BMD - Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths
Church records
There are online transcriptions for St Thomas, Toxteth Park (in the parish of Liverpool St Nicholas, and the baptism, marriage and burial registers of many of its sister chapelries lying within Toxteth Park's extra-parochial district. Displayed below are links to the online content for St Thomas' chapelry (as well all chapelries in Toxteth Park and included below is St Nicholas Parish) with available online data located at the following web sites; note the ranges of years:
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FREG = FreeReg | |||||
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| GLUK = GenealogyLinksUK | |||||
| LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk | |||||
| LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk |
| TOXTETH PARK ST MICHAEL-IN-THE-HAMLET Chapelry (1815) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1815-1859 | 1815-1837 | None | ||
| LOPC | 1815-1909 | 1815-1904 | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1837-1939 | None | ||
| TOXTETH PARK ALL SAINTS Chapelry (1885) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1885-1963 | None | ||
| TOXTETH PARK CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1871) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1872-1973 | None | ||
| TOXTETH PARK HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1859) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| TOXTETH PARK ST BARNABAS Chapelry (1841) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1841-1892 | None | None | ||
| LOPC | None | 1843-1935 | None | ||
| TOXTETH PARK ST BEDE Chapelry (1882) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LOPC | 1882-1901 | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1887-1912 | None | ||
| TOXTETH PARK ST BRIDES Chapelry (1831) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1831-1851 | None | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1837-1956 | None | ||
| TOXTETH PARK ST CLEMENT Chapelry (1841) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1841-1856 | None | None | ||
| LOPC | 1890-1895 | 1892-1901 | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1842-1951 | None | ||
| TOXTETH PARK ST CLEOPAS MISSION CHURCH (1866) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1866-1897 | None | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| TOXTETH PARK ST GABRIEL Chapelry (1885) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1837-1935 | None | ||
| TOXTETH PARK ST JAMES Chapelry (1775) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1783-1843 | 1775-1840 | None | ||
| LOPC | 1775-1806 | 1775-1806 | 1778-1806 | ||
| LBMD | None | 1837-1972 | None | ||
| AC | 1774-1812 | 1774-1812 | 1774-1812 | ||
| TOXTETH PARK ST JOHN THE BAPTIST Chapelry (1832) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1832-1881 | None | None | ||
| LOPC | 1832-1893 | 1832-1841 | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1845-1937 | 15 | ||
| TOXTETH PARK ST MARGARET Chapelry (1869) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | None | None | ||
| TOXTETH PARK ST MATTHEW Chapelry (1851) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LOPC | 1875-1904 | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1858-1978 | None | ||
| TOXTETH PARK ST NATHANIEL Chapelry (1869) Indexes - recs at Liverpool RO | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| TOXTETH PARK ST PAUL Chapelry (1849) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1849-1963 | None | ||
| TOXTETH PARK ST PHILEMON Chapelry (1873) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1875-1957 | None | ||
| TOXTETH PARK ST SAVIOUR Chapelry (1841) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1843-1935 | None | ||
| TOXTETH PARK ST SILAS Chapelry (1865) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None[1] | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1867-1958 | None | ||
| TOXTETH PARK ST THOMAS-IN-THE-FIELDS Chapelry (1843?) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1843-1935 | None | ||
| LIVERPOOL ST NICHOLAS PARISH (1604) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1604-1894 | 1604-1911 | 1779-1787;1809-1825 | ||
| LOPC | 1776-1865 | 1788-1838 | 1776-1854 | ||
| LBMD | None | 1837-1939 | None | ||
| AC | 1659-1812 | 1659-1812 | 1659-1812 | ||
Original Records
Original parish and chapel registers are held at the Liverpool Record Office, William Brown Street, Liverpool L3 8EW, United Kingdom.
Microfilmed copies of original Toxteth Park St Michaels chapelry and sister chapelries' registers are also mostly available at the Family History Library, Salt Lake City, UT, U.S.A. and its 4,600 satellite FamilySearch Centers worldwide. These films may be ordered for and original baptism, marriage and burial entries may be viewed at these centers.
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438719. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Liverpool, Lancashire Poor Law Union West Derby, Lancashire Poor Law Union Toxteth Park, Lancashire Poor Law Union
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 31 December 2012, at 01:52.
- This page has been accessed 444 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More